Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Advice on Criticals


Advice


I need some advice that’s clean cut and
doesn’t go down a rabbit trail.

A natural 20 is a crit but still need to confirm
and I understand the confrontation needs to be
Meets it beats it with the AC.

If you have a weapon that threatens a critical with
a 17-20, is 17-19 viewed as a critical like a natural 20?
And as I stated I know you need to confirm with the AC,
But is the 17-19 the same as a natural 20 given the
Critical range?


Close to the same. But the lower numbers only threaten a critical if your total to hit actually hits the target. Otherwise yes, still confirm as usual, but roll a number of damage groups (weapon plus static) equal to your crit factor.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Kirbdog wrote:

I need some advice that’s clean cut and

doesn’t go down a rabbit trail.

A natural 20 is a crit but still need to confirm
and I understand the confrontation needs to be
Meets it beats it with the AC.

If you have a weapon that threatens a critical with
a 17-20, is 17-19 viewed as a critical like a natural 20?
And as I stated I know you need to confirm with the AC,
But is the 17-19 the same as a natural 20 given the
Critical range?

No. Also, no.

It's all in the language.

First of all, a natural 20 is an automatic hit.
Second, a natural 20 also threatens to be a critical hit.
Those are two separate things.

Anything but a 20 is not an automatic hit. Other numbers may threaten critical hits, but only if they actually hit. The same logic applies to confirmation.

Say you have a +10 to hit, and a creature has AC 28.
If you roll a 20, you hit AND you threaten a critical hit. You then roll confirmation, which must be at least an 18 on the die to hit, regardless of any threat range. Rolling a 17 gives you a total of 27, which does not hit the AC, therefore would not confirm.

Hope this helps.


Thank you

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Advice on Criticals All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.