Can you use Dirty Tricks with Whips?


Pathfinder RPG General Discussion

Silver Crusade

I don't think i can make it more straightforward then this.


For other maneuvers, either you’re not using a weapon at all, or the weapon is incidental to making the maneuver and its bonuses shouldn’t make you better at attempting the maneuver. For example, just because you have a +5 greatsword doesn’t mean it gives you a +5 bonus on dirty trick checks (Pathfinder RPG Advanced Player’s Guide 320), and just because you have a +5 dagger doesn’t mean it gives you a +5 bonus on grapple checks. Of course, the GM is free to rule that in certain circumstances, a creature can apply weapon bonuses for these maneuvers, such as when using a sap in a dirty trick maneuver to hit an opponent in a sensitive spot.


5 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes.

But be sure to discuss boundaries first. And possibly a safe word.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Natan Linggod 327 wrote:

Yes.

But be sure to discuss boundaries first. And possibly a safe word.

Ideally, to be really safe, you would have the Improved Safeword and Greater Safeword feats.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:


Ideally, to be really safe, you would have the Improved Safeword and Greater Safeword feats.

I recommend training at least a few levels in Profession: Dominatrix, too.


Something something innuendo.

...Also, it's up to the GM whether a weapon applies for a given application of a maneuver.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Natan Linggod 327 wrote:

Yes.

But be sure to discuss boundaries first. And possibly a safe word.

Ideally, to be really safe, you would have the Improved Safeword and Greater Safeword feats.

And remember that these are all teamwork feats. It can be very painful if you have all three feats and the other person does not even have the basic feat.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

It's up to the GM, but that comes down to how you justify the check in fiction:

Dirty Trick The penalty is limited to one of the following conditions: blinded, dazzled, deafened, entangled, shaken, or sickened.

Blinded: Flick blood from the whip into the opponents eyes.
Dazzled: Swing the whip through a nearby flame and have ashes and sparks fly in the foe's face.
Deafened: Create a loud whipcrack next to a foe.
Entangled: Wrap the whip around the foe (you likely won't be able to make any further attacks with the whip until the foe frees themselves).
Shaken: Just do sweet whip tricks to get your enemy good and scared.

About the only one I can't see really being justified is sickened, but that may just be a limited imagination on my part.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / General Discussion / Can you use Dirty Tricks with Whips? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.