
![]() |
I have a question about the critical fumble deck. A few of the cards have something like (DMG 237) or some such after the description of the fumble. Can anybody tell me what, exactly, that means? At first I thought it meant "damage" but I'm seeing it on a few that don't necessarily deal with damage.

![]() |

I have a question about the critical fumble deck. A few of the cards have something like (DMG 237) or some such after the description of the fumble. Can anybody tell me what, exactly, that means? At first I thought it meant "damage" but I'm seeing it on a few that don't necessarily deal with damage.
Those were page references that pointed you to the old 3.5 books. In this case, DMG 237 was Dungeon Master's Guide page 237.

![]() |
Those were page references that pointed you to the old 3.5 books. In this case, DMG 237 was Dungeon Master's Guide page 237.
Ahh, thanks! There was a moment that I thought "Dungeon Master's Guide? Nahh, that can't be it, there is no such beast!" Of course, I was thinking Paizo/Pathfinder, and didn't think it would be referencing 3.5. :P
Thanks again!!

George Velez |
I just started using the GameMastery Critical Hit Deck and GameMastery Critical Fumble Deck cards in my Pathfinder Dragon Age game and we are having fun with them (a player got a critical hit that slowed the charging Darkspawn Ogre by half for 3 rounds, that saved them from a TPK!).
However, the instructions/rules on both sets of cards are too tiny to read for most of us. Is there a way to get that information is a larger text format? :)
Thanks!

bladeshad |
i'm a GM and my player pulled 'Broken blade: your weapon is destroyed(Ref negates) magic weapons use their own save bonus (PFRPG 459)"
He is using a +1 war hammer, not a blade. but it still said destroyed; not broken.
how does this mechanic work. i cant seem to find anything online or even logical related to this.
the best i found is he gets a plus 2 plus have the caster level to save it. (2+5\2) = 4 maybe?
what what is the DC he has to beat to save it???? it's not listed here? there is iron door break DC28 . thats simmilar in my opinion. but it's a reflex save so is it his relex? the items reflex? where do i find that?
or do i just say "you pulled the DESTROYED item card. ooooohhhh sorry. no convoluted save for you."

![]() |

The names of the crit results are flavorful, not mechanical, so it doesn't have to be a blade to be affected.
Damaging Magic Items says "Magic items use the same saving throw bonus for all saves, no matter what the type (Fortitude, Reflex, or Will). A magic item's saving throw bonus equals 2 + 1/2 its caster level (rounded down)."
In the Magic Items chapter, the Weapons section says "For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus."
So the caster level of a +1 weapon is (1x3=)3. It's Reflex saving throw bonus is therefore (2+1=)+3.
The rules card for this product says "Unless a DC is listed, the DC for any necessary save is equal to the armor class of the target."
So the Reflex save DC is your player's AC.