Hialin

jozh's page

Organized Play Member. 81 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.




CRB, p. 287 wrote:
You can scatter caltrops in an empty square adjacent to you with an Interact action.

Also:

Quote:
Deployed caltrops can be salvaged and reused if no creatures took damage from them.

Cool. How much time/effort is it to clear or recover caltrops from a square? Exploration activity amounts of time/effort?


Feral Mutagen wrote:
Finally, you can increase the mutagen’s penalty to AC from –1 to –2 and, in exchange, increase the damage die size of your claws and jaws by one step.

When do you decide whether to make this exchange? When you first take the mutagen? Round-by-round basis? Other?


Bestiary wrote:
Effect The ghoul devours a chunk of the corpse and regains 1d6 Hit Points plus 1d6 for every 2 levels it has.

Does "it" refer to the corpse being consumed?


Does the additional damage die from Fatal get doubled with the rest of the critical damage?

The CRB makes it clear that the additional die from Deadly does not, so I wondered.


Pathfinder Playtest Rulebook, p. 348, Treasure for New Characters wrote:
Whether you’re starting a campaign at higher level, a new player joins an existing group, or a current player’s character dies and she needs a new one, your campaign might have a PC who didn’t start at 1st level. In these cases, refer to the Character Wealth table, which lets you know how many common permanent items of various levels the PC should have, plus additional currency. The player can spend her currency as she wishes on consumables or lower-level permanent items, keeping the rest as coinage.

I have a group starting at 2nd level. I'm not sure if the common permanent item is more intended to be a magic item (and I haven't found any Level 1 permanent items, anyway). Common weapons and armor are considered to be level 0, IIRC.

Anyway, I had a player ask if they could pick half plate armor as their "Level 1 item". Would this be too much?


I know Attacks of Opportunity and other such reactions are less common now, but it seems like every time you attempt a melee touch attack spell you're taking a gamble that it's going to get disrupted.

If that is by design, I don't care for it.


Pathfinder Playtest Rulebook, p. 197 wrote:

CONCENTRATE ON A SPELL
[Concentrate] Requirements You have at least one spell active with a concentration duration, and you are not fatigued.

Choose one spell with a concentration duration you have in effect. The duration of that spell continues until the end of your next turn. Some spells may have slightly different or expanded effects if you concentrate. Concentrating on a Spell for more than 10 minutes (60 rounds) ends the spell and makes you fatigued.

If you take damage equal to or greater than your level from a reaction or free action triggered by this action, your spell is disrupted and immediately dismissed.

So, my first thought about disrupting with a reaction was Attack of Opportunity, but Concentrate on a Spell doesn't meet the criteria for triggering that. Can anyone direct me to other reactions that this action triggers?


Creating an abjurer and overthinking areas of effect because of Protective Ward. I note that it is a "10-foot-radius burst centered on you" one of only four powers/spells that have this phrasing or something similar for area (see below). I wondered if these should maybe have Aura area of effects, instead, since bursts generally tend to be centered on an intersection (assuming grid play). The description of Protective Ward even refers to it as an aura.

Moonlight Glow (60-foot burst centered on you)
Protective Ward (10-foot radius burst centered on you)
Sanctified Ground (30-foot burst centered on you)
Weakening Ground (30-foot burst centered on you)

Looking for other similar examples, I note that Globe of Invulnerabilty and Prismatic sphere specify 10-foot burst centered on one corner of (or within) your space.

Smokestick and Dust of Appearance specify the burst is centered on a corner of a space.

Anyway, just curious.


Anyone else have a problem with the Bestiary PDF? The zip file in my downloads is 1KB, and the file inside is 0KB...


Can the Sarcesian Sniper (Alien Archive, p. 98) use Trick Attack? Its listed gear is a tactical dueling sword (analog) and advanced Diasporan rifle (Sniper 500 ft., unwieldy). In the absence of a melee weapon with the operative special property or with any small arm, it seems like it could not. I see nothing under the Class Graft guidelines to suggest it can ignore these restrictions.


On p. 16 of the PDF, there is a note to "read aloud or paraphrase the following" but no descriptive text follows. I can work something out based on the rest, but I wondered if the author has the description that was intended for this part of the warehouse.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
SCR, p. 414 wrote:
Curing an Affliction: Diseases, drugs, and poisons can be cured if they are treated before the victim reaches the end state. In the case of a disease, the victim must fulfill the conditions in the disease’s Cure entry (usually succeeding at one or more consecutive saving throws). Each time she does so, she moves one step back toward healthy; once she reaches healthy, she is cured.

Does this mean that the character moves one step back toward healthy each time they meet fulfill the conditions of the disease's Cure entry?

For example, let's say the character contracted Filth Fever (p. 418), and has failed enough saving throws to become Impaired on the Physical track because of the disease. When they make two consecutive saving throws, do they then move from Impaired up to Weakened? And another two consecutive saving throws to move from Weakened up to Latent? And another two consecutive saving throws to move from Weakened to Healthy?

If so, in the absence of medical or magical assistance, it requires 6 days of successful saving throws to recover from the Impaired state of a disease with a Frequency of 1/day and a Cure entry of 2 consecutive saves? Is that correct?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Maybe this has already been resolved, and I think the answer is probably no (without Improved Unarmed Strike), but looking at two different parts of the Starfinder Core Rulebook has me wondering.

SCR, p. 52 wrote:

Natural Weapons

Vesk are always considered armed. They can deal 1d3 lethal damage with unarmed strikes and the attack doesn’t count as archaic.

and

SCR, p. 255 wrote:

Reach and Threatened Squares

Your reach is the distance at which you can attack foes in melee combat. If you are wielding a melee weapon or are otherwise capable of making a melee attack (e.g., if you have your own natural weapons), you threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn (the exception is unarmed strikes - if you’re making unarmed strikes, you don’t threaten other squares).

Emphasis Added - I think the end result is that you threaten with natural weapons unless those natural weapons are unarmed strikes?


I was looking at the Confusion spell (SCR, p. 344) description and comparing it to the Confused condition (pp. 273-274), and I noticed that the former lacks some details included in the latter.

SCR, pp. 273-274 wrote:

Confused

You can’t tell the difference between ally and foe, and thus you treat all creatures as enemies, even your closest friends and family, if applicable. An ally who wishes to cast a beneficial spell on you with a range of touch must succeed at an attack roll against your Energy Armor Class, since you cannot be considered a willing target.

The rest of the Confused condition entry aligns with the Confusion spell description, so I wondered why the above two details were excluded. Page space, perhaps. I assume that anyone affected by the Confusion spell is, in fact, suffering from the Confused condition. If so, a page reference from the spell to the condition would have been nice.


I was hoping the Alien Archive would include like a "default" rarity for each creature within to help determine Identify Creature DCs, but I don't see anything like that. I suppose that was something they decided to leave for each GM to decide for their own game.


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Starfinder Core Rulebook, p. 326 wrote:
"You can take a minor crew action regardless of your current role, but only if no other action was performed this round for the role associated with that minor crew action. A minor crew action can be performed only once per round and doesn’t count as your action."

Can one character take both minor crew actions in a single round, assuming the "no other action for the role" criteria is met?


I can't find it mentioned in the RAW, but do you think it is correct to assume that once your Science Officer has succeeded on a Computers check for the Scan action (SCRB p. 325) that they have real-time access to the information they have learned?

For example, if they have succeeded on a Scan check sufficient to discover an enemy's Defenses, do they know the "AC, TL, total and current Hull Points, total and current Shield Points in each quadrant" for the rest of the combat, even if those values change?