Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Zealous Drawback


Rules Questions


As per the Drawback:
"You are fanatical in your beliefs, ruled by emotion over reason. When you attack a creature that you know worships a different religion than you do, you take a –5 penalty on the attack roll and a +2 trait bonus on the damage roll with your first attack."

1)What happens if this first attack is a spell?
2)What if this spell deals damage but does not require an attack roll, such as a Fireball?


My reading is that it would affect a spell that requires an attack roll, but not one like Fireball that doesn't.


It does say "penalty and bonus", so I imagine if your first attack doesn't have an attack roll it won't get the damage bonus either.
And "first attack" means first attack. So there are no effects on any additional rolls.

Any which way you look at it, this seems an easily avoided Drawback for some characters. Especially when you take into account you have to know the enemy is an unbeliever. Not "think", not "assume". Know.


1) If the spell requires an attack roll, it applies exactly as it would for any other attack.
2) Outside the context of discussions regarding breaking invisibility and the like, an attack is generally considered to be something that requires an attack roll.


VRMH wrote:
Any which way you look at it, this seems an easily avoided Drawback for some characters.

To me the fluff is more off-putting than the crunch. "You are fanatical in your beliefs, ruled by emotion over reason"? That would clash terribly with so many of my character concepts.


Thanks for the replies, guys.
The Drawback is a consideration to a potential BBEG I am designing as the group is part of an organization and follow the same religion.
I might just add a Scroching Ray to his arsenal.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Zealous Drawback All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.