Starfinder First Contact

4.70/5 (based on 7 ratings)
GameMastery Module D0: Hollow's Last Hope (OGL)
Show Description For:
Non-Mint

Add Print Edition $5.00 $2.50

Add PDF FREE

Non-Mint Unavailable

Facebook Twitter Email

Creatures from Another World

The Starfinder Roleplaying Game arrives in August 2017, but the first aliens are landing right now! Within this top-secret dossier, you'll find a dozen otherworldly foes both bizarre and familiar, from the asteroid-dwelling sarcesians who ride solar winds on wings of light to technomagical undead horrors capable of ruling forever as the sinister Bone Sages of Eox. While all the creatures in this book are designed for use with Starfinder, all can be easily converted for use with Pathfinder, so there's no need to wait until August to start battling invaders from space!

Inside this book, you'll find:

  • A dozen alien creatures from throughout Golarion's solar system.
  • Player-race information to let you be the alien, from the atrophied psychic creatures called contemplatives to the bug-like haan who float across gas giants on balloons of spun webbing.
  • Instructions for easily converting Starfinder creatures into Pathfinder foes.
  • Sneak previews of some of the new abilities and rules systems featured in Starfinder.

Take your Pathfinder campaign to the stars with this official manual of Starfinder aliens!

Note: Starfinder First Contact was created for Free RPG Day on June 17, 2017. The $5.00 print edition and a free download version will become available on paizo.com beginning July 1, 2017.

Product Availability

Print Edition:

Available now

Ships from our warehouse in 1 to 5 business days.

PDF:

Fulfilled immediately.

Non-Mint:

Unavailable

This product is non-mint. Refunds are not available for non-mint products. The standard version of this product can be found here.

Are there errors or omissions in this product information? Got corrections? Let us know at store@paizo.com.

PZO9500-11


See Also:

6 to 7 of 7 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Average product rating:

4.70/5 (based on 7 ratings)

Sign in to create or edit a product review.

A Wonderful Preview

5/5

A great look into Starfinder and a mini-crash course on what rules to expect. This is a really good Free RPG Day item.


Grab your towel!

5/5

Awesome and imaginative aliens, an excellent painting with alien dinosaurs, and fun mechanics all equal to a huge win for Starfinder's maiden voyage.

And there's space pirates!!!


6 to 7 of 7 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
51 to 100 of 227 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Zahariel wrote:

So excited for this!

... Except there aren't any brick-and-mortar FLGS in my country so no FRPG for us.
Will the PDF download be available soon after or will we have to wait until August to play?

Shortly after Free RPG Day - definetly in june 2017. ;-)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Dragon78 wrote:
Were do you see 4 playable races?

space goblins and sarcesians from the Q&A, Haan and Contemplatives from the product description.


Mad props to the artist who somehow has figured out how to make me want this more then I already do.


Reminds of the book they did with the 12 monsters that were not used in B1 but would end up in B3.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Marco Massoudi wrote:
Zahariel wrote:

So excited for this!

... Except there aren't any brick-and-mortar FLGS in my country so no FRPG for us.
Will the PDF download be available soon after or will we have to wait until August to play?
Shortly after Free RPG Day - definetly in june 2017. ;-)

Actually, I believe there is a one-month window for Free RPG Day products to be available only at game stores. So more like July 2017. (That's when I added We B4 Goblins! to my downloads last year, and I'm pretty sure I snapped it up as soon as it became available.)


Torbyne wrote:
James Sutter wrote:
Torbyne wrote:


Disappointed that both of Navasi's guns are making the same blue burst kind of shot there, i was hoping they operated on different technologies and we'd have a physical and a laser or magic based weapon.

There's some artistic license going on here. Her guns are definitely NOT exactly the same!
Yay! ... so now maybe hint at what they are?! :D

Looking at it again, her pistol on the cover of Incident at Absalom Station looks like its based on a wood handled revolver with a heat shield over the barrel, maybe a long red dot on the top and an under barrel adapter of some kind. But on First Contact it looks like an almost completely different weapon based off a semi-automatic that is firing from the top most barrel protrusion, what looks like a possible sight on the other artwork. The heat shield aesthetic of the middle barrel portion is gone and the bottom piece looks like it belongs as a factory part instead of a hodge-podged home build.

I know its all sci-fantasy and character gear changes all the time and there is no real world thing to use as a reference and all of that but it was still surprising when i saw the two and realized how different they are from each other. one looks much more fitting for the rust-punk vibes on the cover of Incident while the more purpose built look on First Contact better fits the functioning future look of that one.

was it an honest goof or a purposeful decision to have iconics better represent the gear and looks of different modules?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Joana wrote:
Marco Massoudi wrote:
Zahariel wrote:

So excited for this!

... Except there aren't any brick-and-mortar FLGS in my country so no FRPG for us.
Will the PDF download be available soon after or will we have to wait until August to play?
Shortly after Free RPG Day - definetly in june 2017. ;-)
Actually, I believe there is a one-month window for Free RPG Day products to be available only at game stores. So more like July 2017. (That's when I added We B4 Goblins! to my downloads last year, and I'm pretty sure I snapped it up as soon as it became available.)

The Free RPG Day publisher's agreement stipulates that print and PDF versions cannot be disseminated anywhere else until July 1. (So I can guarantee you it won't be June.) However, for a reason that I cannot yet share, there's a high probability that we may wait until August 17, when the Starfinder Core Rulebook (and the rest of the August releases) go on sale.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Vic Wertz wrote:
for a reason that I cannot yet share, there's a high probability that we may wait until August 17, when the Starfinder Core Rulebook (and the rest of the August releases) go on sale.

:(


Garrett Guillotte wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
for a reason that I cannot yet share, there's a high probability that we may wait until August 17, when the Starfinder Core Rulebook (and the rest of the August releases) go on sale.
:(

Will there be a digital version of First Contact's content in August? Will we be able to cite or reference First Contact content under the CUP for use at our table?


I will put in for my pto now, lol.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Garrett Guillotte wrote:
Will there be a digital version of First Contact's content in August? Will we be able to cite or reference First Contact content under the CUP for use at our table?

As the product listing above says, the print edition will be available for sale and a free download will be available on paizo.com Summer 2017. It will be listed in Section 1 of the Community Use Approved Product List.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
However, for a reason that I cannot yet share, there's a high probability that we may wait until August 17, when the Starfinder Core Rulebook (and the rest of the August releases) go on sale.

Tease!


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

So -- If we are impatient sorts who really want to get a chance to peruse this product befor Gencon, we had darned well better find a game store that is supporting Free RPG Day, right?


David knott 242 wrote:

So -- If we are impatient sorts who really want to get a chance to peruse this product befor Gencon, we had darned well better find a game store that is supporting Free RPG Day, right?

*Googles free RPG day*

... and I live two hours away from the nearest store....

Welp, I'm gonna have to stop checking Starfinder threads just to survive the tease of new info for so many months :P


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

And I am about an hour away -- so I will have a real decision to make that day.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Five minutes.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
However, for a reason that I cannot yet share, there's a high probability that we may wait until August 17, when the Starfinder Core Rulebook (and the rest of the August releases) go on sale.

Could be linking the marketing to the solar eclipse somehow... though that is four days later on August 21.

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
tchrman35 wrote:

Flame thrower in a limited-oxygen environment? Maybe not the best idea...

But i can't wait to play!

The flames are falling down. Maybe a napalm thrower?


*Locates nearest gameshop that does Free RPG day*

Can't wait.


Man, my group is already planning characters. Personally I want to see the Haan, though I would like to play the mechanic


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Looks like I have to wait till august since the closest free rpg day store to me is 3 hours away


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Is it still possible for local game stores to sign up for Free RPG Day? A friend of mine mentioned checking on whether a store that is not currently listed for that event might end up supporting it.

Paizo Employee Developer

David knott 242 wrote:

Is it still possible for local game stores to sign up for Free RPG Day? A friend of mine mentioned checking on whether a store that is not currently listed for that event might end up supporting it.

Looking at the the Free RPG site it looks like the deadline is February 17th for publishers, but I'm not sure about retailers.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

http://freerpgday.com/retailers.htm?v=2016b currently says "Retailer Sign-ups Coming Soon! Once we get all our publishers signed up, we'll open up our retailer sign-ups."

(Note that the retail locator has the heading "Here are the retailers taking part in Free RPG Day 2016", so those are the stores who participated last year.)


Chris Lambertz wrote:
Announced for Free RPG Day 2017! Image and description are final.

But free rpg day is feb 17th...not june 17th

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
alaiziadarkstar wrote:
Chris Lambertz wrote:
Announced for Free RPG Day 2017! Image and description are final.
But free rpg day is feb 17th...not june 17th
freerpgday.com wrote:
Deadline for publisher commitments for Free RPG Day 2017 is February 17th.

FreeRPG Day is June 17.


alaiziadarkstar wrote:
Chris Lambertz wrote:
Announced for Free RPG Day 2017! Image and description are final.
But free rpg day is feb 17th...not june 17th

That's the deadline for publisher commitments, not the actual day.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Sadly I can't benefit from Free RPG Day in my country. :(

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Usually the Free RPG Day materials are available online as free PDFs too so you can always download those and print them out if you don't want to read stuff on screen.


Milo v3 wrote:
I don't really understand why "space goblins" would have different rules to "goblins"...

Might have different skill sets and mutations relating to space.


Among goblins i bet they see a big difference. i am curious to see how many of their old superstitions followed them into space... i feel they are going to end up just a bit like 40K's greenskins who can slap together mostly functional weapons out of junk.


IonutRO wrote:
Sadly I can't benefit from Free RPG Day in my country. :(

I could pick up one and mail it to you, if you want. Just PM me your shipping info, and I'll get it out to you.


Steven "Troll" O'Neal wrote:
She is not being very diplomatic.

Or they just didn't listen when she said "out of our way or we will shout! First and only warning."?

Tamec wrote:

To make anything Sci-fi you add Laser or Space to it.

a "Laser" sword (do not use the trademarked name)

and Space Beer

Laser baked Space Doughnuts and Space Cookies.


Steven "Troll" O'Neal wrote:
She is not being very diplomatic.

You call this a diplomatic solution?


Axial wrote:
Steven "Troll" O'Neal wrote:
She is not being very diplomatic.
You call this a diplomatic solution?

Precisely.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Looks like I have a great reason to attend Free RPG day again. I have wanted to see the Haan ever since I read through Distant Worlds.
Also, you have no Idea how difficult it is not to make jokes about the Borg when the product is called First Contact.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Did you guys fit an adventure at all into this we can run on Free RPG day.

Our store just asked me to run this but I did not see anything to run in the description.


Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Dragnmoon wrote:

Did you guys fit an adventure at all into this we can run on Free RPG day.

Our store just asked me to run this but I did not see anything to run in the description.

I believe this product is more like the Bonus Bestiary than the adventures Paizo habitually releases for Free RPG Day. Probably because, as with PfRPG back in the day, the Free RPG Day product had to be ready before the actual rules were finalized. Even Crypt of the Everflame, which released with PfRPG, had some discrepancies.

I'm guessing your store is just assuming this is another adventure.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Nope—no adventure here. Just what's listed in the bullet points above.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Ah, interesting.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Guys... We were hoping to get our gamestore to participate in free RPG Day, but how can we do that if we have no game to entice players with? I was really hoping for a space-themed adventure that we could preview.

Hmm

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

As much as we would love to have done an intro adventure, the logistics rendered that impossible. To have a product in time for Free RPG Day, it had to go to the printer about two months ahead of the rules actually being finalized.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

OHO! SEIZE THE FLAMETHROWER, ME HEARTIES!

AND THEN TAKE THE SHIP!

THE IMPERIAL GOBLIN SPACE NAVY SHALL PREVAAAAAAAAAIL!


Amazing cover art.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Here's to Free RPG day!

Sovereign Court

Ok, can someone explain to me what this is? It's kind of confusing to me because I don't know much about Starfinder. Is this like the APG for Starfinder? Or is it something else?
I know that Alien Archive is basically Bestiary. Thanks for your help.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I think it's a little bit of everything perhaps?

Paizo Employee Senior Developer, Starfinder Team

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Toloriel wrote:

Ok, can someone explain to me what this is? It's kind of confusing to me because I don't know much about Starfinder. Is this like the APG for Starfinder? Or is it something else?

I know that Alien Archive is basically Bestiary. Thanks for your help.

First Contact is basically a book of about 12 alien monsters. They are designed to give you a preview of what some of the Starfinder rules look like, but they can be used as monsters in either the Starfinder RPG or the Pathfinder RPG. Some of these alien also incorporate rules to be used as player races in Starfinder.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Basically, it's Starfinder's Bonus Bestiary.

Sovereign Court

Thanks, I appreciate it. Really looking forward to this game!

51 to 100 of 227 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Paizo / Product Discussion / Starfinder First Contact All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.