Looking through the forums there seems to be quite a bit of back and forth on the price of Alchemical Silver Ammunition. For those of you who have read through the various threads you are aware of the arguments for 3gp vs 41gp for 20 arrows, yet nowhere can I find an official answer nor is there a FAQ relating to this issue. Since by it it's very nature it is a frequently asked question it would seem appropriate to have a FAQ response to this issue.
If someone wishes to post here in an official capacity, that would be great.. I am NOT attempting to start another tirade of back and forth on the issue... merely looking for the official answer on this. I run PFS games and would like to make sure these costs are being recorded correctly. Again, not looking for personal opinions or hearsay... just the official Paizo ruling on the issue.
This is an issue for all spellbook casters whether it is a Wizard, Witch, Alchemist or some other type of caster that uses a spellbook.
Hero Lab has added a new feature that tracks a 'free' spells and 'purchased' spells as separate things, this is actually quite cool. Free spells include those spells you start with and those spells you gain each level as you progress. They calculate your 'free' spells as a certain number of base spells, plus your stat, plus a number of spells per level beyond first.
This is all well and good.. until you add a bonus to your spell stat (in most cases INT). At this point it gets a bit squishy... and for Home Games this is no big deal.. the GM can decide whatever they please... 'starting is starting' or 'you magically gain extra spells as part of the stat increase' or 'you gain a new spell that's attached to the magic item that gives you the bonus' .. Any of those plans would be fine in a home game. But for purposes of PFS... what is the OFFICIAL Ruling. I've seen the official FAQ about Languages and Skills, but there is no mention about spells there. For PFS purposes, this really should be clear. Can we get an addendum to the FAQ regarding this?
The text for spellbooks clearly says:
A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook.
Are these additional spells gained in the same way that the wizard gains spells when he goes up a level?
How exactly does this work? A single line in the FAQ would clear this all up.
How do these two things work together if at all?
Building a Gnome Spirit Totem Barbarian and wondering if this belongs in his arsenal. It seems like it should be, based on the configuration of things... but.. Taunt is of relatively limited (to no) usefulness otherwise.
You can't use 'Bluff' while raging... unless you have a way around that.
I'm just not really sure how to make this concept work.
What happens if you switch Factions at Level 1? I know that you can completely rebuild your character.. what happens to the Fame and Prestige you earn?
On a related note... it is my understanding that Pregens get recorded as Grand Lodge... How does that work exactly when applied to a character who is say Liberty's Edge? How does this work at Level 1.. and how does this work at Level 7?
I haven't ever run into one... are there any out there?
My group is having a little friendly discussion about what the actual percentages of humans in the PFS might be... so I got to wondering about VCs... they pretty much all seem to be human.
Wait.. there's that elf guy.. the Master of Scrolls.. he's not exactly a VC though is he?
A character (a small gnome let's say) wants to cast a spell from the back of his large mount in combat..
I understand that if the Mount makes a FULL attack there is a Concentration Check involved.
I guess it might be easier to drop off the back of the mount and use it as cover... but it doesn't really look as cool.
Separate but related question:
I had a player submit a character for a PFS game with a bit of an oddity that I'm thinking isn't quite legal.
He says that his Eidolon has a 'hand' on the end of it's tail that lets him use skills like 'Disable Device' 'Sleight of Hand' and 'Use Magic Device'.
I'm not quite convinced he should be able to do this without taking the 'Arms' Evolution as there seems to be no other way to actually get a 'Hand'. Alchemists have an option for having one extra arm.. but not Eidolons.
He is level 3 so other GMs have let this slide and it is a fairly significant part of his Eidolon build, at least as far as it's skills go.
What is the concensus?
I'm looking at Military Saddles... and honestly.. the rules seem a bit incomplete in this area.
So my questions:
If this functions like worn gear for small creatures.. then
It is my understanding that GMs and Players can rerun/replay these starter games as long as they apply them to a new character each time.
We Be Goblins! is a Tier 1-2 module so it should legal for rerunning/replaying. What's the issue here?Is it a glitch or do you actually not get GM credit for rerunning these?
When a date occurs in a Module (like Crypt of the Everflame for example...) which states that the start of the module occurs on a specific date (Neth 4, 4709 AR)... should/can the GM modify this text to represent the current Campaign game year (4713) instead of the listed date? It has little/no impact on the storyline.. so it seems like for consistency it would be good to tweak it... even though GMs are not supposed to modify any of the info in a module or scenario.
How do you figure how much damage a regular thrown rock does?
Oh yes.. and I'm a Dwarf, therefore medium sized.
I ask about the PFS rules because they are somewhat more specific than regular PF RPG rules.
Does it do sling damage with a shorter range?
How does Mystic Theurge work as far as feat qualification?
What exactly is this box on the Chronicle for?
My understanding was that it was a player filled field for establishing the order of the player's chronicles.. basically redundant with total xp except in cases where the player obtains more than 1xp from a single chronicle (like in some sanctioned modules)... is this correct?
Is this right?
Based on the information in 'MotFF' and the 'First Steps' series it seems logical that you would run through them in that order.
'MotFF' assumes that you are 'not' officially Pathfinders at the start of the scenario and that you are introduced to a Pathfinder at the end who welcomes you into the society.
'First Steps' assumes that you are a novice Pathfinder but have not yet selected your faction until the end of 'Part 3'.
These seem to want to flow together into a nice story yet both sets of scenarios really want 'fresh' characters to play them.
I suggest that running them in the order of MotFF, P1, P2, P3 would get you a 2nd level Pathfinder with a faction and some consistent story with Absalom and the Pathfinders.
Other random Tier 1 scenarios and modules muddle this but it seems to make a good bit of sense when run this way.
It would be nice if MotFF actually added the appropriate amount of prestige/fame though. Kinda sucks to hamstring characters at the start.
I had this come up in a game last night and I'm wondering what the actual 'rule' is. We have always played that precise shot allowed you to ignore the -4 penalty for firing into melee. Last night the GM (one I hadn't played with before but who is an experienced PF GM ) ruled that you normally received a -8 penalty for firing into melee... -4 for 'cover' and -4 for firing into melee. Precise Shot only removed the 'firing into melee' piece. So you needed IMPROVED Precise Shot to reduce the penalty completely. Is this right? I thought the -4 for firing into melee WAS the penalty for cover.
What's the straight scoop?