Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Hackbut Matchlock


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Liberty's Edge

Hackbut Matchlock from the Gunslinger deck says it can't be used versus a bane with Before You Act powers. Does this restriction still apply when you want to discard this card to add 1d6 to a combat check at another location?


Yes.

The card's powers are:

Matchlock Hackbut B Weapon wrote:

You may not play this card on a check against a bane that has a power that happens before you act.

For your combat check, shuffle this card into your deck to use your Dexterity or Ranged skill + 1d12. You may additionally bury this card to add another 1d12.

Discard this card to add 1d6 to a combat check by a character at another location.

The first sentence applies to any playing of the card -- whether for the combat check power or for the assistance power. From the image on the card (of a rifle set on a bipod), I think the thematic idea is it takes time to set up this gun for use.

The perhaps unclear aspect is "before you act". One might think it matters who is the "you". But it doesn't. Vic has said that before you act is about "when", not "who". (I'd link his post but I'm in a rush this morning.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Link

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Hackbut Matchlock All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.