Tenebrous Spell usage clarification


Rules Questions


Hello everyone and sorry if this question has a very obvious answer, but I'm a relatively new player and got a bit confused by the wording of the metamagic feat "Tenebrous Spell".

Tenebrous Spell wrote:
When you cast a tenebrous spell in darkness or dim light[...]

My question is : is it the caster who has to be in the darkness/dim light ? Or the target of the spell ? Or both ?

This is me trying to make use of this feat even in an "open" place with too much light, by reducing light level by various means.
I was thinking of maybe casting darkness on my staff, so the light level around me drops enough to be able to benefit from my tenebrous spell (in the first case scenario). Or maybe use hungry darkness on my target then use my tenebrous spell on him (in the second case scenario).

But maybe it's indeed both the caster AND the target who have to be in the darkness ? Maybe this feat is intended to be used in naturaly dark/dim areas or at least small enough that a darkness spell would affect it all ?


I would say the caster would have to be in darkness, as the caster is weaving the darkness around them into the spell, as per flavor text.


Tenebrous Spell wrote:
When you cast a tenebrous spell in darkness or dim light[...]

Subject: you

Verb: cast

Not when the spell affects the target.

Therefore you must be in shade.

/cevah


Thanks guys :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Tenebrous Spell usage clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.