Playtest Report (4 / 14 / 08) - [Arcane Schools (pg. 47-48)]


Combat & Magic

Dark Archive

I'm running Savage Tide, and we decided to incorporate some of the pRPG Alpha rules to see how they fare. I'll post separate threads to talk about each aspect of the rules we are testing.

Arcane Schools -

Necromancy -

We have a necromancer in the party. He was excited to see the School Powers (and has decided not to go for a PrC because of them). This raises the question: do you keep the school power progression if you PrC out? If so, then there is still no reason to stay Wizard past level 5. This needs to be clarified. (Same with Domain Powers for Clerics)

He doesn't like the Spell-like ability saves being Cha based at all, but since the necro powers don't have many saves, he is ok. This particular instance of the playtest is a bit of an odd duck, since the powers that Jason chose for necromancy just about perfectly fit this particular character. Hence the player's excitement. I think if he were another type of specialist, the enthusiasm would have been significantly less. Losing 1 spell/level/day of your choice is a HUGE hit.

Aside: Any suggestions on how Focused Specialist from Complete Mage would work with the new specialist?

--Grave Touch

I misread this as a spell-like rather than a supernatural ability. We decided to let him try using it with Spectral Hand. Big Mistake! Way too good. But this shouldn't be possible with a supernatural ability, so no problem. I told him it won't be possible to use it that way next session. We'll see if he still likes it when he has to be in melee to use it. (Could you use spectral hand on it if it were a spell-like? We weren't sure).

--Ray of Enfeeblement

This was perfect for the character. He already uses it alot on a wand, so having some more, free, uses is great.

Enchantment -

I have a Psion(Telepath) in the party, so I made an Alpha version of the class, and ended up incorporating the Dazing Touch ability from the Enchantment School. The player thinks it is totally worthless. He would much much rather continue to plink away with his crossbow than get in melee in order to Daze something for a single round. Not sure if I agree with him or not. Of course, he also just blew all his Power Points with several encounters yet to go before he can rest, so it may see some use next session.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber
TK342 wrote:
... This raises the question: do you keep the school power progression if you PrC out? ...

Of course not, otherwise the nice progression of abilities for staying in the wizard class is pointless. Most spellcasting PrCs will state something like "you gain spellcasting progression, but no other abilities". And now wizards actually have abilities to lose if you PrC out.

Dark Archive

Eric Tillemans wrote:
TK342 wrote:
... This raises the question: do you keep the school power progression if you PrC out? ...
Of course not, otherwise the nice progression of abilities for staying in the wizard class is pointless. Most spellcasting PrCs will state something like "you gain spellcasting progression, but no other abilities". And now wizards actually have abilities to lose if you PrC out.

Right. I agree. I just wanted some sort of confirmation / clarification on this. For example, you could go with the argument that in 3.5, a specialist does continue to get the extra spell/level/day when he PrCs out, so the same should apply here. (I don't think it should work that way, just saying you could argue it).

I think I'm still comparing the pRPG wizard to the 3.5 wizard too much. I'm stuck thinking of everything in terms of those extra specialist spells /day.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Alpha Playtest Feedback / Alpha Release 1 / Combat & Magic / Playtest Report (4 / 14 / 08) - [Arcane Schools (pg. 47-48)] All Messageboards
Recent threads in Combat & Magic