A curious question about the see in darkness ability. If a creature has 'see in darkness.' Do they still see shadows? For example. If my character was taking a stroll through the woods, would he see the tree's and even his own shadow. OR. If a creature who uses shadows to hide, is gazed upon by this creature, are those shadows useless for his stealth.
This question comes up time to time whenever I chat with my Gm, and I was wondering if their is an official or general say on whether or not shadows are discernible or existent for creatures with this ability.
Any help on this subject would be appreciated greatly.
I was looking into the Iaijutsu Strike ability of the sword saint, and was wondering if it'd be able to be used to deal non-lethal damage as a substitute if desired, like while drawing your blade you hit them with the hilt or the flat of the blade and cause the same bonus damage in non-lethal points.
Alright, so one of my players is thinking about playing an alchemist and is very fond of the Tumor familiar discovery (P 17 Ultimate Magic). And is now looking into Improved familiar (P 127 Core). He's decided that he wants the Cythnigot Qlippoth (P 221 Bestiary 2) as his new familiar.
My first question is does this work without messing with the rules. Because the tumor he creates resembles that of an animal that is tiny or diminutive in size. So assuming that it qualifies as a animal of those size categories or an animal at all. The Cythnigot should be able to take the tumor over and become the new familiar.
Which brings me to the second question. If he reattaches the tumor to him which is now the host of the Cythnigot. Well it affect him in any way like the creature description says it would to the animal?
What is this gestalt thing?
Gestalt is a form of multi-classing that was detailed in 3.X Unearthed Arcana. Essentially you pick two classes and take the better of what each one has to offer in terms of saves, Hd, and skills. And you combine all the other special abilities and spells.
Now each time you level instead of choosing Fighter or rogue. You take a level In this new fighter rogue Hybrid. However to balance this out you the dm send creatures of 2 challenge rating higher against you to make it more of a fair fight.
It creates a lot more flavour in a character for example if my two classes were ranger/sorcerer. I would have the rangers HD, Skill points, Fort, Ref, spells ,and all class abilities. I'd also get the Sorcerers will save, Class abilities, and spells in addition. The skill lists of both classes combine to determine what is and isn't a class skill.
This obviously creates a more powerful campaign setting and it's highly recommended that everyone in a campaign be gestalt due to the power difference. Although giving non gestalt characters 3 more levels then the gestalt characters tends to even this problem out.
I'm suppose to be playing a gestalt pathfinder campaign this weekend and decided to make a ranger. However I'm stumped when it comes to what the second part of my class should be. I'm personally debating between Barbarian, Rogue, Fighter, and Witch. All seeming to compliment the ranger in ways I like.
My goal with this character is to be able to rush in and rush out and take as many enemies out as I can in that process.
Ultimate magic, Advanced players, Psionics unleashed and of course the core rule book are all allowed as well as most variants of classes featured in the books. It's level 6 and I'm playing a half-elf.
I tend to avoid anything involving the lawful axis of alignment but I'm not dead set against it. Any advice can help and thanks to those that do.