Metamagic Feats and Spell Storing


Rules Questions


I had a GM tell me that I couldn't use store an intensified Shocking Grasp inside a Spell Storing Weapon (Playing a magus, have the spell and the feat). I disagree, but will only be able to prove my point with something official.

There are a ton of posts on spell storing and meta-magic, although most seem to be on the use of meta-magic rods. I'm NOT asking about the use of meta-magic rods.

I'm hoping someone has a saved location for a post from a developer or an official errata.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

There is within PFS. A spell storing ring came out and a clarification was made.

If you have a spell of spell-level A and metamagic it up using a spell-slot of spell-level B then it takes up B spell-levels in the storage device {given B≥A}. Metamagic rules state the caster gets the worst option.


Shocking grasp leve: 1.
Intensified metamagic: +1 level.

Total level: 2

Max spell in a spell storing weapon: 3

No reason this doesn't work.


I agree, I even tried using this post to prove my point, but didn't get the green light:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2kty3?Spell-Storing-Metamagic-Rods#22

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

What you have is a people problem not a rule problem.
GMs (hopefully) are going to be right more often than the players, but all the time is an impossible thing (as the rules are intentionally vague at times). Telling US about it isn't going to do you any good as it's the other guys issue and he's not here.
Hopefully you've tried to talk to him.
Suggest your GM talk to other GMs and figure this issue out. This is a simple topic and not complicated.
Otherwise consider it some foible in his world and continue on or find another game. Just remember it is just a game and not reality or even close to reality. Nobody is gonna give you $1 if you're right.


bbangerter wrote:

Shocking grasp leve: 1.

Intensified metamagic: +1 level.

Total level: 2

Max spell in a spell storing weapon: 3

No reason this doesn't work.

And you need a Pearl of Power 2nd to regain the spell back. [It comes back with the metamagic on.]

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Metamagic Feats and Spell Storing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.