Undines and swimming in amour


Rules Questions

The Concordance

I was wondering something about the Undines from Advanced Races. Their section says they "can move in water without making Swim checks".

Does that mean they don't need to roll a swim check if they are in heavy armor that's imposing a dex penalty while in the water? Or over their encumbrance limit in the water?

Grand Lodge

Correct. He takes the encumbrance effects listed in table 7-5, including modifying his swim speed (because it is his speed: the Encumbrance by Weight section doesn't specify running speed as Encumbrance by Armor does), but there's no reason this in itself would require him to make a Swim check.

If the undine is over his heavy load to double his heavy load, he can only move 5 feet as a full-round action, as for land speed. If between double and 5 times his heavy load, he can only drag or push his load along the ground (buoyancy may be a favourable circumstance and mud may be an unfavourable one).

The Concordance

Starglim wrote:

Correct. He takes the encumbrance effects listed in table 7-5, including modifying his swim speed (because it is his speed: the Encumbrance by Weight section doesn't specify running speed as Encumbrance by Armor does), but there's no reason this in itself would require him to make a Swim check.

If the undine is over his heavy load to double his heavy load, he can only move 5 feet as a full-round action, as for land speed. If between double and 5 times his heavy load, he can only drag or push his load along the ground (buoyancy may be a favourable circumstance and mud may be an unfavourable one).

Thank you for your help. That makes a lot of sense.


Quote:
Undines and swimming in amour

When they are in love, they don't care. You will often see synchronized swimming then.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Undines and swimming in amour All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.