Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Symbol of Persuasion effect


Rules Questions


Dear All, I am new to this forum and would appreciate some help with a recent situation we have encountered in our ongoing campaign, recently we have triggered a Symbol of Persuasion trap and as anything critical, all the party failed the save, the outcome was something which according to some of us is against the rules this is what happened: after we triggered the spell the GM told us that 2 of our party decided to go on a different path taken by the other 3, obviasly spliting the party, and as any adventuring party knowes its BAD to spilt,

my question is this: Symbol of Persuasion workes as Charm person with the extra benefit of making it an area spell which as in this case can affect more than 1 target (so far so good) however can the targets effected be targeted with a different order as in our case 2 went left, and 3 went right.. as I see it those are 2 different commands and cant be embedded in 1 Symbol of Persuasion, all thoes that faild the save should suffer the same command all go left or all go right.

would appreciate any insight.
thanks

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Maps Subscriber

"Charm Person: This charm makes a humanoid creature regard you as its trusted friend and ally (treat the target's attitude as friendly). If the creature is currently being threatened or attacked by you or your allies, however, it receives a +5 bonus on its saving throw.

The spell does not enable you to control the charmed person as if it were an automaton, but it perceives your words and actions in the most favorable way. You can try to give the subject orders, but you must win an opposed Charisma check to convince it to do anything it wouldn't ordinarily do. (Retries are not allowed.) An affected creature never obeys suicidal or obviously harmful orders, but it might be convinced that something very dangerous is worth doing. Any act by you or your apparent allies that threatens the charmed person breaks the spell. You must speak the person's language to communicate your commands, or else be good at pantomiming."

The caster can issue as many orders as they like during the duration of the spell. If the party member believed splitting the party was a bad idea, the opposed Charisma check would come into play.


Bony^P wrote:
my question is this: Symbol of Persuasion workes as Charm person with the extra benefit of making it an area spell which as in this case can affect more than 1 target (so far so good) however can the targets effected be targeted with a different order as in our case 2 went left, and 3 went right.. as I see it those are 2 different commands and cant be embedded in 1 Symbol of Persuasion, all thoes that faild the save should suffer the same command all go left or all go right.

1: effect = a thing; affect = action. :-)

2: All affected were exposed to the exact same effect.
3: The effect could have stated going in two directions, but only the last spoken command would take effect.
4: This is a charm effect, not a dominate effect. The party is not under total control.

/cevah


Command: "Hey, you guys should really split up so you can search this place faster."

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Maps Subscriber
Cevah wrote:


1: effect = a thing; affect = action. :-)
2: All affected were exposed to the exact same effect.
3: The effect could have stated going in two directions, but only the last spoken command would take effect.
4: This is a charm effect, not a dominate effect. The party is not under total control.

/cevah

Except no. The symbol does not have any commands embedded in it. It just allows the caster to then treat the folk who fail the save as charmed, and start issuing as many commands to all, some, or one of them as the caster sees fit. The caster could certainly tell some characters to go one way and other characters to go another way as long as they failed the save and the spell duration had not elapsed.

If the commands the caster issues tries to convince someone to do anything they wouldn't ordinarily do, like splitting the party, then there is an opposed charisma check.

Symbol of Persuasion:

This spell functions like symbol of death, except that all creatures within the radius of a symbol of persuasion instead become charmed by the caster (as the charm monster spell) for 1 hour per caster level.

Unlike symbol of death, symbol of persuasion has no hit point limit; once triggered, a symbol of persuasion simply remains active for 10 minutes per caster level.


Amazing what you learn when you read the spell.

/cevah

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Symbol of Persuasion effect All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.