Pathfinder Society Scenario #5–03: The Hellknight's Feast (PFRPG) PDF

4.10/5 (based on 22 ratings)

Our Price: $3.99

Add to Cart
Facebook Twitter Email

A Pathfinder Society Scenario for characters of 5th to 9th level (Tier 5–9).

War between demons and the civilized peoples of the Inner Sea region has broken out in the Worldwound far to the north of Absalom, but despite the regional implications of an Abyssal victory, many nations are ambivalent toward the cause. The Pathfinder Society, at the urging of Silver Crusade leader Ollysta Zadrian, arranges a formal banquet to be hosted by newlyweds Michellia and Damian Blakros, at which the society's agents can attempt to sway the political opinions of Absalom's movers and shakers. Will the Pathfinders succeed in securing the much-needed military support of Absalom and other nations bordering the Inner Sea, or will the crusaders and Pathfinders fighting on the front lines in Mendev find themselves standing alone before the demonic hordes?

Written by Tom Phillips.

This scenario is designed for play in Pathfinder Society Organized Play, but can easily be adapted for use with any world. This scenario is compliant with the Open Game License (OGL) and is suitable for use with the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game.

Product Availability

Fulfilled immediately.

Are there errors or omissions in this product information? Got corrections? Let us know at store@paizo.com.

PZOPSS0503E


See Also:

21 to 23 of 23 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

Average product rating:

4.10/5 (based on 22 ratings)

Sign in to create or edit a product review.

A very frustrating module for all concerned

2/5

I liked the idea of this scenario but found it incredibly frustrating in its execution and the players found it extremely frustrating when I ran it. This is supposed to be a party with lots of social interaction. The NPCs and the environment are nicely detailed and the combats not overly deadly. But the author has thrown out the rule book and substituted their own ideas without explanation There are skills in Pathfinder for social interaction – diplomacy, intimidate, bluff and sense motive being the main ones. For the skill challenges the author has effectively said that those skills are useless and instead they substituted another extremely limited set of skills. This would be fine if the skills listed were provided as an alternative but they are not. As written, a PC that can hit 50 on diplomacy and sense motive is not only going to fail to influence people, they are not going to know why they failed. This scenario needs an errata to include the possibility for people with good social interaction skills to succeed. If run as written most groups will fail both the primary and secondary goals.


Fantastic Roleplaying Opportunities

5/5

I ran The Hellknight's Feast twice at GenCon, and I was quite pleased with the amount of roleplaying opportunities the module afforded. The groups I ran this scenario for responded to the different NPC personalities they met during the social situations and enjoyed the combats that rounded out the scenario. Kudos to author Tom Phillips for devising the fun NPCs with whom the characters interacted, and for some truly creepy flavor when things turned sour.

I hope to run more PFS scenarios like this in the future!


Is there a 6th star?

5/5

Loved this Scenario! Played at GenCon, Thursday night.

Lots to do for all players, both the action oriented and the socially oriented. I only played the new season five scenarios at GenCon, and this one is the best by far!

Had an outstanding GM who made the NPC's come alive! Very well written, and might I say (Buffs fingernails on his shirt) VERY well played! :)

I can't wait to GM this for my local group!


Nice for the Social Types

5/5

Just played this one at GENCON. A fun module for groups that enjoy role playing, and not just combat. Lots of great interaction with important NPC's, and then some good combats to round out the module.

A well prepared GM makes this an even better module, and ours was great.

One piece of advice that I have to make the experience even better would be for the GM to explain the core mechanic for the interaction a bit at the beginning. I say this not knowing how much of that is internal to the module, but it seemed like it was, and it seemed well balanced to allow the "shootie shootie" (and other non-socially skilled)PC's to be able to contribute alongside the "talky talky" PC's.

An Andoran (and probably several other factions) PC will love this scenario.
A well spoken Bard would love this module, but also not be able to overpower the other PC's.

Not knowing what the module was, we had one guy playing an iconic, and he tried the 7th level Gunfighter. If there was ever a scenario for Lem, this is it.


21 to 23 of 23 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Webstore Gninja Minion

Announced for GenCon 2013!

RPG Superstar 2012

Congrats, Tom!

My daughter and I will definitely try to play this one at GenCon. :)

Silver Crusade

Can I play this now?

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

taig wrote:

Congrats, Tom!

My daughter and I will definitely try to play this one at GenCon. :)

Lady Ophelia wrote:
Can I play this now?

Oh, the pressure! :-)

Shadow Lodge

Oh now this sounds like fun! :D

Dark Archive

Sounds like a mod for a charisma based pc. I wonder if they will look down on you again if you wear armor at the banquet like the snobs at the Blackrose Matrimony did?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Maybe not the best scenario to play with a goblin?... or... perhaps it's the BEST scenario to play a goblin!

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

Raymond Lambert wrote:
Sounds like a mod for a charisma based pc.

Nope! All PCs should be able to contribute during the social interaction scenes.

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

Kyle Baird wrote:
Maybe not the best scenario to play with a goblin?... or... perhaps it's the BEST scenario to play a goblin!

Depends on the goblin ... but, sure, goblin Pathfinders would work just fine. But be warned, there are dogs. Several dogs. And possibly a horse or two.

Shadow Lodge

You see Tom, now you HAVE to go to GenCon this year...

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

TPK Games wrote:
You see Tom, now you HAVE to go to GenCon this year...

I wish! With a son due this October, expenses are a bit too tight right now to justify such a trip. Possibly next year though! :-)


Tom Phillips wrote:
I wish! With a son due this October...

Congrats! Best job there is. :)


My Gencon GM for this ran it about as suboptimally as possible, but I could tell there was a really great adventure here, covering a number of possibilities and playstyles. It's one I hope I get to run for the local crowd.

-Ben.

Silver Crusade

Hi there! So, there is an issue with the PDF: It reads "The Waking Rune" on the heading scenarios. Other than that, he adventure looks amazing!

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

This was fun to write. And major kudos to John Compton for polishing it up and making me look good ... and to Qunicy Boyd for his brilliant art and Sean Macdonald for his wonderful cartography.

terraleon: I'm sorry for your game experience. I hope you have a great time when/if you get to run it for your local group. Post a review if you can!

Balkin, Zahir: Thanks for the very kind reviews. :-)

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

And thank you, Mike Welham for the kind review!

I hereby officially and formally forgive you for beating me in the final round of the 2012 RPG Superstar contest. :-)

Dark Archive

Ran this (and all the other season 5 mods) this weekend at Animefest and must say I enjoyed this one the best by far. The social part took my players a few minutes to get into but once I explained how the mechanic worked to them immediately took to it like a fish to water.

The Dinner scene alone had the women at my table rolling and the men groaning as soon as I described it as doing a seating chart for a wedding reception but that made it work.

I'll spoiler this part but

Spoiler:
This was a BRUTAL mod and TPK'd my whole table at high tier with the 4 player adjustment. The advanced wraith eating 8 points of con a round with the 5 minute paralysis from the Mohrg terrified them and killed all my arcane casters. The succubus brought back nightmares of dawn of the scarlet sun when she one shot the cleric and then methodically went down the line 1 round killing every other party member. Invisibility + 5 attacks a round + 3D6 SA + 6D6 Vampiric touch is BRUTAL).

Had a blast with this, just the right amount of social with quick intense battles makes this an absolute joy to run. Prep is significant but the more you do the better it is.
4.5 Stars (the map is the only drawback, the rooms are too small for the number of bodies present in each scene. Claustrophobic close and makes the fights hard on the PC's.)

Liberty's Edge Contributor, RPG Superstar 2012

Tom Phillips wrote:

And thank you, Mike Welham for the kind review!

I hereby officially and formally forgive you for beating me in the final round of the 2012 RPG Superstar contest. :-)

Hooray! Mission accomplished!

I had a great deal of fun running this scenario, and everyone at each of my tables had a lot of fun too. After one session, one of my players told me he never hated an NPC more than he did one of the NPCs I played.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

My funniest moment running this scenario:
One of my home players, Cathy, gets a lot of flak for never spending her gold. It's good-hearted, mind you. Before this session began, she uncharacteristically announced considering buying X (spoiler omitted). We all encouraged her to buy X, particularly because the role composition in our region lacks players good at X. She hummed and hawed and chose not to after all.

The adventure starts, we get to interacting with the NPCs, and she has a convincing argument with solid roleplaying, earning a +2 to her role. She stumbles onto the NPC's advantage, getting an additional +4. An ally aids, granting her another +2. She rolls her influence check and is short of the DC by 2. As it happens, this NPC has a special influence note: Any PC with X gets an additional +2 bonus to influence checks against this NPC. Cathy`s decision not to buy X was directly responsible for her character failing to influence an NPC on her first try.

X=

Spoiler:
Medium armour

RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

In regards to the latest review on this scenario, it seems that someone's GM missed this line:

Spoiler:
Each PC can attempt a Bluff check (to pretend to be friendly), a Diplomacy check (to be genuine), or a skill check mentioned in the NPC’s social stat block.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber

That was very nice to run. Loved it, my players loved it as well (I think).

I had taken the time to setup the ground floor with some 3D dungeon: https://c2.staticflickr.com/6/5804/23215001796_d6540a7c00_b.jpg

Without limiting my player's time it ran 8 hours, but we didn't mind. I could have cut some stuff off, but... it would have been an injustice.

Sovereign Court

Running this one soon. Anyone know what that thing on the cover is? Doesn't look like any of the referenced monsters...


Have fun! The creature is a:

Wraith

Community / Forums / Paizo / Product Discussion / Pathfinder Society Scenario #5–03: The Hellknight's Feast (PFRPG) PDF All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.