Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Natural Weapons and the secondary attack tradeoff


Advice


I know this is probably just a matter of crunching the numbers, but I was wondering what the general thought was about mixing multiple natural attacks with manufactured weapons.

I'm building a mid level Master Chymist Wereboar-kin Skinwalker who is going to have a gore, bite, 2 claws, and 2 hooves to attack with.

What I'm debating on is getting a vestigial arm in the Alchemist levels leading up to 7th to hold a weapon. Is the -5 (-2 if my GM will allow Multiattack) to all the natural attacks worth the extra 2 attacks from the manufactured weapon at lower levels? What about when BAB reaches 16?


I think mixing in manufactured weapons is a bad plan. Note that in addition to taking -5 (or -2 with Multiattack), you are also giving all of your natural attack 1/2 str damage.

Also note that with that many nat attacks an Amulet of Mighty Fists is actually a sweet deal. If you mix in weapon attacks and want them to be useful (especially at high levels), they would need to be heavily enchanted which would also be a big cut into wealth by level. I wouldn't mess with it and just be happy with your 4 primary and 2 secondary nat attacks.


I had forgotten about the 1/2 STR element. That really reduces the DMG output. Thanks for the reminder.


Also the vestigial arm doesn't work that way. They are very explicit about the fact that the arm cannot be used to make additional attacks, so even with one, you would still need to give up one of your natural attacks to use a weapon with it.


Sah wrote:
Also the vestigial arm doesn't work that way. They are very explicit about the fact that the arm cannot be used to make additional attacks, so even with one, you would still need to give up one of your natural attacks to use a weapon with it.

Not quite. Without a vestigial arm, the character could still make all of their natural weapon attacks plus two iterative unarmed strikes. So with the vestigial arm they aren't gaining any additional attacks, they're simply swapping out an attack they could already make for an attack with a different weapon, which is quite explicitly allowed by the FAQ.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Natural Weapons and the secondary attack tradeoff All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.