
![]() |
I'm running a scenario tomorrow where it is possible that the NPC villain will cast the "Fury of the Sun" spell on a PC who already has "Endure Elements" running. My current interpretation is that FotS will overwhelm the protection of "Endure Elements" as if it is not there, and the PC will have to save as normal.
I base this interpretation from how the Darkness/Light spells work (e.g. Higher level darkness spells overwhelm lower level light spells).
Since I have some rule lawyers at my table, I want to see if there is general agreement with how I'm ruling it. If not, I'm hoping someone can point out the rules/interpretations that counter my view.
Thanks!!
Endure Elements (LV 1 spell):
A creature protected by endure elements suffers no harm from being in a hot or cold environment. It can exist comfortably in conditions between -50 and 140 degrees Fahrenheit without having to make Fortitude saves). The creature’s equipment is likewise protected. Endure elements doesn’t provide any protection from fire or cold damage, nor does it protect against other environmental hazards such as smoke, lack of air, and so forth.
Fury of the Sun (lv 2 spell):
You curse the target to suffer unbearable heat. On a failed saving throw, the target is immediately subjected to severe heat, takes 1d4 points of nonlethal damage, and is suffering from heatstroke (fatigued). The target must save every 10 minutes as normal for severe heat (starting at DC 15 rather than the DC of this spell). Because this heat is internal, the target cannot avoid it using the normal methods for escaping heat dangers such as Survival checks or finding shade.