Venomous Strike


Rules Questions


The venomfist gets Venomous Strike ability.

Spoiler:
if she hits with her first unarmed strike in a round, the target must succeed at a Fortitude saving throw (DC = 10 + half the venomfist’s brawler level + her Constitution modifier) or take an additional amount of damage equal to the venomfist’s Constitution modifier.

At 4th level, a target that fails this save must succeed at a second saving throw 1 round later or take the same amount of damage again. This effect repeats as long as the target continues to fail its saving throws, to a maximum number of rounds equal to 1 plus 1 additional round for every 4 brawler levels the venomfist has. Unlike other poisons, multiple doses of a venomfist’s poison never stack; the more recent poison effect replaces the older one.

Maybe it's just a tired brain but I can't figure out something.

If I am lv4+ and hit and they fail my poison triggers and deals damage instantly and again at the beginning of my next turn right? And then I can punch and poison them again.
But what about lv8+ since it'll last for 2 rounds, if I attack and they fail and then I attack next round do I get to do the con damage instantly again or is it basically just extending the poison duration?


Nothing overrites the first sentence (the damage-on-hit part), so it stays true. When your target fails a save agains Venomous Strike, end the previous over-time effect affecting it, and then apply the abilitie's effects as normal.


Related questions, the wording on Venomous Strike says that if you hit on your first unarmed strike in a round...does this mean that if you have multiple attacks and the first attack misses you don't get a chance to apply the poison effects, even if a later attack lands? Or should it mean the first succesful attack triggers it? Additionally, what happens if you target two different opponents in the same round? (whether due to Flurry or Attacks of Opportunity) Would only the first opponent be susceptible or would it be the first attack against against all opponents?


The Combat Round wrote:

The Combat Round

Each round represents 6 seconds in the game world; there are 10 rounds in a minute of combat. A round normally allows each character involved in a combat situation to act.

Each round's activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds in order. When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.)

When the rules refer to a "full round", they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

It is up to your GM whether they are going to count "in a round" meaning the actual combat round which is between the highest and lowest initiative counts, or if they will will use your initiative count.

The only difference in "normal" situation is going to be if you AoO someone on a higher initiative count.

To answer your specific question, Venomous Strike only triggers on the first attack. Any subsequent attacks do not trigger venomous strikes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Venomous Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.