Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Does energy damage of the same type stack with itself on the same attack?


Rules Questions


Say I'm an Ifrit, with the Bloodrager Elemental Bloodline, who gains the fire damage on melee attacks, then I gain the feat Elemental Strike, which as an Ifrit, nets me more fire damage on those same melee attacks. Do these stack? I'm in the middle of making a Lightsaber Build and want as much fire damage as I can manage to make it realistic, but if they don't stack that would be a shame.

And before you say I can't use two swift actions at the same time for these two abilities, Leadership with a wizard or sorcerer cohort that knows Contingent Action will be apart of this build, so I can get two swift actions off at the start of the battle for a little extra damage.


Damage stacks just fine. It's typed *bonuses* that (often) don't, and those aren't involved here. That is, while the extra damage is a "bonus" in the English sense of the word, it's not in the technical PF sense.

You can even get your lightsaber enchanted with the flaming property to add some more! It's all good.


You could not however do the flaming weapon property twice on a weapon - Only flaming or Flaming burst. Otherwise who would not do a +1 Flaming/Flaming Sword for that +2d6 of one element on any weapon?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Does energy damage of the same type stack with itself on the same attack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.