Apsu (Symbol)

Kevin Trafton's page

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 17 posts. 1 review. 1 list. No wishlists. 11 Organized Play characters.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I've got a quick question about assigning points with the schools of Spells, Scrolls, or Swords. The second point invested in a particular school gives us the choice of becoming trained in one of a few listed lore skills at first level and we get a bonus skill feat (choice of 1 of 4 listed) at 5th level. Nowhere does it say we need to be trained in the associated skill of those feats. For example it says I can select the Cat Fall feat through the School of Swords but it doesn't mention if being trained in acrobatics is required. Is that an oversight or intentional?

Go here for reference


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Hawkmoon269 wrote:

See this comment. Encounters happen where the character is.

She is encountering the card at the Chapel, so, I'd say the "At This Location" power of the Wishing Well isn't in effect if Alahazra is at the Chapel, since during the encounter neither her nor the card at "at the location" of the Wishing Well.

The combination of Stargazer and Wishing Well can easily get out of hand. Alahazra can simply camp on the wishing well and use all of her divine cards to examine the top cards of all the locations and encounter the boons, and use the wising well's power to auto-acquire them (since that is where the encounter is taking place). Sure, she'll rack up a lot of Pirate Shade Haunts (I had a die-counter up to 12 and could have gone higher but the boon pickings were getting slim). At the end of each turn she discards all the non-divine cards and resets her hand (she can easily heal herself if necessary). Her teammates then use their turns to move to locations with banes on top and eliminate them so Alahazra has more targets for the next turn. When the boons start running out, have another player close the wishing well (because it would be really hard for Alahazra to do this with all the haunts hanging around), and then spend 1 dead turn for Alahazra to clear her own haunts.

Wishing Well's "at this location" instructions after closed wrote:
If you end your turn at this location, banish all Haunts next to your character card.

I wouldn't try this with a group of players unless they were all on-board with the strategy, but I don't mind doing this on solo games when playing multiple characters.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I thought I'd seen a similar issue before but I failed my search check today. Thanks for the fast response!!!


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

This is an adventure 6 monster who has the following powers:

Warden of Thunder wrote:

Before the encounter, each character at this location must succeed at a Dexterity or Acrobatics 14 check or be dealt 1d4 Electricity damage.

Damage dealt by the Warden of Thunder is dealt to each character at this location.

So my party of 3 assembles at the last open location and encounters this. Nobody can successfully manage the dex/acro check and they roll 2,3,3 for damage. Does each character take 8 electricity damage or just their individual rolls?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Anybody have a final card count for S&S with the promos? I understand the first set had 1033 single sided and 130 double sided.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Could somebody please give some pro's and con's regarding the Ultra PRO standard and matte sleeves? I understand that the matte sleeves have reduced glare but is it significant enough to justify the price difference?

Also, are the PACG sleeves considered standard or matte sleeves?

Thanks in advance!


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Cranky wrote:
Just for clarification. I'm playing three characters solo. All three are at a location that I just permanently closed, and there's only one location left. My question is, can I move all three characters to the final location at once, or one at a time when it's the character's turn? I would guess one at a time. Right?

Depends on which version of the game you're playing. If it's Rise of the Runelords then one at a time is the rule. Amiri does have a power (if chosen) that lets her bring another character with her special move at the end of her turn.

If you're playing the newer Skulls and Shackles game then the active player is the captain of a ship, and as long as the ship is not wrecked or anchored to a specific location you can bring along other (willing) characters as you move.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

This is really disappointing. I won't be playing S&S without the add-on decks because the two characters who I've been waiting to play are the druid and alchemist. This also means we can't play with 5 or 6 players for at least another month too.

As far as speculation goes, my guess is that due to the launch of the Pathfinder Society Adventure Card Guild the majority of those add-on decks had to go to stores who have signed up to host sessions and this probably wasn't considered early enough.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Blazej wrote:
Kevin Trafton wrote:
I'm thinking their clockwork could use a potion of lubrication right about now - which is reportedly an actual card in the S&S base set. Being a PACG subscriber I can't confirm this since... well, you know.
There is a potion of lucubration in the set and people will continue misreading it as lubrication.

I think I will rather enjoy "misreading" this card for quite a while.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
isaic16 wrote:

I just got off the phone with customer service, and finally it looks like we have some information about what's been going on. Apparently, there was an issue with the Character Add-On decks, which they were trying to get resolved but were unable to before the shipping deadline. The base sets are supposed to be shipped today, and the Character add-ons will be sent next month with Adventure deck 2.

I made it clear in my discussion with the representative, but I want to repeat it here to make it clear: this was the wrong way to handle this. The lack of information, and silence right up until the deadline did nothing but create confusion and frustration for the customers. As soon as there was an issue, it should have been publicly announced. At the very least, when it looked like it would be right up to the deadline, an explanation should have been made available. I hope in the future, if there is ever an event like this again, we will have greater transparency regarding issues such as these.

Thanks for the info! It's kinda sad that this didn't come from a CS rep. I completely agree with you.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I'm thinking their clockwork could use a potion of lubrication right about now - which is reportedly an actual card in the S&S base set. Being a PACG subscriber I can't confirm this since... well, you know.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Steve Geddes wrote:

It would be counter to their established practise over at least the last six years (which is how long I've been a subscriber to pretty much everything). They always put enough stock aside for subscribers first - they just dont guarantee them actually being sent first.

I think it's more likely that they havent yet reconciled their stock on returning from GenCon so their software doesnt know the exact number of items on hand and just defaults to "backorder" to be safe.

Sorry, that doesn't make sense. Why would they set aside stock for subscribers and not ship it? And keeping track of inventory is about as simple as it gets in terms of software - I cannot buy the "reconciling inventory" argument.

Regardless, I've lost a lot of enthusiasm I had for this product. I'm very disappointed at this point.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Steve Geddes wrote:
I'm sure they've got enough copies for subscribers...

I seriously doubt that there are a pile of games sitting around their warehouse waiting to be shipped. Face it; everybody who has a subscription and did not pick up their game at Gencon is basically waiting for a backorder. I'm guessing they are receiving a large shipment on the 21st from the manufacturer and will be able to cover most of the subscribers' shipments by the 22nd.

What bothers me is that I'm also guessing that they've known this was the situation since the beginning of August. Their initial pile of games all went to Gencon even though their subscribers have ordered them beforehand. In my case I've had my order paid in full since the 7th which just doesn't seem right.

Again, all of the above is conjecture on my part, but I'd be very surprised if I was proven wrong.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Joesi wrote:
As at least a person has eluded to already: I think the OP's question is something which requires his hypothetical scenario to be modified.

Yes, I didn't realize that the spell negated the torches altogether so my bad on that. So back the drow outside the spell effect and then ask yourself if they can see each other.

The original question still puzzles me, though. I'm guessing there is no definitive answer - only various GM's interpretations.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Since the supernatural darkness emanates from where it is cast (because you can completely cover the source to negate it), it clearly is a magical effect so any real world comparisons will fail. Real world darkness is just an absence of light, after all. Because of this I'd say you cannot see what is on the other side of a deeper darkness sphere.

I would agree with Coriat in the case of natural darkness, where it would not provide concealment behind it.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Serum wrote:
Two drow 80 feet from each other, with a 60 foot diameter globe of deeper darkness in the middle will have no problem seeing each other. They will not be able to see anything inside the globe.

Well, the deeper darkness spell has a radius of 60 feet (or a diameter of 120') so they both are in the globe. Does this change your answer?

Just trying to clarify.


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

As the subject states only here's an example:

Two humans are in a cave. They are 80' from each other and each has a lit torch but otherwise there are no light sources. Each human can see 20' around them, and they can see through the darkness to see each other and the other's 20' radius of torch light. Seems easy, right?

Now, replace the humans with drow (darkvision 120'). Each has a lit torch. But this time somebody cast deeper darkness in the middle (60' radius - lowers light 2 levels). Their own torchlight gets reduced from normal light down two steps to regular darkness which doesn't bother the drow but they cannot see beyond the 20' radius of the torches which is now considered magical darkness. Can they see through the magical darkness to see each other?

In other words does magical darkness work like a silence spell where nothing passes through the affected area or more like the human example above?

Thanks in advance for your responses.