Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Touch attacks with spell-like abilities


Rules Questions


Can one cast a spell-like ability such as Touch of Darkness, hold the charge, then move into melee range and make a touch attack with that ability thus preventing an AOO?


Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I believe so, yes, as spell-like abilities follow the rules for spells except as changed by the spell-like ability rules (that say nothing about changing that).


Additionally I don't think you have to hold the charge at all. Unless I am mistaken, you can always move between taking the action to cast a spell and delivering the free touch it grants. Could be a 3.5 thing that didn't port over.


Correct! You can still move between casting and free delivery. I like to call it the "Amazon Prime" school of wizardry.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Touch attacks with spell-like abilities All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.