The Fall of Plaguestone

Game Master Eric Collins - France

The Fall of Plaguestone
Current Map
Loot & spoils of war


301 to 350 of 940 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>

Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

As far as I'm concerned, if a creature has Low Light/Darkvision, rules of concealment concerning hiding in low or no light are moot :P

"Humans can't see me, thus you cannot see me!"
"I can see you perfectly fine, actually."
"........huh."


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

That is what I believe too.
But it is not clearly explained as such.
The rules I know are, which I do think are as you just stated:

Quote:
Special senses grant greater awareness that allows a creature with these senses to either ignore or reduce the effects of the undetected, hidden, or concealed conditions (described in Detecting Creatures below) when it comes to situations that foil average vision.

_______________________________

And a bit of a retcon: the dogs might not be looking for Giggett.
Since they have imprecise scent, meaning they have to Seek to use their scent.
Thus it must be activated in a way.


Ok, so you tell us that I must end behind a crate if I want to stay hidden, and that Natsume also needs to do that?


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

No, I quoted the rules that are Cover (and Great Cover) and Concealment.

Dim light grants concealment.

So, you are maybe Stealthed (depending on the roll vs. Perception DC) since you are Concealed (but most probably not vs. people w. Low Light nor Darkvision).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Animals tend to have low light vision (Giggett is trained in nature) so I think I have to go to safety. Anyway, Giggett was not progressing recklessly, she was expecting wolves in this place, so, moving back once she sees something is the logical way to act.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

The rules are quite harsh.
Because you cannot even do multiple moves if not in a place where you can Hide at the end of your move.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Have to go
Will add minis of dogs
But they are in all four squares behind cage


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
You move at half your travel speed with your shield raised. If combat breaks out, you gain the benefits of Raising a Shield before your first turn begins.

So that means that if you are attacked before your first spot in the init' arrives, you have your Shield Raised--

--but then, you are so tired of having carried the shield up for 30 minutes, you cannot hold it 6 seconds more (!) and it drops when your spot in the init' arrives, and you must spend an action to get it back up?


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Rather, as I am moving at Half Speed out of combat, I'm using one Raise Shield and two Strides every six seconds until combat breaks out.

Once it's my turn, I can choose whether I continue to have my shield raised by spending an action on it (thus moving at 2/3rd speed in combat) or focus on other things!


What Natsume said. Holding your shield up takes an action. In my opinion, raising a shield means intercepting enemies attacks with it, it's an active defense, hence the action cost.


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Not often the PCs argue that they should have a harder time, but here we are ;D


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Just to argue for no use, which is the best argument:
I'm using one Raise Shield and two Strides every six seconds until combat breaks out.
That's 2/3rd speed, right? Not half.

But, more seriously, the only benefit is that, right: that if you are attacked in round 1 before your first init' turn comes up, you have your shield up.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Which is actually quite pleasant when you are the main frontliner. I really hate the concept of being downed before my initiative even come up, which happens a lot in PF1.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:
GM Wayfinder wrote:

Just to argue for no use, which is the best argument:

I'm using one Raise Shield and two Strides every six seconds until combat breaks out.
That's 2/3rd speed, right? Not half.

I'm using the other 1/6th to argue with the GM ;D

GM Wayfinder wrote:
But, more seriously, the only benefit is that, right: that if you are attacked in round 1 before your first init' turn comes up, you have your shield up.

Yep! Which also lets me Shield Block if needed.


Human Cleric 3| HP 32/32 AC 16| F +7 R +6 W +11| Speed 25| Perception +9 | Focus 1/1 | Heros Point 1

I’m not sure you can use reaction when you have not acted yet.


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:
Quote:
The GM determines whether you can use reactions before your first turn begins, depending on the situation in which the encounter happens.

So: up to the GM! If I were the GM in this case, and Natsume had her shield raised but hadn't acted in the encounter yet, I'd say:

-She can use her Shield Block reaction.
-She cannot use her Attack of Opportunity reaction (even with the spikes on her shield).

...Might be a lil arbitrary though.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
I’m not sure you can use reaction when you have not acted yet.

But Natsume has acted.

Interact to draw flail, Stride to cross the distance, Raise Shield


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Tamerius was talking more about the hypothetical, I believe :P


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Sorry, I see, I thought the comment was re. the AoO vs. the dog!
(and not vs. the Shield Block etc.)
Sorry, Tamerius
Now Asmodeus will strike me down


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Human Cleric 3| HP 32/32 AC 16| F +7 R +6 W +11| Speed 25| Perception +9 | Focus 1/1 | Heros Point 1

You believe right :P


My XP bar is stuck!!!!
A trap, 4 dogs, and no xp!!!!

:p


1 person marked this as a favorite.
SuperBidi wrote:

My XP bar is stuck!!!!

A trap, 4 dogs, and no xp!!!!

:p

It might mean that you are dead;) Maybe the fight with the dogs took a different turn than you believe it did ;)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

You are lost in a world of nothingness!

Experience THAT!


Forever level 1!!!!! Oo


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

770 xp
(the traps and the dogs being added)

Hallod hopes you to reach 1000 before you get to him
Then you go off and level and he can leave town


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

re. Avoiding Notice:

Quote:
If you’re Avoiding Notice at the start of an encounter, you usually roll a Stealth check instead of a Perception check both to determine your initiative and to see if the enemies notice you (based on their Perception DCs, as normal for Sneak, regardless of their initiative check results).

Do you guys read that as rolling ONE Stealth check, the results of which are used both for Init' and vs. Perception DCs?

vs. rolling two Stealth checks, one for Init' and one to check against Perception DCs.?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Good question! From the wording I’d say it’s rolled once; how well you’re hidden influences how well you can take the enemy by surprise, after all, and it wouldn’t do to roll drastically differently between the two.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

That's what I read, and did, just wanted to see if someone spotted something else.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Now idea if it is the player or the character who thinks this.
Find out about the creature.
Find out about the pond.
And, at worse, you will deal dis-honorable damage... or try to.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Can you keep discussion in the Discussion thread?

re. Swimming: you have to Swim [1 action] to not sink, even if you do not move - and only stay in place (end of turns after 1st turn, in water, sink 10 feet, if fail swim check).
Probably an easy Athletics check since the water is not moving.
If you attack something that is visible, above/out of the water, it might make subsequent DCs a little harder since you are thrashing around.
These rules apply for hitting stuff that is sticking out of the water (not under):
• You’re flat-footed unless you have a swim Speed
• You gain resistance 5 to acid and fire
• At the GM’s discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating
Then, if you want to hit something under water, not on the surface.
• You take a –2 circumstance penalty to melee slashing or bludgeoning attacks that pass through water
• Ranged attacks that deal bludgeoning or slashing damage automatically miss if the attacker or target is underwater, and piercing ranged attacks made by an underwater creature or against an underwater target have their range increments halved
• You can’t cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater


GM Wayfinder wrote:

Now idea if it is the player or the character who thinks this.

Find out about the creature.
Find out about the pond.
And, at worse, you will deal dis-honorable damage... or try to.

It's both the player and the character.

Finding out about the creature? What do I need to find?

And it's combat, I don't have time to lose bathing. And considering how swimming rules are punishing... Also, I realize that if I'm in the water, then Natsume and I won't be flanking as I'll be one square under her. So, I'll have to do something else.

I'm lucky, I can deal damage while flanking, I can deal electricity damage, and this monster is unflankable due to the situation and obviously lightning resistant :D


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

I wrote it before: that it is neither good RP, nor good strategy-wise, to metagame your player-knowledge into your character.
Especially when applying things from a different game.


Well, first, I don't know what player knowledge from another game. You seem to imply I know this monster. I don't have even the slightest idea of what it is.
Second, even if I had knowledge about the potential resistance of this monster, I would play it the same, as my character doesn't have my knowledge. The monster exhibit electricity => lightning resistant. It's as obvious as not trying to disarm it. I don't see where I'm doing some crazy guess?


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
Finding out about the creature? What do I need to find?

Recall Knowledge.

See if Giggett actually knows something.
Rather than using your game knowledge and passing it on to her.

Quote:
And it's combat, I don't have time to lose bathing.

Then do something else.

Quote:
And considering how swimming rules are punishing...

You lose one action out of three and 2 AC.

Not very punishing.

Quote:
Also, I realize that if I'm in the water, then Natsume and I won't be flanking as I'll be one square under her.

Rule-wise there is no mention of elevation at all.

Opposite sides, or corners. Line through. That is all.

Besides, anyhow, GM logic would be that you are fighting at the same level.
Unless you want to hit underwater.
PF is not great for 3D rules.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
But if Tamerius is able to make an unarmed attack, then it's technically flanking...

The rule is clear, unarmed attacks make you flank.

However, I am not sure Tamerius has a free hand since he is holding his two handed weapon, and his spell is only verbal.
What do you think Tamerius?

Not important here, since I counted it as flanking and it still misses.


Human Cleric 3| HP 32/32 AC 16| F +7 R +6 W +11| Speed 25| Perception +9 | Focus 1/1 | Heros Point 1

anyway flanking gives only the flat-footed condition.

Yes, I will have a free hand because I was ready to cast another spell if i had the actions to do it.


You don't need free hands to cast spells anymore (in case you didn't know).


Human Cleric 3| HP 32/32 AC 16| F +7 R +6 W +11| Speed 25| Perception +9 | Focus 1/1 | Heros Point 1

Depends on the spell or if its a touch spell.
But the rule is not quite clear...


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Also, an unarmed strike COULD be a kick.

Jussayin'.


Human Cleric 3| HP 32/32 AC 16| F +7 R +6 W +11| Speed 25| Perception +9 | Focus 1/1 | Heros Point 1

Rule’s changes are hard :p


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
You don't need free hands to cast spells anymore (in case you didn't know).

I believe that to be incorrect.

Spell casting depends on which components are in the spell.
What I read was that the Material component requires you to have a free hand to retrieve and manipulate a material component.
The Focus component requires you to either have a free hand to retrieve the focus or already have the focus in hand.
So 2 out of the 4 components require a free hand.

Quote:
Yes, I will have a free hand because I was ready to cast another spell if i had the actions to do it.

Can you guys try to state all your actions, to not have problems sometimes?

Release is a free-action, so no problem about doing it.
But if you do not do it, then you cannot flank.
And if you do do it, you then need an interact to get your 2nd hand on the weapon to use it again.
No problem here, because flanking or not it does not change things.
And I imagine you will be casting and not shooting.

But, if it becomes an issue, I will go with what you stated were your actions.
(in this case, no Release... although I imagine we are all looking for release!).


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
Also, an unarmed strike COULD be a kick.

Oh, yes! That's true.

The rules are that the damage and such listed in the Weapon list are for a fist, but that you can do an unarmed attack (Strike) with that fist or another body part.
Thus, finally, the biffle is PFS legal!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Human Cleric 3| HP 32/32 AC 16| F +7 R +6 W +11| Speed 25| Perception +9 | Focus 1/1 | Heros Point 1

My Monk's character idea is now playable!!!! >!<


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Someone's gonna have to clue me in on what a "biffle" is! As a Fighter, I should have knowledge of it.


Human Cleric 3| HP 32/32 AC 16| F +7 R +6 W +11| Speed 25| Perception +9 | Focus 1/1 | Heros Point 1

As a hint, I will say that only men can perform such a feat.
and that it's not PG-13


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Ah.


NG Male Dwarf (Strong-Blooded) Wizard 2 | HP 22/26 | AC 16 | F +6 R +6 W +7 | Perc +5 (Darkvision) | Stealth +6 | 20 ft. | Active Conditions: ---

lol


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

It is a French word, a portmanteau, combining the word "bite", which is the male superfluous appendage, and "gifle", which means to slap.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

We're not as clever over here. We just throw the two words together and call it a day.

But I ain't typing it out so you're gonna have to use your imaginations. :P

(But I can confirm ours ends in "slap")


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

The snake-slapper brought you 60 XP, pushing your total up to 830 XP.

301 to 350 of 940 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / The Fall of Plaguestone Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.