Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Major creation and traps


Pathfinder RPG General Discussion


So I've looked around and haven't seen a definitive answer to the specific question I have.

so let's say I use major creations on a creationist school wizard of 12th level as a standard action and have a +28 to craft trap.

so according to the chart that should mean I can make a cr 16 trap on guaranteed in combat.

so let's say the trap I make according to the trap making chart is an arrow launcher trap that shoots large sized arrows at +5 str for an average damage of 10.5 per arrow launched.

so let me stat out the trap

Adamantine arrow launcher

perception 15 -1 cr
disable - 25 +1 cr

attack bonus +20 +2 cr
automatic reset +1 cr

shoots 11 1d10+5 arrows per round (avg damage 115.5) +12 cr
trigger manual + 0cr

total CR - 16

so after using my standard to create it pointing in the direction of the enemies, i can use my move to activate the trap having it fire.

so after all that, I'm unclear if it's possible to do it but I don't see anything in major creation that would say I can't, and from what I've read most people accept using major creation to create traps.


Sure, apart from the 10 minute casting time. Must be a long combat.


Greater shadow conjuration lets you do it as a standard action next level, although it only does 60% damage to anyone who makes the save to disbelieve.


Creator's Will is an SLA that lets you cast Minor Creation or Major Creation as an SLA. Whether you can use that to make an item made out of multiple different things is debatable, I suppose, but in the case that it can, this scheme would appear to be possible, yes.

Otherwise I don't know that an all-adamantine arrow-launcher, specifically, would be feasible, but something should be workable.


Coidzor wrote:

Creator's Will is an SLA that lets you cast Minor Creation or Major Creation as an SLA. Whether you can use that to make an item made out of multiple different things is debatable, I suppose, but in the case that it can, this scheme would appear to be possible, yes.

Otherwise I don't know that an all-adamantine arrow-launcher, specifically, would be feasible, but something should be workable.

since the CR is based on damage output it could be shooting over sized ninja stars as easily as arrows i suppose which makes more sense then bolts I suppose.

as for he other comments I apologize for no being specific enough, creators will is part of the creation school, it allows you to use major creation and minor creation several times per day as a standard action.


Unfortunately there are no hard and fast rules on what you can and cannot do with the creation spells. Check with your GM on what is and is not allowed. Some GMs allow objects made of different materials, some do not.

Much comes down to what an object is. Is the ammunition part of the object, or separate? Again, it comes down to what the GM will allow you to do.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / General Discussion / Major creation and traps All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.