Handy Haversack questions


Rules Questions


1) Does a Handy Haversack count as a masterwork backpack?

2) Does stowing an item in a Handy Haversack provoke an AOO?


Strictly speaking:

1. No, the benefits of a masterwork backpack are not mentioned anywhere in the item's writeup, so a handy haversack does not count as a mw backpack.

2. Yes. The item allows you to pull items out of it without provoking, but not the other way around - without language saying otherwise you go back to using the default rules.

With that said, I think using a masterwork backpack as a base for enchanting your own Haversack is a fine idea, and I'd probably allow it in my home games. YMMV, ask your GM. :)


Kudaku wrote:

Strictly speaking:

1. No, the benefits of a masterwork backpack are not mentioned anywhere in the item's writeup, so a handy haversack does not count as a mw backpack.

2. Yes. The item allows you to pull items out of it without provoking, but not the other way around - without language saying otherwise you go back to using the default rules.

With that said, I think using a masterwork backpack as a base for enchanting your own Haversack is a fine idea, and I'd probably allow it in my home games. YMMV, ask your GM. :)

I'd have to disagree with a masterwork usage, giving a +1 Strength towards carry ability when the pack already negates a considerable amount of weight is like working in a free version of Ant haul in a sense, but it's a GM's final call...


In my opinion, using the MW backpack as a base would work.

But the +1 STR, would disappear as soon as it becomes a haversack.

This is similar to requiring masterwork weapons prior to them being enchanted.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mokshai wrote:

This is similar to requiring masterwork weapons prior to them being enchanted.

If you look at the "Magic Item Creation" rules in the Core Rulebook, you'll notice that *only* armor, shields, and weapons are required to be masterwork items. Everything else (rings, staves, rods, and wonderous items) leaves out that requirement.

Magic Item Creation

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Handy Haversack questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions