Intelligent Legendary Item spell use.


Rules Questions


Quote: "Spellcasting: This item allows its bearer to cast a limited number of spells as spell-like abilities. This ability can be taken more than once. Each time it’s taken, the bonded creature gains 5 points to spend on selecting what spells the item can cast. A spell costs a number of points equal to its level (minimum 1). The bearer can then activate the item to use each spell-like ability once per day. By spending double the cost, the bearer can use each spell-like ability three times per day. All spells must come from the same class’s spell list. No spell can have a level higher than the bonded creature’s tier. The caster level for these spells is equal to double the bonded creature’s tier. The save DC for these spells is equal to 10 + the spell level + the bonded creature’s tier."

Key words: "The bearer can then activate the item to use each spell-like ability once per day."

If a wizard adds cleric spells to the item are they then required to use "use magic device" to cast the spells?


No. These are spell-like abilities, not spell-trigger or spell-completion items. They just work.


blahpers wrote:
No. These are spell-like abilities, not spell-trigger or spell-completion items. They just work.

Tis what I was thinking. Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Intelligent Legendary Item spell use. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.