Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

New archetype info


Pathfinder RPG General Discussion


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Quote:

Any alternate class feature described as altering an

existing class feature otherwise functions as that original
class feature and is considered to be that class feature for
the purpose of meeting any requirements or prerequisites,
even if that feature is renamed to fit a new theme.

Is this new ruling/clarification or has this been known already?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

Please for the love of the gods and goddesses above and below let this solve all the Weapon Training situations.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh well, we'll always have flurry threads.

Grand Lodge

Where is this from? I assume Ultimate Wilderness since I've never seen it brought up before?


yeah in ultimate wilderness.


Pretty sure this is new.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A expanded citation:

Ultimate Wilderness, p. 34 wrote:

A character with an alternate class feature due to an archetype doesn’t count as having the replaced class feature for the purpose of meeting any requirements or prerequisites.

Any alternate class feature described as altering an existing class feature otherwise functions as that original class feature and is considered to be that class feature for the purpose of meeting any requirements or prerequisites, even if that feature is renamed to fit a new theme.

This seems to say that the big distinction is between replacing and altering rather than renaming versus not renaming.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
APG p72, Ultimate Combat p23 wrote:
A character who takes an alternate class feature does not count as having the class feature that was replaced when meeting any requirements or prerequisites.

So it looks like they've added the bit about abilities that are modified rather than replaced

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / General Discussion / New archetype info All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.