Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Telepathy and Teleportation


Rules Questions


This came up in our last session, and I'm just curious if this really how it should work.

Setup: Two creatures are in telepathic contact, but beyond line of sight. Question: Can one use the telepathic link to teleport to the other? and if so what should the mischance be

In principle, telepathy seems to only provide communication and not a way to "see" where someone is, using their senses. But if the location information is conveyed telepathically is it sufficient to teleport? or greater teleport?


A telepathic (or verbal) description is enough for Greater Teleport, but Teleport requires you to have actually seen it at least once, no description suffices.


Telepathy conveys information no better than talking does; it just ignores barriers like distance and language.


"I'm in a big green field with this rock thing. It looks kinda like Lincoln in a girdle. Can you teleport to that?"


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
"I'm in a big green field with this rock thing. It looks kinda like Lincoln in a girdle. Can you teleport to that?"

I'd allow you to try. : D But I'm one of those GMs.

If you had a spell that let you see from the other person's eyes, that ought to be enough for a regular teleport to be attempted normally. Though at that point you might as well just scrying it.


blahpers wrote:
Though at that point you might as well just scrying it.

I'm going to look up where I read it (probably Ultimate Intrigue, but I'm not sure right now) but one of the books explicitly states that Scrying is not enough for frying Teleport.


Teleport says it is....

teleport wrote:
Familiarity: "Very familiar" is a place where you have been very often and where you feel at home. "Studied carefully" is a place you know well, either because you can currently physically see it or you've been there often. "Seen casually" is a place that you have seen more than once but with which you are not very familiar. "Viewed once" is a place that you have seen once, possibly using magic such as scrying.

Though I suppose UI might have nerfed it anyway.


Found it.
Ultimate Intrigue, page 161.
Basically, the radius of Scrying isn't enough by default, but if the target moves around while you scry it you can piece together enough of the area to use Teleport. Kind of a middle path there.


Rajnish Umbra, Shadow Caller wrote:

Found it.

Ultimate Intrigue, page 161.
Basically, the radius of Scrying isn't enough by default, but if the target moves around while you scry it you can piece together enough of the area to use Teleport. Kind of a middle path there.

Ewww.


UI is talking about: “You must have some clear idea of the location and layout of the destination.”

Scrying (or a description of a room) gives you “layout”, but you need some context to determine “location.” What country, city, neighborhood is that described or seen room in


Xenocrat wrote:

UI is talking about: “You must have some clear idea of the location and layout of the destination.”

Scrying (or a description of a room) gives you “layout”, but you need some context to determine “location.” What country, city, neighborhood is that described or seen room in

Oh, ok. That's sensible. I retract my "ewww."

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Telepathy and Teleportation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.