SFS 1-08 Sanctuary of Drowned Delight


GM Discussion

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Questions on one of the chronicle boons:

Spoiler:
Morlamaw Admittance (Personal Boon; Limited Use): During your mission to the world of Arniselle, you encountered a group of local lifeforms called morlamaws and convinced them to assist the Starfinder Society. Some of those morlamaws look to you as inspiration and intend on leaving their homeworld and eventually joining the Society. You can use this boon only if your character has a Reputation Tier of 3 with the Wayfinders faction or a Reputation Tier of 4 with other factions.

Particularly this sentence:
Quote:
You can use this boon only if your character has a Reputation Tier of 3 with the Wayfinders faction or a Reputation Tier of 4 with other factions.

1. Does this mean you can only receive this boon if your character meets those requirements or can only use this boon once your character reaches one of those Reputation Tiers?

2. Does "Reputation Tier of 4 with other factions" mean all-factions Reputation Tier 4 (sum of reputation) or reaching Reputation Tier 4 with an individual faction other than Wayfinders?

Yes, I know the first one is being pedantic. You haven't met all of my players.

* Starfinder Society Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

1. No, you benefit from this when your character reaches that Tier, regardless of when they receive this Chronicle sheet.

2. Sum of all factions, as per how All Factions is handled in the Guide. So if you specialized in Wayfinders, you get it early. Otherwise, you get it when you hit Tier 4 overall.

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey, scenario author here! I'll definitely be watching this thread if there are any questions that I can help with. I'll be running this one many, many, many times myself, so I'll also chime in with anything I notice in my own games.

Scarab Sages ** Venture-Agent

Just finished my first read through and I really like it. First off I love the Morlamaws. Second the fact that they're worshiping Zon-kuthon is awesome. I'm really looking forward to playing up the creepy, unnerving cult vibe. Kate will one of the many, many times you run this be at the Bookwyrm con in Fresno? I'm hoping to make it up there, and would love to play on your table.

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

It is, yes!

The Exchange * ⦵⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Alright, I've done my initial read through and I have some questions.

1) "A PC who learns this information knows where on Absalom Station to purchase underwater weapons (Starfinder Alien Archive 69.) While such weapons generally cost 10% more than a regular version of the weapon, a PC who succeeded at this check can purchase such weapons at the base weapon’s normal price—many kalo manufacturers on Absalom Station are on good terms with the Manta Corps and want to help however they can."

I assume that this effect lasts only for this scenario since it is not on the chronicle, is that correct? Secondly, can a GM take advantage of this discounted purchase price when purchasing items after the scenario has been run (but before another scenario credit has been applied to the character.)

2) The underwater special property states, "Underwater: A weapon with this special property that is used underwater ignores the –2 penalty to attack rolls and deals full damage."

In the underwater rules section it states that "Most attacks made underwater take a –2 penalty and deal half damage. Attacks that deal fire damage do only one-quarter damage. Attacks that deal electricity damage take a –4 penalty rather than a –2 penalty...Thrown weapons are ineffective underwater, even when launched from land."

How does the underwater special property interact with weapons which deal fire damage or electrical damage. Do they deal full damage instead of one quarter or half, do they both take no penalty to attack rolls?

What about thrown weapons, there's several places where an underwater starknife is listed, does an underwater thrown weapon ignore the last sentence, "Thrown weapons are ineffective underwater, even when launched from land."

I understand that these are general rules as the handout is basically cribbed verbatim from page 405, but its not cleared up by the underwater special property completely, so I figured I would ask here.

3) Not exactly a scenario question but since this hasn't been out for that long I figured I'd ask here as to avoid spoilers on the main forum. Morlamaw have the following "Cold Resistance: Morlamaws are accustomed to swimming in icy water and have cold resistance 5." Is this intended to stack with one other form of cold resistance as Shobhad and Ryphorians does, or is this meant to only be greatest applies.

That's all I have for right now but will continue to read.

* Starfinder Society Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Shaudius wrote:

Alright, I've done my initial read through and I have some questions.

1) "A PC who learns this information knows where on Absalom Station to purchase underwater weapons (Starfinder Alien Archive 69.) While such weapons generally cost 10% more than a regular version of the weapon, a PC who succeeded at this check can purchase such weapons at the base weapon’s normal price—many kalo manufacturers on Absalom Station are on good terms with the Manta Corps and want to help however they can."

I assume that this effect lasts only for this scenario since it is not on the chronicle, is that correct? Secondly, can a GM take advantage of this discounted purchase price when purchasing items after the scenario has been run (but before another scenario credit has been applied to the character.)

This effect only lasts for the scenario and you can note the purchase on your Chronicle sheet, indicating the 10% discount as part of the scenario. GMs can also take advantage of this between scenarios if they so choose.

As for the other questions, those aren't strictly related to the scenario and should probably get asked to the Starfinder Design Team in the rules forum!

The Exchange * ⦵⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Follow up question: "A PC who learns this information knows where on
Absalom Station to purchase underwater weapons (Starfinder
Alien Archive 69.) While such weapons generally cost 10% more
than a regular version of the weapon, a PC who succeeded at this
check can purchase such weapons at the base weapon’s normal
price"

The way this is worded seems to imply that only the PC who makes this Culture check can obtain the discount, is this the correct interpretation or can anyone purchase if one PC makes this check. I'm not sure that it matters a ton since anyone can take 20 on this Culture check if they have access to the Absalom Station infosphere but in case they don't realize/don't want to.

* Starfinder Society Developer

Should be available to ANY PCs as long as at least one PC makes the check.


how do you know if you are tier 3 with a faction? i am a wayfinder and am level 5 almost 6 so dont know how to figerout my tier. and where are the race stats for the Morlamaw?

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

korinthmalar wrote:
how do you know if you are tier 3 with a faction? i am a wayfinder and am level 5 almost 6 so dont know how to figerout my tier.

Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide 1.0 page 24. It depends on your reputation with that faction, not your character level.

Quote:
and where are the race stats for the Morlamaw?

If you succeeded on that part of the mission your GM should have given you a sheet with the Morlamaw’s stats and abilities on it. (It’s an additional page in the scenario pdf.)

Shadow Lodge **** Venture-Captain, California—San Francisco Bay Area South & West aka JohnF

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I've just been watching a table of players (including my wife) here at DunDraCon thoroughly enjoying themselves playing through this, with Kate as their GM. They're still playing, but I have no hesitation in recommending this scenario to everybody (especially if you are lucky enough to have Kate run it for you).

*

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Just reading through this one and prepping for a couple of weeks. Those poor Manta Corps! I liked them, but I also like the surprise in store for the PCs. I do have to admit it seems a bit strange that the SFS would send a team of 4-6 landlubbers to an aquatic world to investigate the disappearance of 4 elite experts on aquatic combat/exploration operations, but I'm willing to suspend disbelief :)

Grand Lodge *** ⦵⦵

korinthmalar wrote:
how do you know if you are tier 3 with a faction? i am a wayfinder and am level 5 almost 6 so dont know how to figerout my tier. and where are the race stats for the Morlamaw?

You need 25+ Reputation with the Wayfinder faction; assuming you're level 5, nearly 6, just go back and add up the rep you've earned on your previous Chronicle sheets. If it's 25+, congratulations! If not, play a few more games, then congratulations!

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jhaeman wrote:
Just reading through this one and prepping for a couple of weeks. Those poor Manta Corps! I liked them, but I also like the surprise in store for the PCs. I do have to admit it seems a bit strange that the SFS would send a team of 4-6 landlubbers to an aquatic world to investigate the disappearance of 4 elite experts on aquatic combat/exploration operations, but I'm willing to suspend disbelief :)

I was sad about the Manta Corps too. Regarding the PCs going on this mission, Fitch alludes to this briefly, but the PCs are among the most experienced agents that the Society has available to send on assignments. (This is only the second 3-6!) They probably do have more aquatic agents they could send, but they went for overall power and experience instead since they now suspect the planet to be dangerous.

Dark Archive *

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I think that's the big disconnect people tend to forget right now. You're right - if it were up to the Society, they wouldn't send a party of L3-L6 characters, after their aquatic combat experts went dark. But every team they had ready to go (and a few they didn't) went into the Scoured Stars, and your team is what we have available for the mission at hand.

You go to war with the army you have, not the army you want.

* Starfinder Society Developer

5 people marked this as a favorite.

Just wait until people see the PCs as complete rock stars when we start hitting Tier 5-8!

Dark Archive *

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Given that the icon theme is in the game, possibly literally rock stars!

***** Venture-Captain, Georgia—Savannah

Kate Baker wrote:
Hey, scenario author here! I'll definitely be watching this thread if there are any questions that I can help with. I'll be running this one many, many, many times myself, so I'll also chime in with anything I notice in my own games.

I have a minor question about their creature type.

Why are they designated 'monstrous humanoids'? I get the 'monstrous' part, despite their being utterly adorable. But outside of basic bilateral symmetry, which most mammals share, there's really nothing 'humanoid' about them. There must be a good reason for the designation....

(BTW, I tried to put that behind a 'spoiler' tag, just in case, but the How To Format Your Text button hasn't worked for me since the website update.)

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

The creature types are laid out in Pages 132-133 of Alien Archive if you want to see the definitive characteristics. I went with Monstrous Humanoid since the other aquatic creatures I was comparing to had that designation (kalos and wrikreechees). Other examples are formians, haans, and shobhads. I felt like the morlamaws fit that group better than Magical Beast, which includes urogs, electrovores, and crest-eaters, and don't seem to really wear clothes or use weapons, though they can certainly be intelligent.

Things that do look more human-y, like verthani, sarcesians, and ryphorians get the Humanoid type instead.

Scarab Sages ** Venture-Agent

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah that button hasn't worked for me recently either Amanda. You can find all the format instructions using the link to the FAQ right above the non-functional button. Its located under messageboard questions.

***** Venture-Captain, Georgia—Savannah

Kate Baker wrote:
I went with Monstrous Humanoid since the other aquatic creatures I was comparing to had that designation (kalos and wrikreechees).

Fair enough. :-)

Thanks for the quick response!

*

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Regarding underwater weapons: since they appear in Alien Archive, are only players who have the book allowed to buy them? (I would assume an in-session waiver might be appropriate, but then there's the issue of what happens to the weapon afterwards if they don't have the book and decide not to get it).

*

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Just noticed that Teltham's tactics talk about him using mystic cure on himself, but under his spells listed, he doesn't have that. I'm going to give my PCs the benefit of the doubt and assume he doesn't have it, unless told its omission is a mistake.

Liberty's Edge * ⦵⦵

Starfinder Superscriber
Jhaeman wrote:
Just noticed that Teltham's tactics talk about him using mystic cure on himself, but under his spells listed, he doesn't have that. I'm going to give my PCs the benefit of the doubt and assume he doesn't have it, unless told its omission is a mistake.

I noticed that too. I found it strange that he's the only Morlamaw in the scenario who doesn't have Mystic Cure, so I assumed he was intended to have the first tier of the spell and cast it once.

I'd love a clarification on this before running the scenario again.

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

Yup, that is definitely a discrepancy!

Speaking solely as another GM and with no particular authority here, I've been running him with his spell list as published.

Scarab Sages **

I recently ran this and ran into an interesting interaction between the Morlamaw's Skewer special ability and Attacks of Opportunity.

The PC's were moving to get away from the melee Morlamaw's so they provoked attacks quite often. This triggered the skewer effect. What happens when they are skewered exactly, are they moved closer and that movement attempt ends? Or are they moved closer but can continue movement after getting moved closer. I ran it as a opposed strength roll, if the PC won the strength roll they could continue moving after they were pulled back, if not they ended the movement adjacent to the Morlamaw. I also noticed that the morlamaws can chain together skewers to move creatures quite effectively as a group. I had two of them pop a Haan PC out of an airlock for a couple rounds.

I guess the succinct question is whether the skewer ability stops movement.

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

Oh, interesting, I haven’t had that come up yet! Personally, i wouldn’t have it stop the move action, but it would effectively waste one square of movement, which can be a lot if the battle is underwater!

Liberty's Edge * Venture-Lieutenant

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kate Baker wrote:
Hey, scenario author here! I'll definitely be watching this thread if there are any questions that I can help with. I'll be running this one many, many, many times myself, so I'll also chime in with anything I notice in my own games.

I really enjoyed playing in this!

Wayfinders *

Zenithar wrote:

I recently ran this and ran into an interesting interaction between the Morlamaw's Skewer special ability and Attacks of Opportunity.

The PC's were moving to get away from the melee Morlamaw's so they provoked attacks quite often. This triggered the skewer effect. What happens when they are skewered exactly, are they moved closer and that movement attempt ends? Or are they moved closer but can continue movement after getting moved closer. I ran it as a opposed strength roll, if the PC won the strength roll they could continue moving after they were pulled back, if not they ended the movement adjacent to the Morlamaw. I also noticed that the morlamaws can chain together skewers to move creatures quite effectively as a group. I had two of them pop a Haan PC out of an airlock for a couple rounds.

I guess the succinct question is whether the skewer ability stops movement.

I am the character that Zenithar is talking about. My Envoy, Haan the Solo, had a fun time using Dispiriting Taunt to prevent AOO and move around the 2 guards I had around me.

But with the haan being large, should the Morlamaw's skewer actually moved me out of the air lock? I advanced the point that because I could brace across the 5' doorway, I could not be pull out, but the GM determined I could be moved.

Was the GM correct?

Great fun by the way. Zenithar did a great job!

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

Haan the Solo wrote:

But with the haan being large, should the Morlamaw's skewer actually moved me out of the air lock? I advanced the point that because I could brace across the 5' doorway, I could not be pull out, but the GM determined I could be moved.

Was the GM correct?

Great fun by the way. Zenithar did a great job!

Awesome alias!

Really, this is just one of those corner cases that a GM has to adjudicate at the table, which effectively means however the GM rules is correct. I think it would be reasonable to rule it either way.

And I'm glad to hear that people had fun playing!

Liberty's Edge * Venture-Lieutenant

Kate Baker wrote:
Awesome alias!

Thanks. When I thought of it after I earned the boon at GenCon 2017, I ran it by Hmm and she like it too.

While playing this table, we introduced our characters. Someone who was playing a completely different game at the game store we were at came over and said that he really likely my character name and background!

Kate Baker wrote:

Really, this is just one of those corner cases that a GM has to adjudicate at the table, which effectively means however the GM rules is correct. I think it would be reasonable to rule it either way.

And I'm glad to hear that people had fun playing!

Fair enough. Hopefully something that can be considered in the future as a large player character is not a common character.

Silver Crusade ***** ⦵⦵ Venture-Captain, Indiana—Bloomington aka CanisDirus

Quick question about Appendix #2 on page 21:

Throughout the scenario, all morlamaws are presented with the "Skewer (Ex)" ability, but not on this page. Is this intentional? If so, is there a recommendation on what to tell players who inquire about this after chronicle sheets have been handed out?

Thanks!

Lantern Lodge ****

Quick question about Teltham.
On page 13/14 - his full stat block shows him at LN
However on page 15 under event 1, he is listed as NE.
Given he is her favored follower it would make sense if he was NE.
Event 5 on page 18 also make it look like he is more in the NE camp.

It does make a bit of a difference in how he is played (and how far into the cult he has sunk, which is apparently pretty far).

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

3 people marked this as a favorite.

I didn't write the playable morlamaw, but I imagine that was intentional. There are definitely examples of PC versions of creatures not getting all of the monster abilities in Alien Archive, such as Grays not getting Probe or Sleep Paralysis and Formians not getting Death Grasp.

Teltham is quite dedicated to Oshessa and Zon-Kuthon; I've been role-playing him more on the evil side.

***

2 people marked this as a favorite.

For Morlamaw minis, I'm using Set of 12 mini manatees for $12 with poker chips for bases.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / SFS 1-08 Sanctuary of Drowned Delight All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.