Large Double Hackbut


Rules Questions


Hi everybody!
I'm looking at making a whacky build which involves using a large double hackbut. Unfortunately, the rules in regards to the size increase come across as unclear.
For one thing, a small double hackbut is a 2d10 weapon, but increases to 2d12 for some reason, when usually a 2d10 weapon increases to 4d8. This is a bit confusing.

There is precedent for converting 1d12 to 2d6, however it is effectively a houserule or fiat to use this as it is a throwback to old school D&D where each 1d12 could just be converted to 2d6 and then adjusted. This would make a large double hackbut 6d6 (2d12 converts to 4d6, then size increases to 6d6).

Some opinions would be quite appreciated.

The Exchange

That D&D damage conversion sounds like a house rule, I do not remember it as RAW in any edition.

The general consensus is 6D6 damage for the large Pathfinder Hackbut.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2mm5y?Damage-for-a-largecategory-double-hackbut


http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9t3f

So yes, 6d6 is correct.


I wanted to be sure rather than just say "Eh it worked this way in 3.5" and rocking up to the table with a character wielding a large double hackbut like a goofball.

Cheers for the input you two.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Large Double Hackbut All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.