Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

2 Prestige gets me 750 diamond dust?


Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can I use the 2 prestige to trade for 750 gold worth of diamond dust?

Grand Lodge ****

edit: Perhaps, if your GM agrees that it's a single item, like a 750 gp potion (some might think that it can only be used as a component for a single spell and/or can't be combined with diamond dust acquired by other means). It is worth 0 gp if sold. Same answer for 750 gp of gold.

**

I wouldn't see why you couldn't use it for spell components.

Grand Lodge ****

Gamerskum wrote:
I wouldn't see why you couldn't use it for spell components.

One spell component, anyway. Added a caveat.

Shadow Lodge *****

You could , but you can't keep buying it to add it up to 10k worth of diamond dust for a raise or what have you.

*****

FallzQuick wrote:
Can I use the 2 prestige to trade for 750 gold worth of diamond dust?

Sure, although items bought with prestige have a resale value of 0 so you could not convert that into gold to buy stuff with. It would do for 3 castings of stoneskin.


Starglim wrote:
Gamerskum wrote:
I wouldn't see why you couldn't use it for spell components.
One spell component, anyway. Added a caveat.

This seems untrue, as you can get a scroll with five copies of the same 150 GP spell on it for the same 2 PP. I'd say, 750 GP worth of diamond dust, usable as a spell component for multiple castings of the same spell.

Sczarni *****

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I used to think you couldn't spend Prestige on spell components, but I don't see that stipulation in either the Season 9 Guide or the FAQ.

If you do acquire gemstones or diamond dust I agree that they couldn't then be used as "trade goods" for other purchases.

Although that's a bit meta in application.

"Sorry, son. I recognize that bag of rubies you got there. It's been passed around as a favor more times than I can count. Ain't really worth much at this point. But if you have an equally hefty bag of rubies that you paid gold for, I'll happily take that!"

Shadow Lodge *****

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:


"Sorry, son. I recognize that bag of rubies you got there. It's been passed around as a favor more times than I can count. Ain't really worth much at this point. But if you have an equally hefty bag of rubies that you paid gold for, I'll happily take that!"

"Sorry, those came from the pathfinder society and we don't trade in blood diamonds."

Shadow Lodge **

Sir Belmont the Valiant wrote:
Starglim wrote:
One spell component, anyway. Added a caveat.
This seems untrue, as you can get a scroll with five copies of the same 150 GP spell on it for the same 2 PP. I'd say, 750 GP worth of diamond dust, usable as a spell component for multiple castings of the same spell.

You can spend 2 PP to get a single scroll with five copies of the same spell on it, but you couldn't use 2 PP to get five scrolls of the same spell. The difference is that the former is a single item, but the latter is five items.

So the question in this case is: does 750gp worth of diamond dust constitute a single item? This isn't a question I feel comfortable with getting an answer from anything less than PFS staff. Until we get an answer from them, this would be subject to such table variation that I'd highly recommend you just not do it.

Also, as a reminder, the material component for raise dead, resurrection, and true resurrection are single diamonds worth 5,000gp and up, not diamond dust.

Sczarni *****

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

A single *pouch* of diamond dust?

Although I suppose just a single diamond valued at 750gp would suffice anyways.

Need dust? Add hammer.

*** Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

well once you get it it's value is 0, so now it's 0gp worth of diamond dust right?

Sczarni *****

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Only for resale.

*** Venture-Agent, Canada—Alberta—Grand Prairie aka DM Livgin

Dotting this to stay informed. My cleric frequently spent extra prestige on 750g of Diamond Dust at a time, good to have on hand for restorations.

*** Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

Nefreet wrote:
Only for resale.

How can something have two different values at once? How is it 750gp worth of diamonds that I can sell for a worth of 0gp? (being a precious stone it retains full value for selling normally)

This is why I actually think it's not allowed. Any item is something that you'd normally sell for half price. But as precious stones they count as currency still and are always equal to their worth, no reduction for selling them. That's why I don't think they count as an item you can get via PP.

Scarab Sages ***

A weapon or armor purchased with prestige has a 0gp value for resale, but full value when calculating fame requirements if you upgrade it. Metagame issues around not allowing wealth generating loopholes shouldn’t really factor into this.

I’m curious if there is an official answer what it will be. I’m pretty sure I’ve used this option before, though it’s been a while.

Sovereign Court *** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Only for resale.
How can something have two different values at once?

Because it says so on the tin, basically.

Suppose I have 22 Fame. That means I'm allowed to buy items up to 8,000gp.

If Fame-bought items were worth 0 GP under all circumstances, I could use PP to buy a masterwork silver heavy flail (495gp), and 8000gp to enchant it to a +2 weapon.

Liberty's Edge **

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I don't see a problem with using PP to get a bag of diamond dust that happens to equal a value of 750gp as long as EVERYONE understands that it can't be sold and can ONLY be used as a spell component .

We have the problem of things have two different values now. I get a Potion of Fly for 2PP. I can't sell it for 375gp. It has sell value of 0gp. I can only use it.

*** Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

Lau Bannenberg wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Only for resale.
How can something have two different values at once?

Because it says so on the tin, basically.

Suppose I have 22 Fame. That means I'm allowed to buy items up to 8,000gp.

If Fame-bought items were worth 0 GP under all circumstances, I could use PP to buy a masterwork silver heavy flail (495gp), and 8000gp to enchant it to a +2 weapon.

Wait, they retain their full price for fame limits? Where is that said?

All I see is this in the guide.
"Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and cannot be sold."
So that seems to mean that the 750 diamonds are now worth 0gp and can't be sold and that your flail with +2 is only 8000 for fame limit since the base flail is worth 0gp and 0 + 8000 = 8000;

*** Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

Gary Bush wrote:

I don't see a problem with using PP to get a bag of diamond dust that happens to equal a value of 750gp as long as EVERYONE understands that it can't be sold and can ONLY be used as a spell component .

We have the problem of things have two different values now. I get a Potion of Fly for 2PP. I can't sell it for 375gp. It has sell value of 0gp. I can only use it.

No there is no two values, in the guide it says that these items are worth 0gp and can't be sold. That means that your potion is worth 0gp in all sense. Not just for selling.

If it was worth 0 for selling only the guide should say something like, "these items can be sold for 0gp" or "these items are worth 0gp when sold" rather than saying "Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and cannot be sold." Worth 0 gp seems to be clear that in all ways it's worth 0gp. It can't just be worth 0 when selling since it can't be sold, it is completely redundant to say it's worth 0 as just saying it can't be sold covers not selling it for profit. Thus the "worth 0 gp" should mean something since it was put in there.

Grand Lodge ****

Sir Belmont the Valiant wrote:
Starglim wrote:
Gamerskum wrote:
I wouldn't see why you couldn't use it for spell components.
One spell component, anyway. Added a caveat.
This seems untrue, as you can get a scroll with five copies of the same 150 GP spell on it for the same 2 PP. I'd say, 750 GP worth of diamond dust, usable as a spell component for multiple castings of the same spell.

Seems valid.

Liberty's Edge **

Thomas Hutchins wrote:

Wait, they retain their full price for fame limits? Where is that said?

All I see is this in the guide.
"Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and cannot be sold."
So that seems to mean that the 750 diamonds are now worth 0gp and can't be sold and that your flail with +2 is only 8000 for fame limit since the base flail is worth 0gp and 0 + 8000 = 8000;

This seems to violate the "don't game the system to get more wealth" rule. The flail has to have a value for purposes of calculating a final price for fame limitations.

Looks like something that will need to be address in the Season 10 guide.

Liberty's Edge **

Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:

I don't see a problem with using PP to get a bag of diamond dust that happens to equal a value of 750gp as long as EVERYONE understands that it can't be sold and can ONLY be used as a spell component .

We have the problem of things have two different values now. I get a Potion of Fly for 2PP. I can't sell it for 375gp. It has sell value of 0gp. I can only use it.

No there is no two values, in the guide it says that these items are worth 0gp and can't be sold. That means that your potion is worth 0gp in all sense. Not just for selling.

If it was worth 0 for selling only the guide should say something like, "these items can be sold for 0gp" or "these items are worth 0gp when sold" rather than saying "Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and cannot be sold." Worth 0 gp seems to be clear that in all ways it's worth 0gp. It can't just be worth 0 when selling since it can't be sold, it is completely redundant to say it's worth 0 as just saying it can't be sold covers not selling it for profit. Thus the "worth 0 gp" should mean something since it was put in there.

To me this seems like a hair that does not need to be split.

It is worth 0 gold so why would I want to try and sell it? I could give it an NPC if I wanted. Not a PC because that is clearly wealth transfer. I am allowed to give it to an PC to use as part of a spell however, even if the spell does not benefit me.

Now my head hurts....

*** Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

Gary Bush wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:

Wait, they retain their full price for fame limits? Where is that said?

All I see is this in the guide.
"Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and cannot be sold."
So that seems to mean that the 750 diamonds are now worth 0gp and can't be sold and that your flail with +2 is only 8000 for fame limit since the base flail is worth 0gp and 0 + 8000 = 8000;

This seems to violate the "don't game the system to get more wealth" rule. The flail has to have a value for purposes of calculating a final price for fame limitations.

Looks like something that will need to be address in the Season 10 guide.

The flail has a value, it's 0gp cause that's how much it's worth.

Shadow Lodge **

Thomas Hutchins wrote:
The flail has a value, it's 0gp cause that's how much it's worth.

So then, are you saying that I can upgrade that (presumably masterwork) flail to a +2 weapon with just 22 fame?

Shadow Lodge *****

SCPRedMage wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
The flail has a value, it's 0gp cause that's how much it's worth.
So then, are you saying that I can upgrade that (presumably masterwork) flail to a +2 weapon with just 22 fame?

No because it hasn't been sold.

Shadow Lodge **

BigNorseWolf wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
The flail has a value, it's 0gp cause that's how much it's worth.
So then, are you saying that I can upgrade that (presumably masterwork) flail to a +2 weapon with just 22 fame?
No because it hasn't been sold.

Ah, but Mr. Hutchins here is saying that it is worth 0 gp for all purposes...

Thomas Hutchins wrote:
No there is no two values, in the guide it says that these items are worth 0gp and can't be sold. That means that your potion is worth 0gp in all sense. Not just for selling.

*** Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

SCPRedMage wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
The flail has a value, it's 0gp cause that's how much it's worth.
So then, are you saying that I can upgrade that (presumably masterwork) flail to a +2 weapon with just 22 fame?

yes, since that's the end price that seems to be how it happens.


Thomas Hutchins wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
The flail has a value, it's 0gp cause that's how much it's worth.
So then, are you saying that I can upgrade that (presumably masterwork) flail to a +2 weapon with just 22 fame?
yes, since that's the end price that seems to be how it happens.

If the 22 PP accounts for the fact that the upgrade is actually 11,000 GP, then yes. 8,000 for the upgrade, +3,000 because the flail was specified as being silver. (+2,000 for Cold Iron & +5,000 for Adamantine IIRC)

*** Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

Sir Belmont the Valiant wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
The flail has a value, it's 0gp cause that's how much it's worth.
So then, are you saying that I can upgrade that (presumably masterwork) flail to a +2 weapon with just 22 fame?
yes, since that's the end price that seems to be how it happens.
If the 22 PP accounts for the fact that the upgrade is actually 11,000 GP, then yes. 8,000 for the upgrade, +3,000 because the flail was specified as being silver. (+2,000 for Cold Iron & +5,000 for Adamantine IIRC)

You're not remembering the right silver.

Alchemical Silver only has 90gp increase for a one-handed weapon.

*****

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber

Prestige bought items regular value *does* count for purposes of upgrades. Campaign Leadership made that clear quite some time ago, but not in the guide. No, I don't have a link off-hand, maybe in the upgrade thread.

As for Diamond dust - I'm not of the opinion that it's a single item. Otherwise "a bag of 15 CLW potions" could be a thing. I'm willing to be proved wrong from on high. Until then I'd suggest not doing it. FAQ this.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild / 2 Prestige gets me 750 diamond dust? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.