Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Dreadnought - Rage Casting?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

A normal barbarian can't cast spells during rage because they can't concentrate during a rage. Since a Dreadnought can concentrate during rage, does that mean that they can cast spells or use spell-like abilities?

Relevant rules:

Rage, normal rules wrote:

A barbarian can call upon inner reserves of strength and ferocity, granting her additional combat prowess. Starting at 1st level, a barbarian can rage for a number of rounds per day equal to 4 + her Constitution modifier. At each level after 1st, she can rage for 2 additional rounds. Temporary increases to Constitution, such as those gained from rage and spells like bear’s endurance, do not increase the total number of rounds that a barbarian can rage per day. A barbarian can enter rage as a free action. The total number of rounds of rage per day is renewed after resting for 8 hours, although these hours do not need to be consecutive.

While in rage, a barbarian gains a +4 morale bonus to her Strength and Constitution, as well as a +2 morale bonus on Will saves. In addition, she takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class. The increase to Constitution grants the barbarian 2 hit points per Hit Dice, but these disappear when the rage ends and are not lost first like temporary hit points. While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.

A barbarian can end her rage as a free action and is fatigued after rage for a number of rounds equal to 2 times the number of rounds spent in the rage. A barbarian cannot enter a new rage while fatigued or exhausted but can otherwise enter rage multiple times during a single encounter or combat. If a barbarian falls unconscious, her rage immediately ends, placing her in peril of death.

Dreadnought wrote:

A dreadnought can enter a dispassionate killing spree as a free action, granting her additional combat prowess. The dreadnought gains only half the usual bonuses from her rage but takes no penalty to her AC, can use all her normal skills and effects that require concentration, and is not fatigued when her rage ends. The dreadnought cannot enter a rage for 1 minute after she ends her rage, and she cannot charge or run while under the effects of her rage.

This ability alters rage.

Grand Lodge

The only thing stopping a raging character from casting spells was the fact that they could not concentrate on tasks. Looks to me the Dreadnought is indeed able to cast spells while using Dead Calm.


yup, if able to concentrate then able to cast


Interesting, I may have to take another look at Rage prophet, though I may have to talk the Dm into letting me skip the moment of clarity requirement.


Nice catch there Weirdo.

I was never really that interested in this archetype however, now I'm going to take a second look at it.

I'm curious what peoples thoughts are on this archetype with or without a dip to cast spells. Thanks. :)


I love this Archetype from a thematic perspective, because I love horror films, and it makes such a great Jason Voorhees.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks for the confirmation.

Yeah, it's thematically neat.

Mechanically I think it's really only beneficial for multiclassing or gestalt. Taking effectively -2 Strength, -2 Con, -1 Will, and not being able to charge (no Beast Totem Pounce!) is just not worth +2 AC and being able to use all your skills normally. And when the bonuses increase at level 11 it becomes an even worse trade.

But if you're wanting to do a Rage Prophet or a Barbarian-based Eldritch Knight it might be a better bet than relying on Moment of Clarity, or Bloodrager with the Mad Magic feat.

And in gestalt it turns combinations like Barbarian//Magus or Barbarian//Kineticist from a terrible idea into a solid option.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Dreadnought - Rage Casting? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.