Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Unchained Barbarian: rage and temporary hp.


Rules Questions


Quote:


These temporary hit points are lost first when a character takes damage, disappear when the rage ends, and are not replenished if the barbarian enters a rage again within 1 minute of her previous rage.

Simple question: I enter in rage at round 1. I end rage at round 5. Do I calculate 1 minute from round 1 or round 5?

In other words, do I gain full hp from rage when I rage again after 1 minute I start the rage, or 1 minute after I end the rage?


I read it this way: 1 minute after the end of the previous rage. The text flow (first 'disappear when the rage ends', then 'again within 1 minute) points to it, but that's only a minor argument. More important: If you rage more than 10 rounds in a row, you could immediately gain temporary HP again, with the next rage - that's very likely not intended.

Usually it shouldn't matter, though.


SheepishEidolon wrote:

I read it this way: 1 minute after the end of the previous rage. The text flow (first 'disappear when the rage ends', then 'again within 1 minute) points to it, but that's only a minor argument. More important: If you rage more than 10 rounds in a row, you could immediately gain temporary HP again, with the next rage - that's very likely not intended.

Usually it shouldn't matter, though.

Unfortunately it does matter, this time :(


after


Your new rage is within one minute of your old one if less than one minute elapsed between them, so after. Just like if you want to know how far the ceiling is above you, you measure from the top of your head, not the soles of your feet.


After. It makes sense, for balance reasons, since you could otherwise rage-cycle to refill temporary hp mid-fight (assuming you got more than 10 rounds of rage and the encounter lasts long enough).

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Just like if you want to know how far the ceiling is above you, you measure from the top of your head, not the soles of your feet.

What if I'm doing a handstand?


Rub-Eta wrote:

After. It makes sense, for balance reasons, since you could otherwise rage-cycle to refill temporary hp mid-fight (assuming you got more than 10 rounds of rage and the encounter lasts long enough).

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Just like if you want to know how far the ceiling is above you, you measure from the top of your head, not the soles of your feet.
What if I'm doing a handstand?

We apply (un)common sense and measure from feet to ceiling as that is the characters current apex.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Your new rage is within one minute of your old one if less than one minute elapsed between them, so after. Just like if you want to know how far the ceiling is above you, you measure from the top of your head, not the soles of your feet.

Hmmm. Makes sense. The text specify "after your rage ends" for the 1-min fatigue, but not in the "you don't regain temp hp if you rage again within 1-min of previous rage", the different wording is a bit confusing. (I see that the two mechanics are separate, that's not a problema for me).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Unchained Barbarian: rage and temporary hp. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.