NorthernNerd1988's page

1 post. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Hello everyone. Got a question, maybe you've got an answer.

We've got a player who has the "fey" template on their halfling character. The template gives you a list of some special abilities that you can have, one is called "long Step", an SU, which reads as follows;

"A fey creature can teleport up to 10 feet per Hit Die as a move action. It may use this ability once every 1d4 rounds."

Now, the issue we had the other night, is that he got grappled by a grizzly bear, and was seeing if he could use this ability to escape the grapple. Grappled reads as follows;

"A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler’s CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity . . . "

So the big question is, does being grappled take away your "movement action", or just your ability to physically move?