Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Star ship questions


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

1. Can Shields be overcharged? As an example the ship's shield are at full and equal all around but the Capt wants the forward shield given 5 more shield points from diverted Aux Power can he do this?

2, What is the PCU cost for sensors? I can't find any in the rulebook.

Liberty's Edge

Radlek wrote:

1. Can Shields be overcharged? As an example the ship's shield are at full and equal all around but the Capt wants the forward shield given 5 more shield points from diverted Aux Power can he do this?

Page 302 of the CRB details Shields. In that section, it states that at the start of combat, Total SP (Shield Points) generated by the ship's shields system are divided up into four quadrants with no quadrant having less then 10% of the total. Once combat starts, each quadrant has to have at least 10% of the available SP, which could be less than their starting SP, if the science officer does a Balance action.

An Engineer may divert power to shields and add up to 5% of PCU to any shield facing of the Engineer's choice. The Engineer cannot add more SP than the ship originally started with.

Provided that 10% of the total current SP are in each quadrant, a specific quadrant and go above the beginning value.

To answer your specific question, no.

Radlek wrote:
2, What is the PCU cost for sensors? I can't find any in the rulebook.

Sensors are page 301 in the lower right corner. Very small section! The cost depends on how good the Sensor is.


Gary's already covered 1, but for 2:

Starship Chapter wrote:
Sensors require an operational power core to function, but they consume a negligible amount of PCU.

While they do require a power source, Sensors don't drain enough energy to warrant a PCU rating. :)


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thanks Gary.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Starfinder® / Rules Questions / Star ship questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.