Wand of Bestow Grace & Alignment Emulation via UMD


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Hello all,

My initial thought was that this does not work but I’ve seen enough variation that I wanted to see what people thought of this and hopefully get a concrete answer.

Can a non good PC use a dc 30 UMD check to emulate a good alignment followed by a dc 20 UMD check to activate a Wand of Bestow Grace(item) on his or herself?

I’ve heard people say that other classes can’t use a wand of Bestow Grace since they do not have Divine Grace, that it says “on another good creature” in the spell description meaning you can’t use it on yourself.

Use Magic Device says, “Use Magic Device lets you use these items as if you were of an alignment of your choice. You can emulate only one alignment at a time”

So does this work, why or why not?


You can activate the wand using UMD. Technically you only need to activate the wand. I think a GM would be busting your balls if he required you to emulate alignment or class, but I could understand the argument so I wouldn't disagree.

However, UMD can't fool the spell cast. The target is limited to Good creature Touched. If the target isn't a good creature, or benefiting from a spell or ability that fools alignment checks the spell will fail.

A strict reading of UMD says it fools items. Being able to mimic an alignment for an hour is for the purpose of using items only. Otherwise you'd have people trying to use UMD to bypass detect alignment spells, anti-alignment spells such as Chaos Hammer, or bypass DR/alignment.

As a GM I wouldn't allow you to bypass a targeting restriction. If you could do that you'd have silly stuff like Mend being used to heal people, or walls.


You don't need the divine grace class feature to activate the wand, but the target must be a good creature (as in good alignment or the good subtype). UMD lets you trigger the spell; it doesn't change how the spell works. It'd be just like somehow having bestow grace on your spell list and casting it yourself (at the wand's caster level, of course).

Scarab Sages

blahpers wrote:
You don't need the divine grace class feature to activate the wand, but the target must be a good creature (as in good alignment or the good subtype). UMD lets you trigger the spell; it doesn't change how the spell works. It'd be just like somehow having bestow grace on your spell list and casting it yourself (at the wand's caster level, of course).

This is more or less how I see it, and what I posted on Discord.

I’m a little unsure whether you need divine grace or not, but I wouldn’t deny it at a table I’m gming because of that. It is a reason I don’t carry scrolls of it on my own characters that aren’t paladins and have high UMD. Because I don’t want to run into table variation over it.

I am sure that the target of a spell can’t use UMD to emulate an alignment, and at the point that the wand is activated you would then become the target and what your alignment is considered for activating the wand doesn’t matter. Only what your alignment actually is.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Wand of Bestow Grace & Alignment Emulation via UMD All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.