Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

SFS 1-08 Sanctuary of Drowned Delight


GM Discussion

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Questions on one of the chronicle boons:

Spoiler:
Morlamaw Admittance (Personal Boon; Limited Use): During your mission to the world of Arniselle, you encountered a group of local lifeforms called morlamaws and convinced them to assist the Starfinder Society. Some of those morlamaws look to you as inspiration and intend on leaving their homeworld and eventually joining the Society. You can use this boon only if your character has a Reputation Tier of 3 with the Wayfinders faction or a Reputation Tier of 4 with other factions.

Particularly this sentence:
Quote:
You can use this boon only if your character has a Reputation Tier of 3 with the Wayfinders faction or a Reputation Tier of 4 with other factions.

1. Does this mean you can only receive this boon if your character meets those requirements or can only use this boon once your character reaches one of those Reputation Tiers?

2. Does "Reputation Tier of 4 with other factions" mean all-factions Reputation Tier 4 (sum of reputation) or reaching Reputation Tier 4 with an individual faction other than Wayfinders?

Yes, I know the first one is being pedantic. You haven't met all of my players.

* Starfinder Society Developer

1. No, you benefit from this when your character reaches that Tier, regardless of when they receive this Chronicle sheet.

2. Sum of all factions, as per how All Factions is handled in the Guide. So if you specialized in Wayfinders, you get it early. Otherwise, you get it when you hit Tier 4 overall.

** Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey, scenario author here! I'll definitely be watching this thread if there are any questions that I can help with. I'll be running this one many, many, many times myself, so I'll also chime in with anything I notice in my own games.

Scarab Sages ** Venture-Agent

Just finished my first read through and I really like it. First off I love the Morlamaws. Second the fact that they're worshiping Zon-kuthon is awesome. I'm really looking forward to playing up the creepy, unnerving cult vibe. Kate will one of the many, many times you run this be at the Bookwyrm con in Fresno? I'm hoping to make it up there, and would love to play on your table.

** Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

It is, yes!

The Exchange ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Alright, I've done my initial read through and I have some questions.

1) "A PC who learns this information knows where on Absalom Station to purchase underwater weapons (Starfinder Alien Archive 69.) While such weapons generally cost 10% more than a regular version of the weapon, a PC who succeeded at this check can purchase such weapons at the base weapon’s normal price—many kalo manufacturers on Absalom Station are on good terms with the Manta Corps and want to help however they can."

I assume that this effect lasts only for this scenario since it is not on the chronicle, is that correct? Secondly, can a GM take advantage of this discounted purchase price when purchasing items after the scenario has been run (but before another scenario credit has been applied to the character.)

2) The underwater special property states, "Underwater: A weapon with this special property that is used underwater ignores the –2 penalty to attack rolls and deals full damage."

In the underwater rules section it states that "Most attacks made underwater take a –2 penalty and deal half damage. Attacks that deal fire damage do only one-quarter damage. Attacks that deal electricity damage take a –4 penalty rather than a –2 penalty...Thrown weapons are ineffective underwater, even when launched from land."

How does the underwater special property interact with weapons which deal fire damage or electrical damage. Do they deal full damage instead of one quarter or half, do they both take no penalty to attack rolls?

What about thrown weapons, there's several places where an underwater starknife is listed, does an underwater thrown weapon ignore the last sentence, "Thrown weapons are ineffective underwater, even when launched from land."

I understand that these are general rules as the handout is basically cribbed verbatim from page 405, but its not cleared up by the underwater special property completely, so I figured I would ask here.

3) Not exactly a scenario question but since this hasn't been out for that long I figured I'd ask here as to avoid spoilers on the main forum. Morlamaw have the following "Cold Resistance: Morlamaws are accustomed to swimming in icy water and have cold resistance 5." Is this intended to stack with one other form of cold resistance as Shobhad and Ryphorians does, or is this meant to only be greatest applies.

That's all I have for right now but will continue to read.

* Starfinder Society Developer

Shaudius wrote:

Alright, I've done my initial read through and I have some questions.

1) "A PC who learns this information knows where on Absalom Station to purchase underwater weapons (Starfinder Alien Archive 69.) While such weapons generally cost 10% more than a regular version of the weapon, a PC who succeeded at this check can purchase such weapons at the base weapon’s normal price—many kalo manufacturers on Absalom Station are on good terms with the Manta Corps and want to help however they can."

I assume that this effect lasts only for this scenario since it is not on the chronicle, is that correct? Secondly, can a GM take advantage of this discounted purchase price when purchasing items after the scenario has been run (but before another scenario credit has been applied to the character.)

This effect only lasts for the scenario and you can note the purchase on your Chronicle sheet, indicating the 10% discount as part of the scenario. GMs can also take advantage of this between scenarios if they so choose.

As for the other questions, those aren't strictly related to the scenario and should probably get asked to the Starfinder Design Team in the rules forum!

The Exchange ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Follow up question: "A PC who learns this information knows where on
Absalom Station to purchase underwater weapons (Starfinder
Alien Archive 69.) While such weapons generally cost 10% more
than a regular version of the weapon, a PC who succeeded at this
check can purchase such weapons at the base weapon’s normal
price"

The way this is worded seems to imply that only the PC who makes this Culture check can obtain the discount, is this the correct interpretation or can anyone purchase if one PC makes this check. I'm not sure that it matters a ton since anyone can take 20 on this Culture check if they have access to the Absalom Station infosphere but in case they don't realize/don't want to.

* Starfinder Society Developer

Should be available to ANY PCs as long as at least one PC makes the check.


how do you know if you are tier 3 with a faction? i am a wayfinder and am level 5 almost 6 so dont know how to figerout my tier. and where are the race stats for the Morlamaw?

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

korinthmalar wrote:
how do you know if you are tier 3 with a faction? i am a wayfinder and am level 5 almost 6 so dont know how to figerout my tier.

Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide 1.0 page 24. It depends on your reputation with that faction, not your character level.

Quote:
and where are the race stats for the Morlamaw?

If you succeeded on that part of the mission your GM should have given you a sheet with the Morlamaw’s stats and abilities on it. (It’s an additional page in the scenario pdf.)

Shadow Lodge **** Venture-Captain, California—San Francisco Bay Area South & West aka JohnF

I've just been watching a table of players (including my wife) here at DunDraCon thoroughly enjoying themselves playing through this, with Kate as their GM. They're still playing, but I have no hesitation in recommending this scenario to everybody (especially if you are lucky enough to have Kate run it for you).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Organized Play / GM Discussion / SFS 1-08 Sanctuary of Drowned Delight All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.