Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Touch Attack vs Attack of Opportunity


Rules Questions


Hey guys.

I have this miniscule problem.
We make this variant channeling rule - that you can via touch channel all energy into one being with bonus damage/heal.

The question now is - should such touch attack provoke attack of opportunity, considering touch attack assumes casting/channeling player/NPC must touch enemy with bare hand, and unarmed attacks provoke AoO by RAW.

Or for simmilar but RAW situation - what about cleric casting touch attack spell round earlier and discharging it in touch attack later - therefore casting outside of are of AoO, but TA normally.

Liberty's Edge

Unarmed Attacks in the PRD wrote:
“Armed” Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character’s or creature’s unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks).

So no, delivering a touch spell does not provoke.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

Melee touch attacks and supernatural abilities do not provoke.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

And if you fail to touch, you're still holding the charge, which means you can touch as an Attack of Opportunity until it discharges.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Wicked Woodpecker of the West wrote:

...

The question now is - should such touch attack provoke attack of opportunity, considering touch attack assumes casting/channeling player/NPC must touch enemy with bare hand, and unarmed attacks provoke AoO by RAW.

Or for simmilar but RAW situation - what about cleric casting touch attack spell round earlier and discharging it in touch attack later - therefore casting outside of are of AoO, but TA normally.

As Nefreet noted above +

There is not enough time to cast in an AoO but you can touch with something you have active.
To use a spell or ability you have to have with an AoO that spell or ability has to be ready to use immediately. Many spells have a one touch per round (until the start of your next turn) limitation.

Unarmed Attacks, CRB wrote:
“Armed” Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character’s or creature’s unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks).

Whether an action provokes or not is handled on the Actions in Comat table.

Grand Lodge

Specific abilities that aren't part of normal attack actions that require more than a free or immediate action to use cannot be used to make attacks of opportunity, but, as stated before, if the action is already spent and the ability is being held, it can then provoke.

A caster cannot cast shocking grasp as part of an AoO, but a caster who cast Shocking grasp earlier and still has the charge can use it as an AoO. Same with any other similar ability- it doesn't have to be spells.

Keep in mind that only spells and spell-like abilities with the range of touch can be held. Channel energy is a supernatural ability, and so it'd have to be houseruled for it to be able to be held as a charge like touch spells can be. That also means a missed touch attack means a wasted use of channeling.


Quote:

There is not enough time to cast in an AoO but you can touch with something you have active.

To use a spell or ability you have to have with an AoO that spell or ability has to be ready to use immediately. Many spells have a one touch per round (until the start of your next turn) limitation.

That I know - maybe I was wording it wrong - but I was asking about opposite situation - when my cleric try to touch-channel someone in battle, and whether touched one should get AoO against cleric.

If spell delivery per se do not provoke AoO (which is bit bizarre but OK) - then I guess my channel rule should follow simmilar scheme.

Quote:
Channel energy is a supernatural ability, and so it'd have to be houseruled for it to be able to be held as a charge like touch spells can be. That also means a missed touch attack means a wasted use of channeling.

Worse - it means non-touched discharge ;)

And it cannot be really held in charge.


Channel doesn’t provoke so this made up abitlity to use it in the different way also should not provoke and nothing else in this ability provokes so looks like a no to me

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

In the Rules forum I choose not to discuss house rules and generally stick as close to RAW as necessary, I do comment sometimes.
I feel discussion of home rules are more appropriate for the Homebrew forum.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

BTW - your answer is here. Reread the thread if needed.

IF you home rule Channelling(Su) can be used as a touch attack AND it can be held, then the touch attack acts as an Armed Attack and does not provoke.
The channelling in and of itself being Supernatural(SU) does not provoke.
A held touch spell CAN be used in an AoO, discharging the spell if the touch is successful.

Combat, Holding the Charge, CRB:
Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Th-t-th-the That's All Folks!


Azothath wrote:
Your GM should be aware that most touch spells can be held for Caster Level rounds (with an obviously glowing hand).

Come again?

Touch Spells in Combat wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Touch Attack vs Attack of Opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.