Overcharge + Overload Weapon


Rules Questions


As a mechanic, can I use Overload Weapon on a weapon that’s been Overcharged and receive the benefit of both?

The rules on page 72 look like this should work. To start, let’s all agree that you can’t use Overcharge on a grenade because a grenade doesn’t have a battery. Let’s also note that we’re discussing the Overload Weapon mechanic's trick and not the Overload class ability.

Here’s the scenario. I use Overcharge on a weapon. If used as a move action, the weapon’s "next attack" receives the benefit of 1d6 extra damage. Now I use Overload Weapon. I can “use the weapon as if it were a grenade”. It’s not a grenade though, it’s a weapon, with a battery, that’s been Overcharged. Does the damage dealt “as if it were a grenade” receive the bonus from the Overcharged weapon? If so, would all targets receive the damage or just 1?

Logically, I think it makes sense that if an Overcharged weapon exploded, the explosion would be more severe, maybe even say 1d6 more severe. Rules-wise, Blast and Line weapon properties prevent Overcharge in their weapon descriptions, but Explode does not. There are a number of Heavy Weapons that deal Explode damage that would receive the Overcharge effect then. That may not set a precedent though as this outlier case may just be overlooked.

To sum thing up, there doesn't appear to be anything preventing me from using Overload Weapon on an Overcharged weapon, but would it receive the benefit of both?

Any thoughts?


First off - thank you for being clear on the powers - the similarity of names in the mechanic abilities gives me headaches. :)

The scenario you outline has a few minor technical issues. First, the weapon has to be unattended (or with an ally) to do it as a move action. But Overload Weapon requires it to be in your possession, so now there's an action (move action I guess?) involved to pick it up.

But with that, you have a problem, since Overcharge only lasts until the start of your next turn. So if you "pull the pin" on the unattended weapon, then pick it up, you can't Overload Weapon on it until your next action, and the Overcharge has faded away.

You'd be better off Overload-Weapon-ing it on one turn, then do the Overcharge on the next turn which includes "an attack".

Regardless, it would be up to the GM if the Overcharge damage would apply to the exploding weapon. My instinct would be to say it does not. Or that it just blows up in your face. On the other hand, given the action economy of it (taking two turns and destroying a weapon) it might be fine. It seems inefficient to me and you could do more damage (granted, only to a single target) by just doing Overcharge for two turns.


Haha, you know Wingblaze, I actually deleted this caveat just before posting to keep the case more generic. Our campaign has 2 ysoki mechanics and we're splitting up the tricks to try more of them.

As for a singular mechanic, I believe that you are considered to be your own ally. As such, you can use a move action to Overcharge the weapon in your "ally's" possesion, and then your action to Overload it. It would have to be thrown on the next round however or lose the Overcharge.

Your suggestion of using Overcharge after using Overload Weapon is better for a single mechanic though as it frees up a move action. Assuming changing the order doesn't change any rulings, this is a better option.

In my case, changing the order would be needed. I need 2 turns, one to use Overload Weapon, and one to throw. The other mechanic would have to use Overcharge between those actions for it to still apply. This shouldn't be an issue though since we're both riding around on the same drone and the Overcharging mechanic is the passenger with plenty of free move actions.


Felix the Rat wrote:
Haha, you know Wingblaze, I actually deleted this caveat just before posting to keep the case more generic. Our campaign has 2 ysoki mechanics and we're splitting up the tricks to try more of them.

You are making my brain hurt. :)

Felix the Rat wrote:
As for a singular mechanic, I believe that you are considered to be your own ally. As such, you can use a move action to Overcharge the weapon in your "ally's" possesion, and then your action to Overload it. It would have to be thrown on the next round however or lose the Overcharge.

That's reasonable. I think the reason it's split the way it is relates to action economy and balance, not that *your* weapon is much different than *my* weapon.

Felix the Rat wrote:
In my case, changing the order would be needed. I need 2 turns, one to use Overload Weapon, and one to throw. The other mechanic would have to use Overcharge between those actions for it to still apply. This shouldn't be an issue though since we're both riding around on the same drone and the Overcharging mechanic is the passenger with plenty of free move actions.

Hm. Interesting. From a rules view, I don't see an issue. The actions plus the destruction of weapons and batteries seems to balance things out to me. From an efficiency point of view, I'm not sure why you'd want to unless you had clustered enemies and spare weapons, or were doing it as a dramatic one-off move. But that's me, and I'm the weirdo with the ecocortex instead of a drone.


Efficiency is the best part in my mind. My combat drone has a saddle for me and a bin for weapon drops that aren't worth selling. A medium combat drone can fit two small creatures with the saddle mod so both Ysoki mechanics can ride. The exocortex passenger has Overcharge and a lot of free movements to use it with. I only have small arms so Overload Weapon seems good damage-wise for me, I just can't use it faster than we're collecting drops.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Overcharge + Overload Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.