Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

How do you anchor spells in naval combat?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting Subscriber

The rules for Spells in Naval Combat mention that several spells dont move with the ship unless they are anchored to the ship.

Quote:


Forcecage, Resilient Sphere, Wall of Force: The effects of these spells move with a ship if they are anchored to it. Otherwise, they do not move with a ship, and a ship running into them makes a ramming maneuver.

Prismatic Sphere, Prismatic Spray, Prismatic Wall: These spells do not start fires on a ship unless the ship passes through the spell effect and rolls a natural 1 on its saving throw against fire damage. A prismatic sphere or prismatic wall moves with a ship if it is anchored to the ship. Otherwise, it does not move with a ship.

Wind Wall: The effects of this spell move with a ship if it is anchored to the ship.

How do you anchor a spell to the ship? Where are the rules explaining how that works? How would Wind Wall become anchored? How would an instantaneous Prismatic Spray affect a passing ship?


I'd say a spell that uses any part of the ship as "ground" is anchored to the ship.
Prismatic Spray doesn't say anything about anchoring, just about a ship passing through the spell effect (which is kinda vague?)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting Subscriber

About Spray, that is what I meant to ask, it was a copy+paste error.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I wouldn't be concerned about fires if my boat impacted a prismatic wall.

Violet wrote:
Energy field destroys all objects and effects

I'd be worried about the bow of my ship no longer existing.


Renata Maclean wrote:
I'd say a spell that uses any part of the ship as "ground" is anchored to the ship.

This is my answer also. The spell moves with the ship as if the ship is the ground.


Interesting feat:

Untether (Retether) spell.

With a CL+Dex check retether a tethered spell to the anchor points of your choosing....


Perfect Tommy wrote:

Interesting feat:

Untether (Retether) spell.

With a CL+Dex check retether a tethered spell to the anchor points of your choosing....

Where's that from?


Sorry, wasn't clear, avr. Its from nowhere, I was hypothesizing a feat which would be interesting; not one that exists.


A shame. That could be fun.


yeah, thats what I was thinking. Unbinding webs. Moving walls of Iron.
Moving stinking clouds..


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting Subscriber

What is weird is that there are no explanations of examples of this in the Skulls & Shackles Player's Guide or in the 6 books of the adventure path.

Dark Archive

Using spellcraft you move the little anchor icon in the text of your iSpellbook onto the deck of the ship. What school of magic did you go to?


Use telekinesis to drop anchor, and then target the anchor chain?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / How do you anchor spells in naval combat? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.