Tykero's page

5 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


Nefreet wrote:
"Some swift and free actions provoke (such as reloading a gun)".

Exactly what I was looking for regarding that question, thank you!

So, I see people saying that full attacks are possible with a free action reload, and this certainly makes sense with my understanding of the rules, but I'm worried about table variation. Is there any official or semi-official statement available regarding this, similar to the one provided above?

Jeff Merola wrote:
Tykero wrote:

What prevents a Gunslinger from using Point Blank Master?

There is also the Deft Shootist Deed feat, but the feat tax is heavy on that one.

To answer this, PBM has Weapon Specialization as a prerequisite. Weapon Specialization requires Fighter 4 to take, so it's impossible for a single classed Gunslinger to get it.

Aha, I had thought the prerequisite was Weapon Focus for some reason. Thanks!

What prevents a Gunslinger from using Point Blank Master?

There is also the Deft Shootist Deed feat, but the feat tax is heavy on that one.

I am not trying to give myself free use of an 11th level class ability.
As outlined in the beginning of my post, it takes a decent investment to reload as a free action.

To further clarify, my questions were:

Can I full attack with a firearm provided that I can reload as a free action?

Do free actions have special exemption from provoking, or is there some intention for free action to have exemption from provoking? Spells, for example, explicitly do not provoke attacks of opportunity when cast using Swift or Immediate actions (CRB pg 188) and as far as I'm aware, there are no other free actions that can provoke.

Does reloading a firearm exposed to water clear the ruined ammunition, or is there some further expenditure of action required?

Edit: This post was written in reply to the first response. Thank you everyone for your replies so far

I have some rules questions regarding Firearms.

For the sake of these questions, let's assume:
I am a Gunslinger
I am a Musket Master, able to reload Muskets as a One-Handed Firearm
I have the Rapid Reload (Muskets) Feat
I am using Alchemical Cartridges

In the above scenario, I can reload my Musket as a Free Action.

Normally, the Firearms rules state that both firing and loading a firearm trigger an attack of opportunity.
The rules also state that Free Actions rarely incur attacks of opportunity (CRB pg 188), and that you can perform one or more free actions as part of another action (CRB pg 181).

Given the above...

Is it safe to assume I can full attack with a firearm given the character traits above, since the reloading of each shot would be a free action taken as part of each attack? Should I expect table variation on this?

If I were to take a feat or other feature that made firearm attacks no longer provoke attacks of opportunity (such as Point Blank Master), would reloading as part of the attack still trigger an attack of opportunity?

If my firearm was exposed to water, thus ruining the loaded cartridge, and then removed from the water, could I simply reload it as a free action to clear the ruined ammunition?

Ranged attacks only take a penalty if the mount takes double or greater movement. If a mount moves no greater than its speed, a ranged attacker can attack without penalties, including a full attack.

Source: Core Rulebook, pg 202

"You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a
double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can
use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple
speed) at a –8 penalty. In either case, you make the attack roll
when your mount has completed half its movement. You can
make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is
moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally."