Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Shifter questions


Pathfinder RPG General Discussion


Hi there folks!
I'm currently working on a shifter guide and I have run into some questions I need answered, please.
-how do forms with "if you already have (insert sense type) x or more, increase it by y" interact with other forms (minor with respective major or evenother aspects entirely) that grant that form of vision?
-how does the stag's enhancement bonus to movement speed interact with other major forms' incrased base speed?
-the monkey major form states you can "still use your hands to wield weapons(...)". do your weapons grow with you or do they meld into your body regularly?
-with all wild shapes that give you a modified version of an existing animal, do you adjust ability scores and natural attacks acordingly or do you only adjust what is stated to be adjsted (e.g. "Your shape changes to that of a Tiny mouse (as per the dire rat, but with a space of 2-1/2 feet and a reach of 0 feet)")
-can you use feats that you get from various major forms to qualify for other feats?
-how does the level 15 wolverine major form ability ("you are no longer fatigued at the end of your rage") react with furious finish ("If you do, your rage immediately ends, and you are fatigued (even if you would not normally be)")
thank you all very much,
PD


Potato disciple wrote:

-how does the level 15 wolverine major form ability ("you are no longer fatigued at the end of your rage") react with furious finish ("If you do, your rage immediately ends, and you are fatigued (even if you would not normally be)")

PD

This is one of the times that Furious finish does make you fatigued.


Oh thank you for that one! I figured furious finish only bypasses the level 17 barbarian immunity.


Potato disciple wrote:
Oh thank you for that one! I figured furious finish only bypasses the level 17 barbarian immunity.

It bypasses that and thus anything LIKE that ability, and this shifter ability is LIKE that one.


Potato disciple wrote:
Oh thank you for that one! I figured furious finish only bypasses the level 17 barbarian immunity.

There has been some debate on this. I don't know if there was ever a consensus on it's for the level 17 barbarian immunity or a blanket bypass. I'm inclined to agree chess pwn but I don't know how others see it.


Anyone? These questions are pretty important to the guide...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just my opinion....but I don't see any point in trying to create a Shifter guide until we get some clarification/errata on many aspects of the base class and most of the archetypes. There are simply to many unanswered questions right now.

Liberty's Edge

Potato disciple wrote:
-how do forms with "if you already have (insert sense type) x or more, increase it by y" interact with other forms (minor with respective major or evenother aspects entirely) that grant that form of vision?

By increasing it.

Potato disciple wrote:
-how does the stag's enhancement bonus to movement speed interact with other major forms' incrased base speed?

It adds to them.

Potato disciple wrote:
-the monkey major form states you can "still use your hands to wield weapons(...)". do your weapons grow with you or do they meld into your body regularly?

They'd meld. So you need to drop them on the ground prior to shifting, then pick them up.

Potato disciple wrote:
-with all wild shapes that give you a modified version of an existing animal, do you adjust ability scores and natural attacks acordingly or do you only adjust what is stated to be adjsted (e.g. "Your shape changes to that of a Tiny mouse (as per the dire rat, but with a space of 2-1/2 feet and a reach of 0 feet)")

You gain Size Bonuses (ie: Str, Dex, NA, etc. as stated under Beast Shape II) and what the Form states. Nothing else.

Potato disciple wrote:
-can you use feats that you get from various major forms to qualify for other feats?

I don't believe so, no.

Potato disciple wrote:
-how does the level 15 wolverine major form ability ("you are no longer fatigued at the end of your rage") react with furious finish ("If you do, your rage immediately ends, and you are fatigued (even if you would not normally be)")

Answered already.


What about Frog tongue ability, does Shiftetr claws increases damage from 0 to Shifter claw damage dice?

It say it normally would, but seems weird to even mention that the tongue does 0 if it didn't.

"While a shifter uses wild shape to assume her aspect’s major form, her natural attacks gain the same benefits granted by her shifter claws ability. If the form she takes has claw attacks, she can use either the base damage of her shifter claws or the damage of the form’s claws, whichever is greater.
If the form does not have claw attacks, she can choose up to two natural attacks that would deal less damage than her shifter claw damage and have those attacks instead deal the same damage as her shifter claws."


Deadmanwalking wrote:


Potato disciple wrote:
-with all wild shapes that give you a modified version of an existing animal, do you adjust ability scores and natural attacks acordingly or do you only adjust what is stated to be adjsted (e.g. "Your shape changes to that of a Tiny mouse (as per the dire rat, but with a space of 2-1/2 feet and a reach of 0 feet)")

You gain Size Bonuses (ie: Str, Dex, NA, etc. as stated under Beast Shape II) and what the Form states. Nothing else.

you may have misuderstood me: if i turn into a "tiny rat (as dire mouse but with a 2-1/2 ft. space and a reach of 0 ft.)" do I get the size bonuses for being tiny as well as tiny natural attacks AND the stated reach and space, or do I get small size bonuses and small natural attack and only the tiny reach and space?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / General Discussion / Shifter questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.