Clockwork construct shenanigans


Rules Questions


Hello all, I am running the last module of the shattered star campaign, but this rule question extends to clockwork constructs as a whole. On the clockwork entry on paizo, it states: "Turning the key counterclockwise has the effect of winding the machine down, though only a willing (or completely helpless) machine will allow itself to be unwound in this way, meaning either its creator or someone its creator has specifically designated can normally do so. Since each key is totally unique, construction of a new key (or bypassing a key entirely) requires a successful Disable Device check (DC = 20 + the clockwork's CR)."

In my game I have player who is a golemancer wizard and he is under the impression that RAW states you can jerry rig a clockwork with a successful disable device DC check and not only turn a clockwork off, but then turn around and turn it on again with another disable device check and make it listen to you as you would effectively be bypassing the need for a key. Ergo the recent conflict in the module has him salivating at the potential opportunity of jacking the final bosses army and I am wanting to confirm the RAW before saying yes or no. I just have a hard time figuring out if that's the case why any wizard would ever build a clockwork army when they are so easy to jack.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Why would a Construct obey whoever wound it up? That mere act does not make one the owner or creator. And intelligent Clockwork might be grateful, mind you. But that's about it.

Hotwiring a car does make you the legal owner.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ask him what the source is for the statement that he is making. Obviously what you quoted makes no mention of that. It also doesn't make any sense.


Joesi wrote:
Ask him what the source is for the statement that he is making. Obviously what you quoted makes no mention of that. It also doesn't make any sense.

This part of the same entry of clockwork:

"Only one who possesses a key to the clockwork can program it, but any commands given to the construct last until the clockwork is reprogrammed or destroyed."

If you can bypass the need for a key to wind it down/up what then keeps you from bypassing the key to reprogram it? It seems arguable at least to me by RAW but seems weird regardless. Furthermore, what keeps a wizard from studying the keyhole with some DC checks and casting major creation to create a key?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Clockwork construct shenanigans All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.