Thiles Targon's page

45 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




If I have a +3 Orc bane weapon with defending, and I’m fighting an Orc, for purposes of defending is the weapon +5 or +3 (I’m an inquisitor with a defending weapon so this comes up all the time).


This may have been answered before but I could not find it.

I’m dual wielding, the first round of combat is frequently just a standard attack. If I choose to take that attack with my off-hand, is there a penalty (other than the lower str damage)? I’m not TWF, but I’m striking with my less talented hand.


"This cost reduction applies only to the first constructed building of the types listed in the line."

For example an academy has casters tower, library, and magic shop listed for discount. Does that mean the first library the first casters tower and the first magic shop are half cost, or only the first building period?


The rules say you can find an item with a value less than the town’s value 75% of the time. It also limits the value of items produced by buildings to the town’s value. This seems a little counter intuitive. What is the point of a major or medium slot when most of the things it produces, it can’t produce. Has there been any clarification of this.

You could easily house rule it, but I’m a little surprised something as important as magic items don’t have a more detailed treatment, perhaps you can get item ½ value 95% of the time twice value 50% and thrice 25% of the time. And perhaps value x10 for item slots. Am I missing something in the rules, or clarified on the forums or FAQ?


Can you put a farm, a road, or for that matter any * item in the same hex as a city. I know there was a thread about that, but I can’t find it. In any event I was wondering if people’s opinions have changed now that the rules have been around a little longer. Under stock house it says it increase the consumption decrease of any adjacent farm or farm in the same hex, which seems to support it, but the sentence may not have been thought through.

I think it’s a no-brainer that a road can go in the same hex as a city, so It seems to me you should be able to put the * stuff with a city, but I would treat the city like the non * stuff, a mine, quarry, sawmill or city in the same hex and any * items. The only exception are the ones that have building equivalents, so no fort or watch tower (I can’t find the text that says what a fort becomes if you found a city, but I know I have read it.)


You must build them from a hill or mountain to a settlement. Effect +1 Loyalty and +1 Stability.

If the aqueduct is 3 hexes long do I get +3 loyalty and +3 Stability or +1 Loyalty and +1 Stability, i.e. is the bonus per hex like the other terrain improvements, or per settlement like a building?

Can I a run a second Aqueduct from the same mountain to another city along the same path, and if I do, do I pay the cost again for the shared part of the route?


It says terrain improvements with an *can share the same hex with other improvements. So I can put an aqueduct, canal, farm, fishery, fort, road, watchtower all in the same hex, but I can’t put a road in the same hex as a mine?

I think they meant something like, you put all the * stuff in a hex and a sawmill or a quarry or a mine.

I found nothing about it in FAQ, does anyone have a better reading of this?


I have a question about Bane. It takes a swift action to activate it. Does that mean, it is then on until I turn it off? Can I decide when I turn it on to make it on until I turn it off, or just turn it on for 1 round? Does it take a swift action to turn it off?

The problem I have is, most fights I’m in; involve a couple rounds of fighting, a round or 2 of moving, 1 round of fighting a couple rounds of moving and spell casting, a couple rounds of fighting etc. I can’t afford to just leave bane up all those rounds, but I also don’t have the swift actions to spend one every round on bane. Especially with litanies to cast and judgments to fiddle with.

If I want bane up for 1 round, I use a swift action the 1st round to turn it on, and a swift action the second round to turn it off? Does that cost 2 rounds of use?

It seems to me it should take a swift action to turn it on, and a free action to turn it off. A second (worse) option would be it takes a swift action to turn it on and when you turn it on, you can declare it will be on for 1 round (no action to turn it off) or indefinitely (swift action to turn it off). Third option would be always a swift action to turn off.