Agave's page

1 post. Organized Play character for Dhjika.



1 to 50 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Scarab Sages

I'm scheduled to run this game early next month -

how do I get a copy of it (it didn't appear in my downloads like other 4/5 star games)

I'm told it takes a lot of prep time to complete.

Any help on the process is appreciated

Scarab Sages 5/5

+1/2 level to +1/6 level for oracles and bards is some change

but I gather since it is just a favored class bonus change - the only opportunity for rebuild is to change where the favored class bonus goes?

Scarab Sages 5/5

.... knows when such a spell or a spell-like ability has been cast withing 60 feet.

It is that last section about knowing when a spell or spell like ability is being cast - for 8k someone can get every school - and for 1k a fairly low level person could have one or two (conjuration allows one to tell if someone teleport/dimension door'ed vs turn invisible and find healing potions).

Do you have them ping all the time in cities or for PC casting or use? do you block the 60 range like detect magic or allow it to pick up monsters one is not likely to see for many rooms?

I had the first one recently and without pinging constantly it seemed like they picked out the spell like ability use with it quickly.

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

So when running this game (which is in the future for me because one of my online groups wants to go everything Osirion for their Core group)

Spoiler:
we open up Mythic items but only as they relate to Core powers/spells/etc?
or is this game completely not allowed in the Pathfinder Society Core campaign

Scarab Sages 5/5

Have I this correctly - that the only slot for magic items for animals/familiars will be the neck slot?

because all the rules governing more are elsewhere

?
TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

On my list of GM credit there are quite a number of GM - entries, where I repeated GMing a game. There is no character assigned because I didn't provide one, since I knew I could not apply the credit to a character without utilizing a star replay.

Do my total GM credits reflect those as zero (0 pt) or is the overall calculator still giving me GM credit for those games?

Should be providing a character number - like a unused one like a dead character or 99.

Or is this working as intended (as I get closer to 100 I wonder)

Thanks in Advance

Scarab Sages 5/5

It is a level 1-3 game - is it repeatable if you play 1st level characters only (like the 1-2 games are repeatable if you play 1st level characters only).

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

In my 5-8-14 additional resources the Spinosaurus was legal, but in a later it was not. I thought to look as what other ones might have gone away. I downloaded a new additional resources and compared.

For those of you who changed to an allosaurus from spinonsaurus, it is not on the list for legal animal companions (maybe for awhile - I looked on aug 2014 and it wasn't there either)

Scarab Sages

I see a lot of animal companions and eidolons with the Extra Traits feat - and it seems a majority of them were raised by halflings.

For a cleric with 0 channels (3 - 3 = 0) - can they take Extra Channels?

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

I am going to be running level 1 of Emerald Spire - and I was wondering for those who are running it or going to run it. If a party of all or most (race-redacted) are about to play - do you recommend a group change?.

I can tell you for me playing my (race-redacted) it might be frustrating enough not to finish - so I can see how it could be a frustrating game and take a lot longer - where a little warning and a change at 1st level would make the game more fun -

So how are other GMs handling the "Features of the Level" in respect to the (race-redacted) at level 1?

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

I am at a game two brand new people without ids and I did this before but for some reason I cannot find the location.

Thanks

Scarab Sages

I searched the existing threads and didn't find my answer, so while I hate to add another thread, I'd like to know before I purchase.

PFS does not require the Amulet to have the +1 enhancement bonus before adding other weapon enchantments

does that mean that not having the enhancement bonus, that the wearer of - for example - an Agile Amulet of Mighty First cannot hit incorporeal creatures because it is not a magic weapon? or does just wearing any Amulet of Mighty Fist conveys the counts as magic weapon property

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

On a chronicle sheet is an undead bane morning star or +2 full plate - is it exact copies of these items you can buy without requisite fame requirements or can you purchase an undead bane short sword or +2 breastplate instead (the unlock is the enchantment not the form).

Likewise is there is a +3 mithril chain shirt - can one use it to unlock from fame a +3 chain shirt that is not mithril?

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

I am looking for where among the Additional Resources it allows Clerics of Tanagaar to choose a subdomain - I've searched but i have not found. I know others have taken feather and fur subdomain of Animal, and while the Archon of owls seems obvious for feather, I'd like to find the authorization, as I had another character excluded when I could not provide documentation for an obscure character element.

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This rule was quoted to me this last weekend.

So if you had a 3rd level character and the game was going to be playing tier 6-7, you can't play a pregen 7th and apply that credit when a character gets to 7th level, but must apply it to a new 1st level character - because you had a character in level range for the mod?

Is this actually the rule? And can someone let me know where it is stated - or was I quoted the rule differently than it was.

I thought it was if you had a character in the level range being played not all the tiers of the game - but even that might not be right.

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

How are you handling dual-cursed oracle characters with the misfortune revelation?

I had a player tell me that he would invoke it the first time I rolled a 14 or higher on a saving throw - is this common?

(text - At 1st level, as an immediate action, you can force a creature within 30 feet to reroll any one d20 roll that it has just made before the results of the roll are revealed. The creature must take the result of the reroll, even if it’s worse than the original roll. Once a creature has suffered from your misfortune, it cannot be the target of this revelation again for 1 day.)

Also do you read this that if they do not take this revelation at 1st level they cannot take it later?

And is it a revelation that one can take in a Ring of Revelation? (if the first level is a requirement).

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

Can some one tell me where it says that alchemists can make alchemy item

Tia

Scarab Sages

He can't take an action

can it make a fly check to hover when dazed?

Does it fall to the ground - either hard or softly?

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

I am scheduled to GM Broken Chains a module in PFS for levels 5-7 and I am going to assign the credit to a character that is current 4th.

Does the credit get automatically assigned to the character when I hit 5th with that character or can I delay applying to the character until he is 6th so I can play some 1-5 games with him.

I also have some 7-11 credit on him - does that also automatically assign at level 7?

TIA

Scarab Sages

I had a recent game where the bad guy used a cloudkill on the party in an area difficult to leave (keeping it spoiler free).

A character near the center of the spell after the center point moved its first 10 feet, casts emergency force sphere.

So what should I have had done with that? I ruled that the cloud wasn't an coming out from the center point so he did not trap the cloud kill in his space but as the cloudkill moves on, does it open up a line of empty space in the spell behind his force bubble.

And if it happens again - say with a resilient sphere, how would you handle that?

Also on cloudkill, when it has no place to move - what happens? Say the caster of the spell was higher than the party so moving away puts the center point into the floor? Or in a small room, does the center point move to the wall and stop, or does it rebound?

(oh - and do you roll a 1d4 for each person, or everyone gets the same 1d4)

TIA

Scarab Sages 5/5

So when you report an event that took place online over more than one day - do you report the event as having taken place on the day you started the game or the day you handed out/emailed chronicle sheets?

TIA

Scarab Sages

The damage you do multiply like a weapon would?

TIA

Scarab Sages

Is a class that cast a spell spontaneously (such as a hedge witch, cleric, druid) count enough as a spontaneous caster to use Mnemonic Vestment?

I have seen in PFS people owning multiple of these 5K items - and they are so broken - I was hoping that I could get my hedge witch (who can sponataneously cast cure spells even if she doesn't know them) or cleric to use it to never lose expensive scrolls I've bought. Especially as they are cheaper than a Raise Dead scroll so once you bought one you or two you could raise several people at the table for no additional cost.

Scarab Sages 5/5

Now that the issue of evil spells making the caster evil, or chaotic spells making the caster chaos has been laid to rest in Pathfinder Society, might it be possible to get something official about what happens to the recipient of an evil spell?

QUite a few GMs will put a negative hit on good divine casters because they were the target of an evil spell - sometimes when their characters were not conscious - to the point of requiring an atonement. If CASTING an evil spell is not an issue, what about being the target of one?

TIA

Scarab Sages

When a critter uses a trample attack as the move trhough an area (and in this case I am thinking a big creature) - does having total concealment give a miss chance to be trampled - if the trampler does not know the concealed person is there, do they still trample them?

Also in the case of big trampler - as it moves trhough an area - can it choose not to trample it's friend or ally in the area of effect?

TIA

Scarab Sages

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

This has come up (as a side track) on a different thread, but it is important enough to my mind for its own query.

The rule book apparently says that Sorcerers who use metamagic rods get their spell cast time increased - but not any other spontaneous casting (such as oracles, clerics and cures, druid and summons, hedge witches and cures, bards, etc.)

Is there a rule out the that expanded it from sorcerers - or is it that it seemed 'obvious' to many GMs and it has been applied to all?

'A sorcerer still must take a full-round action when using a metamagic rod, just as if using a metamagic feat he possesses (except for quicken metamagic rods, which can be used as a swift action).'

tia

Scarab Sages

Can one voluntarily fail one's save so the titled spell works on you.

Scarab Sages 5/5

In the little that I have GM'ed there seems to be a lot of people with two magical traits - often gifted adept and magical lineage, or magical lineage and magical knack. And people say they had not heard of the rule, so perhaps it has been overturned.

If the rule is still in effect (I think it is, but now I am not sure) - do you let them choose which one they have - or allow them to choose a replacement trait and record that on the chronicle - or say both don't work - suggestions

And the Extra Trait feat - does that change anything about traits to take?

Tia

Scarab Sages

So I had a magus in a pfs game (2nd) - and he constantly used arcane mark in spell combat to get two strikes as it was a touch spell.

Does the spell used in spell combat have to be a combat spell or is this a viable way for magi to constantly get two attacks?

Tia

Scarab Sages

" it is reasonable for a GM to limit you to performing 5 free actions per round if each is a different free action, or perhaps 3 free actions per round if two or more are the same free action. "

So you can only draw three arrows in a round as free action - if I read that correctly

So when you draw more than one arrow at a time for Many Shot is that one free action or drawing two arrows two free actions?

TIA

Scarab Sages

previously my merciful healer bought a phylactery of Positive Channeling - recently, because the language of the device days it increases the damage done to undead in channeling by +2d6, I was told that I might not be allowed to use it because the character cannot do damage to undead through channeling (it also indicates the extra dice goes for healing - but the emphasis on the item is damage to undead.

Is this true, did I buy an illegal item for my character

TIA

Scarab Sages

If a character had a Familiar Satchel on his person (pg 64 Ultimate Equipment) with his familiar in it - and the character went invisible would the familiar also be invisible, or would it be visible but its satchel remain invisible?

If the former, when does the familiar come visible?

[This armored case provides total cover to any Tiny or smaller
creature contained within it. It includes air holes (which can be
plugged with cork stoppers if you need to go underwater) and
two receptacles for food and water.]

tia

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I GM a table with a cleric with a 5 charisma score. - my reading is that they get 0 channels per day. - 3 - 3 = 0

However it seems there is a strong feeling that 3 is the minimum

Do I have it wrong?

Tia

Scarab Sages

8 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The rules as written appears to not say that it does but it also says it does not, but many GMs say that it does and many others say it does not.

Is there an official ruling on it?

Tia

Scarab Sages 5/5

So, obviously from my lack of stars I am new at this Pathfinder GMing thing (if all the tables make - then I'll get my first at DragonCon (a con where 35000 people are not gamers).

Initiative for bad guys - I guess I should say opponents since sometimes it is the Pathfinders who are the bad guys.

I've asked around and I'd like the benefits of your suggestions and wisdom. Up to now I've had a different initiative for each opponent- i use pawns and each base is labeled and with a initiative each base has its strip, so it is not hard.

Do you actually roll the initiatives? I know of an excellent gm locally that just gives everyone an 11 and adds the bonuses. I talked to someone else narrows the range before adding modifiers - I don't remember exactly something like rolling a d20 like a d10 and adding 5.

So how do you do it, or suggest to do it. I'm likely to stick with an initiative per opponent because it is easier when things like readying and delaying forces groups in different direction, but the last game I went ahead and rolled and i rolled really high for three of the opponenents (an alchemist and two rogues) and the party suffered greatly before they even got to act - most definitely not fun for players.

Thanks in Advance,

Scarab Sages 5/5

14 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 4 people marked this as a favorite.
Dhjika wrote:


Since GenCon is over - I would like to petition the Arbiter familiar be added to the list of Familars that can use wands.

It has hands, for that matter in its stat block it uses a tiny short sword, so it can certainly manipulate objects.

It is an Inevitable - an extraplaner outsider - of the lawful variety

It has spell like abilities (detect chaos, make whole, protection from chaos, command, commune) and the ability of speech - indeed Truespeech

Arbiters are not the pound you in the face Inevitables, they are the persuasive stealthy sort. Diplomat being a descriptor and a Charisma of 14 to back that up.

I know there was a reason to limit the familiars that could use wands but that an arbiter has an equally good reason as other creatures on the list.

And after all - the companion of an arbiter familiar has to be arcane AND lawful - so how common is that?

Thank you for your time and consideration

Scarab Sages 5/5

I judged two games yesterday (Hydra Fang, Cybermage Dilemma - can you say deja-vu) and their were a pair of players with 4th level characters that claimed they had never been asked for the books or PDF for their powers.

I wanted to be clear - the person who is using the power needs to have the book or PDF (or copy of PDF if sharing a source with a family member). Or is it that someone at the table needs to have the book/pdf/copy?

I thought it was the former, but players at the table thought it was the latter. And I'm not at even 1 star yet.

These folk were strange because they didn't even know what book their powers were from - they just used a website that didn't include the book.

1 to 50 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>