themostbrutal's page

5 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Edge93 wrote:
Pumpkinhead11 wrote:
Captain Morgan wrote:
breithauptclan wrote:
The-Magic-Sword wrote:
themostbrutal wrote:

Is everyone suggesting that you only receive the extra 1d6 damage for a single attack on your turn because you want to be casting a spell every round? I would not use the ability like that. If I was playing a gish I would make a weapon attack then cast a two action spell. The next turn I would use bespell weapon and make 3 attacks with +1d6 damage.

The requirement says your last action must have been to cast a non cantrip spell. It doesn't say it has to be on that turn. The spell also says the enhancement lasts until the end of the turn so would add to all 3 attacks.

Thats... very interesting actually, its an unintuitive reading, but as far as I can tell it's actually correct unless there's some general rule that limits your last action last turn off from the current turn.

Would that break using a reaction in between?

Depends on the rule lawyer making the argument. A reaction could be considered to be a sub-type of action. Or action, free action, and reaction could all be considered as sibling types - so when the rule says 'your last action' it would ignore free actions and reactions that have been used since then.
I'd certainly not count reactions and free actions as actions for purposes of "your last action." But I'm still skeptical you can carry them over between turns. I dunno.
Taking a look at free actions in general, they seem to have either a ‘Trigger’ or specify when you’re suppose to use them during a turn. Divine Weapon works very similarly and uses a Trigger, and with how Free Actions tend to work in general, i’d say the wording for Bespell Weapon was meant to say ‘Trigger’ rather than ‘Requirement’. Even with the current wording it seems to suggest the ability is meant to work as a kicker effect after casting a spell.
Allowing this feat to be used on the next turn like that would be like allowing...

There are rules that prevent the splitting of actions and such. I see no rule preventing this nor do I see it as min/maxing. It seems to me to be the simplest way to interpret the ability. Everyone else's reading requires the creation of non existent rules or rewriting the ability itself like you suggest. If your last action was to cast a spell then your last action was to cast a spell. It doesn't say if your last action this turn was to cast a spell. If that is what they indented I don't know why they didn't phrase it better.

Also with multiple attack penalties it really isn't that powerful. You are far less likely to hit with the second and third attacks.


Captain Morgan wrote:
breithauptclan wrote:
The-Magic-Sword wrote:
themostbrutal wrote:

Is everyone suggesting that you only receive the extra 1d6 damage for a single attack on your turn because you want to be casting a spell every round? I would not use the ability like that. If I was playing a gish I would make a weapon attack then cast a two action spell. The next turn I would use bespell weapon and make 3 attacks with +1d6 damage.

The requirement says your last action must have been to cast a non cantrip spell. It doesn't say it has to be on that turn. The spell also says the enhancement lasts until the end of the turn so would add to all 3 attacks.

Thats... very interesting actually, its an unintuitive reading, but as far as I can tell it's actually correct unless there's some general rule that limits your last action last turn off from the current turn.

Would that break using a reaction in between?

Depends on the rule lawyer making the argument. A reaction could be considered to be a sub-type of action. Or action, free action, and reaction could all be considered as sibling types - so when the rule says 'your last action' it would ignore free actions and reactions that have been used since then.
I'd certainly not count reactions and free actions as actions for purposes of "your last action." But I'm still skeptical you can carry them over between turns. I dunno.

It would be interesting to get some official input on this ability. It seems to have a few different interpretations.


Pumpkinhead11 wrote:
themostbrutal wrote:

Is everyone suggesting that you only receive the extra 1d6 damage for a single attack on your turn because you want to be casting a spell every round? I would not use the ability like that. If I was playing a gish I would make a weapon attack then cast a two action spell. The next turn I would use bespell weapon and make 3 attacks with +1d6 damage.

The requirement says your last action must have been to cast a non cantrip spell. It doesn't say it has to be on that turn. The spell also says the enhancement lasts until the end of the turn so would add to all 3 attacks.

I don’t believe the ability is intended to work that way, and would make sure your GM is okay with that interpretation.

As for the usefulness of Bespell Weapon, it can definitely synergies where it counts. A Sorc or Wizard at level 4 or 6 can cast magic weapon and use Bespell Weapon for a minimum of 3d6. If they plan to focus on the caster side of things, spells like Jump and True Strike will most likely be used often enough to keep bespell weapon reliable.

For the Martial aspect; Ranger has a bonus d8 with Precision Edge(which scales), and Flurry Edge with Twin Takedown meaning they can get that extra 1d6 on three attacks pretty reliably. Monk can use it with Ki Strike and FoB which ends up as a pure upgrade. Rogue can use it as a bonus d6 to Sneak Attack.

It really doesn’t seem like a Trap Option as much as a part of the system that takes time to get used to.

I am use to D&D where the exact wording is very important to how something is suppose to work. I am not sure if Pathfinder is not a good at this.

Turns are just a mechanic to allow ease of play. The end of your last turn happened immediately previous to the beginning of your current turn. No time passed. I assume that when referring to your last action it is not turn based unless the rules specifically says so.


The-Magic-Sword wrote:
themostbrutal wrote:

Is everyone suggesting that you only receive the extra 1d6 damage for a single attack on your turn because you want to be casting a spell every round? I would not use the ability like that. If I was playing a gish I would make a weapon attack then cast a two action spell. The next turn I would use bespell weapon and make 3 attacks with +1d6 damage.

The requirement says your last action must have been to cast a non cantrip spell. It doesn't say it has to be on that turn. The spell also says the enhancement lasts until the end of the turn so would add to all 3 attacks.

Thats... very interesting actually, its an unintuitive reading, but as far as I can tell it's actually correct unless there's some general rule that limits your last action last turn off from the current turn.

Would that break using a reaction in between?

I haven't seen a rule that suggests you can't do this but the book is also 600+ pages so I may have missed it in the first reading.

I don't think a reaction in between would break the ability. It states specifically that your last "action" must have been used to cast a non cantrip spell. If a reaction is considered to be an action to break it then it should be reasonable to say a reaction is considered to be an action to support the ability. Example being you cast a reaction spell such as Featherfall. I don't feel like this is the case though.


Is everyone suggesting that you only receive the extra 1d6 damage for a single attack on your turn because you want to be casting a spell every round? I would not use the ability like that. If I was playing a gish I would make a weapon attack then cast a two action spell. The next turn I would use bespell weapon and make 3 attacks with +1d6 damage.

The requirement says your last action must have been to cast a non cantrip spell. It doesn't say it has to be on that turn. The spell also says the enhancement lasts until the end of the turn so would add to all 3 attacks.