Revenge of the FAQ Attack!

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Last week’s FAQ blog was so popular, we made a sequel!

In a world where FAQs run rampant...

What does “with” in the Special line for the Feral Combat Training feat (Ultimate Combat, page 101) mean for monks making a flurry of blows?

Normally a monk who has natural attacks (such as a lizardfolk monk with claw attacks) cannot use those natural attacks as part of a flurry of blows (Core Rulebook 57). Feral Combat Training allows you to use the selected natural attack as if it were a monk weapon—you can use it as one of your flurry of blows attacks, use it to deploy special attacks that require you to use a monk weapon, apply the effects of the natural weapon (such as a poisonous bite) for each flurry of blows attack, and so on.

The feat does not allow you to make your normal flurry of blows attack sequence plus one or more natural attacks with the natural weapon. In other words, if you can flurry for four attacks per round, with this feat you still only make four attacks per round... but any number of those attacks may be with the selected natural weapon.

Can I use Cleave (Core Rulebook, page 119) or Great Cleave (page 124) to cleave to or from an image created by a mirror image spell (page 315)?

No. If your initial attack hit the caster, you can’t cleave to an image as if it were an actual creature. If your initial attack hit an image, you failed to hit your intended target (the caster), and therefore can’t cleave. As you can’t specifically target an image (because you can’t tell the images from the actual caster), you likewise can’t aim for an image and try to cleave to another image.

Can I use magic missile (Core Rulebook, page 309) to destroy one or more images from a mirror image spell (page 315)?

No. Magic missile targets a creature and does not require an attack roll, so it bypasses all the images and always hits the caster.

Sean K Reynolds
Designer

More Paizo Blog.
Tags: Frequently Asked Questions Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
51 to 57 of 57 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Customer Service Manager

Fixed the markup. You can always view the formatting for text by clicking the "show" button next to "How to format your text" underneath the comment box.


Nice to have ruling on this. But I disagree with it. Cause is that not the point of Mirror Image? I believe but you have no idea which is the image and which is the caster so how do you target the caster and not an image. If you could tell the difference then you could just melee attack the caster just as easy. Also Mirror image is LV 2 versus LV 1 Magic missile. It should have the edge. Illusion magic is all about fooling others. The purpose of the spell in the description says it makes it difficult to precisely locate and attack the subject of the spell. MM says you have to designate a target to hit it but if you cannot tell which is the target then how do you hit it with magic missile? Not trying to pick a fight or start and argument especially since the rule has been handed down from on High. Just playing a little Devils advocate with some logic. That's my two cents worth and with that I step off my soap box.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

pssst

Revenge of the FAQ Attack!

Tuesday, February 14, 2012


Time is an abyss, causality has no meaning.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am making a killing in my Black Onyx gem cutting business lately...


(Riff Raff) It's astounding
Time is fleeting
Madness takes its toll...
(Magenta) Ahh...
(Riff Raff) But listen closely...
(Magenta) Not for very much longer...
(Riff Raff) I've got to keep control.
I remember doing the Time Warp.
Drinking those moments when
The blackness would hit me.
(Riff Raff & Magenta) And the void would be calling.
(Guests) Let's do the Time Warp again.
Let's do the Time Warp again.


GM Jazz wrote:
Nice to have ruling on this. But I disagree with it. Cause is that not the point of Mirror Image? I believe but you have no idea which is the image and which is the caster so how do you target the caster and not an image. If you could tell the difference then you could just melee attack the caster just as easy. Also Mirror image is LV 2 versus LV 1 Magic missile. It should have the edge. Illusion magic is all about fooling others. The purpose of the spell in the description says it makes it difficult to precisely locate and attack the subject of the spell. MM says you have to designate a target to hit it but if you cannot tell which is the target then how do you hit it with magic missile? Not trying to pick a fight or start and argument especially since the rule has been handed down from on High. Just playing a little Devils advocate with some logic. That's my two cents worth and with that I step off my soap box.

The spell says you swing at the caster, but you might accidentally hit an image. It never gives you the option to target an image. Since the spell is dictating interaction that is the only option you have. Also illusions are not foes. I explained in a LONG debate which I am more than happy to link to, and the ruling matched up exactly like I was telling everyone it would.

Also the spell was not made to stop spell, but only attack rolls. Balance will always be a factor. What's important is preserving how the spell works. You can always reflavor it so that the flavor matches how it works mechanically.

51 to 57 of 57 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Paizo Blog: Revenge of the FAQ Attack! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.