Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Paladin Aura area


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Hi,

Just trying to figure how aura work. There is 2 way to see it...

As in paladin class:

Each ally within 10 feet of her gains a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against fear effects.

This look like the way reach work. See picture :
http://imageshack.com/a/img922/286/AAYUwm.jpg

But if we read the part about area spell, we have this, and the paladin have to chosse a corner of his square, many think its how it work:

Regardless of the shape of the area, you select the point
where the spell originates, but otherwise you don’t control
which creatures or objects the spell affects. The point of origin
of a spell is always a grid intersection.

This look like spell : http://imageshack.com/a/img923/5593/qcUg51.jpg

So, an aura is a spell or something else ?


x=paladin o=aura area

ooooo
ooooo
ooxoo
ooooo
ooooo

Grand Lodge

Lady-J wrote:

x=paladin o=aura area

ooooo
ooooo
ooxoo
ooooo
ooooo

I would think its more like this, since in those corner you are more like 15ft away.

_ooo_
ooooo
ooxoo
ooooo
_ooo_


Martin S Minville wrote:
Lady-J wrote:

x=paladin o=aura area

ooooo
ooooo
ooxoo
ooooo
ooooo

I would think its more like this, since in those corner you are more like 15ft away.

_ooo_
ooooo
ooxoo
ooooo
_ooo_

the corners are still with in the area of effect so they still provide the bonuses


Martin S Minville wrote:

I would think its more like this, since in those corner you are more like 15ft away.

_ooo_
ooooo
ooxoo
ooooo
_ooo_

This is what I would use, as those corners are 15ft away, if you tried to move there.

Reach weapons get a specific exception to let them reach those corners.

Grand Lodge

Claxon wrote:
Martin S Minville wrote:

I would think its more like this, since in those corner you are more like 15ft away.

_ooo_
ooooo
ooxoo
ooooo
_ooo_

This is what I would use, as those corners are 15ft away, if you tried to move there.

Reach weapons get a specific exception to let them reach those corners.

I've found how it cant ben from a corner. If you take a colossal creature, it make no sense. Its around it, not from a corner.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/outsiders/demon/demon-lor ds/demon-lord-orcus-tohc/

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

all these are partially wrong, as aura comes from a corner of your square, not your square.
(won't discuss the diagonal though)

so it's: if you take upper left corner:

. [edited for layout]

OOOO
OOOO
OOXO
OOOO

it you take lower right :

OOOO
OXOO
OOOO
OOOO


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The Paladin aura is a class feature, not an area spell. As such, the rules for area spells are irrelevant. The Bestiary describes auras in statblocks as “If the creature has a particular magical or exceptional aura, it is listed here along with its radius from the creature”.

This means you count aura radius from the creature’s space, not a grid intersection. It would function as Martin S Minville describes, as the 2nd diagonal is 15ft away. There is a specific exception that the 2nd diagonal counts as 10ft for threatened area with reach weapons, but an aura is not a reach weapon and cannot be used to threaten areas.

Grand Lodge

skizzerz wrote:

The Paladin aura is a class feature, not an area spell. As such, the rules for area spells are irrelevant. The Bestiary describes auras in statblocks as “If the creature has a particular magical or exceptional aura, it is listed here along with its radius from the creature”.

This means you count aura radius from the creature’s space, not a grid intersection. It would function as Martin S Minville describes, as the 2nd diagonal is 15ft away. There is a specific exception that the 2nd diagonal counts as 10ft for threatened area with reach weapons, but an aura is not a reach weapon and cannot be used to threaten areas.

Thank! Its a great answer!

Grand Lodge

Vrischika111 wrote:

all these are partially wrong, as aura comes from a corner of your square, not your square.

(won't discuss the diagonal though)

so it's: if you take upper left corner:

. [edited for layout]

OOOO
OOOO
OOXO
OOOO

it you take lower right :

OOOO
OXOO
OOOO
OOOO

Nope, no corner for an aura, sorry. Try a colossal creature with a 5ft radius if it make sense...


Creatures larger than Medium are treated specially for area effects anyway, as per this FAQ.

FAQ wrote:

Big creatures and centered effects: If a Large or larger creature has up an effect “centered on you,” does that mean that sometimes the emanation doesn’t even affect the creature’s entire space, let alone anything else?

No, when such a creature uses an emanation or burst with the text “centered on you,” treat the creature’s entire space as the spell’s point of origin, and measure the spell’s area or effect from the edges of the creature’s space. For instance, an antimagic field cast by a great wyrm red dragon would extend 10 feet beyond her 30x30 foot space, for a total of a 50 foot diameter.

So I'm afraid contemplating a Colossal creature tells you nothing about how a Medium creature should be treated.

That said, an aura is its own thing and radiates from its space even for Medium creatures, not a corner, as has been discussed. Otherwise there would be rules saying what kind of action it is for the paladin to change which corner it radiates from, what happens when they move, etc---issues that do not arise for spells.

Grand Lodge

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

Creatures larger than Medium are treated specially for area effects anyway, as per this FAQ.

FAQ wrote:

Big creatures and centered effects: If a Large or larger creature has up an effect “centered on you,” does that mean that sometimes the emanation doesn’t even affect the creature’s entire space, let alone anything else?

No, when such a creature uses an emanation or burst with the text “centered on you,” treat the creature’s entire space as the spell’s point of origin, and measure the spell’s area or effect from the edges of the creature’s space. For instance, an antimagic field cast by a great wyrm red dragon would extend 10 feet beyond her 30x30 foot space, for a total of a 50 foot diameter.

So I'm afraid contemplating a Colossal creature tells you nothing about how a Medium creature should be treated.

That said, an aura is its own thing and radiates from its space even for Medium creatures, not a corner, as has been discussed. Otherwise there would be rules saying what kind of action it is for the paladin to change which corner it radiates from, what happens when they move, etc---issues that do not arise for spells.

I agree with you, some friends of mine where using spell area (from corner) for this and i was looking for answer like yours. Thank!

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Paladin Aura area All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.