PRD on Pits wrote:
Covered pits are much more dangerous. They can be detected with a DC 20 Perception check, but only if the character is taking the time to carefully examine the area before walking across it. A character who fails to detect a covered pit is still entitled to a DC 20 Reflex save to avoid falling into it. If she was running or moving recklessly at the time, however, she gets no saving throw and falls automatically.
If it's a pit covered by brush, a charging character would fall automatically.
7th, 8th and 9th level spells are not available for purchase via scroll/casting services/etc. until you are high enough level to cast them yourself (assuming you were a full caster)
It's in the Guide.
EDIT: They've changed the language some
Finally, scrolls of spells of 7th level or higher are
Spells that are 7th level or higher can’t be purchased
Both quotes from pg. 20 of the Guide that came out in Aug. '16
And slightly differing language on pg. 22
Any Seeker with sufficient Fame and experience can
Bolded relevant bits...darts are thrown weapons, blowgun darts, however, are ammunition. Completely different type of item.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Don't forget the -1 size penalty to attack rolls when you become large from enlarge person though...
There's been some debate about the PFS legality of photocopying pages from books that you own. I believe Mike Brock said it was ok, but that was probably 2-3 years ago. I'm not sure if that ruling has been changed since then.
Hard copy of book, watermarked PDF (available to be read), or print out of pages of resource used from watermarked PDF are the 3 viable options for use of additional resources.
Photocopying of hard copies are not permitted.
Andrew Christian wrote:
You cannot apply it to the character that can play in that scenario.
Yes, yes you can. The actual rule that's been in the last couple of guides has been explained above. If they wish to remove the possibility of such an option, it would be an easy change of language (as they have (or at least had) such language for module play), but they haven't.
The bolded part only applies to the successful save part of the spell. A failed save against Harm causes yhe victim to take 10 points of damage per caster level, never mind whether he would go below 1 hit point.
Not sure where the other poster quoted from, but the PRD has slightly different language and it can't lower you below 1 regardless of save or not.
Harm: Harm charges a subject with negative energy that deals 10 points of damage per caster level (to a maximum of 150 points at 15th level). If the creature successfully saves, harm deals half this amount. Harm cannot reduce the target's hit points to less than 1.
Under Equipment Ammunition:
When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading (as noted in their descriptions).
Is an Amulet of Mighty Fists considered a weapon with regards to +1 weapons being considered to be always available?
IS a yes/no question.
Regardless, with your clarification, I see you are looking for discussion to add this wonderous item to the always available list.
Personally, I see no real need to add it as an exception, as you normally will get enough fame to purchase a 4,000gp item by the time you can realistically save up for one from what I've seen. That, and the fewer the exceptions to the house rules for purchasing, the easier they are to explain and understand. And, with the number of threads asking if I can buy this or that, they are already a bit complex for starting characters IMO.
PRD on Magic Item Creation wrote:
Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.
PRD on Scrolls wrote:
The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires.
PRD on Wands wrote:
The creator must have prepared the spell to be stored (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any focuses the spell requires.
PRD on Potions wrote:
The creator must have prepared the spell to be placed in the potion (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires.
In the case of these types of items, the creator must know or have prepared the spells being put into the item. If you can't cast the spell, you can not make a potion/wand/scroll of the spell.
As kestral287 mentioned, you might wish to make a wand of Infernal Healing.
Except for the GM, the GM gets rewards based on the level of the character the credit is being applied to. Their reward in just about every circumstance ignores what actually happened at the table (level, rewards found, boons gained, etc.)
No new tieflings/aasmiars since start of season 6, technology had some issues early season 6, and wayang, kitsune, nagai, and tengu are legal for play without boon.
Oh, the new faction cards are out (check for a late April/early May blog about those), and are an interesting little boost for play IMO.
I'm sure I'm missing loads, but those are the major items I remember off the top of my head.
EDIT: Oh, and welcome back ;)
Not trying to be melodramatic, and definitely not lobbying for removal, just pointing out another possible resolution. Locally (and at conventions), I've never seen any issue with folks using slow progression, and I think it works as is for what it was designed for.
My previous post was mostly trying to answer Fox's question about what problem the rule solved.
The Fox wrote:
I just wish someone could point out one issue this rule intends to solve.
The rule wasn't created to solve a problem. It was added to provide an additional option for people who wanted to play their characters longer. If it's really that much of an issue, the option should probably just be retired.
There's another line after that bit about the only exception on not needing a requirement being the feat. It actually adds another requirement for certain items (such as wands and scrolls).
PRD on Making Magic Items wrote:
The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.
You NEED someone able to cast the spell you're making a scroll, wand or potion of. You can't cast a formulae, as it's not a spell.
Alchemists can break this rule concerning potions, only because they have special rules in regards to making them in their class write up.
PRD on Alchemists wrote:
Brew Potion (Ex): At 1st level, alchemists receive Brew Potion as a bonus feat. An alchemist can brew potions of any formulae he knows (up to 3rd level), using his alchemist level as his caster level. The spell must be one that can be made into a potion. The alchemist does not need to meet the prerequisites for this feat.
Without that, they could not take brew potion or create potions of their formulae.
And that, as long as it doesn't bog down the table, is perfectly fine by me. It's flavor, that's all. It's when you start including mechanical issues it starts to become a problem and will bog down a table in minutiae.
I write it down on the chronicle itself. A post-it note might come off and get lost/forgotten. A note written in ink on the chronicle...not as easy to misplace. It also answers at a glance why you have it and it's not really accounted for yet. Personal preference is all though, as long as you notate it and it recorded that way appropriately, do whichever method makes most sense to you.
Personally, I treat it exactly like a whip, except for the few things specifically called out as different in the item.
So, just as a whip: 15ft reach, does not threaten, provokes AoO when using, use whip proficiency and feats, finessable, disarm, reach(of 15ft) and trip qualities.
Differences called out in item: deals lethal damage (so need to attack with -4 to deal non-lethal), affects creatures regardless of armor type, deals damage based on scorpion whip (d4 rather than d3 for regular whip).
So add all those together and that's how I treat a scorpion whip...
Something that caught my eye out the interview...
Erik Mona interview wrote:
Almost every Pathfinder Society organized play scenario that we’ve done uses these maps. We’ve got 199 of those scenarios out as of today since the beginning. A lot of them reference maps that have gone out of print, so Flip-Mat Classics bring eight out-of-print, very popular, very high utility maps like ship, tavern and forest back into print.
I want the tavern...
Not saying there's not a longer retrain route to do what he wants. You can finagle most anything if you do it right with retraining nowadays.
I'm just saying it's not possible to do in the one step proposed.
PRD on retraining feats wrote:
The old feat can't be one you used as a prerequisite for a feat, class feature, archetype, prestige class, or other ability.
While you would normally get CE for free at 2nd in Lore Warden, since you already have it, you don't gain it again. And you have already used your 1st level feat as a prerequisite for a feat you have chosen so you can't retrain out of it.
Couple of minor nitpicks, but otherwise fairly good analysis IMO.
First, combat reflexes takes a Dex of 13 IIRC...this mechanically changes nothing else in your scenario.
Second, slightly bigger, is that that maneuvers generally only provoke from the target, not adjacent allies. So, in this case, Goblin2 wouldn't have an AoO event.
Erevel Ver Nao wrote:
Well...you are posting 2 years after the previous poster. The guide has changed since then. They were not legal then, but they are now.
OK, how's this...PFS is RAW, except for its house rules laid down by its GM(Campaign staff).
Question asked previously: (1st post in thread)
Answer by Campaign Staff: (3rd post in thread)
There is your specific "house" rule that says you can not keep money earned on a chronicle.
So dream up your ways to be a millionaire Vow of "poverty" monk, it's not legal at a PFS table.
pH unbalanced wrote:
Nope. I actually, have no problem with that. Mike has even stated on occasion, that it's fine to come and play without buying the CRB to start. However, 2, 3, 4, whatever games days/weeks down the road after the player decides they like PFS and wish to continue they should pick up the CRB however is most convenient for them.
EDIT: Post from Mike...so feel free to have them save and support their local stores while testing the waters.
pH unbalanced wrote:
You don't have to show ownership of the CRB to play options from it. So, it's not something someone would audit and deny use from if you don't have it with you.
That said, it's not gray or fuzzy. As you said, You are "assumed to own", and the rule is called the expectation, so yes buying the core is expected of all participants.
The stacking is referring to the type of bonus, not the type of the source of a bonus.
Strength of Beast: +2 inherent bonus
Power of Giants: +6 size bonus
Spiritual Form: chooses one ability score to which she gains a +4 (untyped) bonus
Bulls Strength and/or Belts of Strength: +X enhancement bonus
As, you now have an inherent, size, untyped, and enhancement bonus lined up, they all stack as they are all different types of bonuses.
It's actually tucked in Conditions, Death and Expendables on pg. 22 of the Guide.
Told you the DC was higher than 13... =p