Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Multi class alchemist mutagen


Advice


My question is about if I was to dip my front liner 1 level into alchemist to get use of the mutagen. It states the mutagen lasts for 10 min/level. Would this mutagen only last for 10 mins if I only dip 1 level into alchemist or would it be 10 mins/level for your TOTAL level combined?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

it only goes off your alchemist level, so with 1 level it'll only be 10 minutes.


As far as I know, Mutagen has no equivalent of the Magical Knack trait (for caster level) or the Boon Companion, Horse Master, or Shaping Focus feats (for Animal Companions/Familiars, Animal Companions/Familiars, or Wild Shape, respectively).


Class abilities that use the term level almost always mean level of the class the ability belongs to.


An alternative to alchemist dip is a mutagenic mauler brawler. You get mutagen as well as some other benefits.

Another benefit is you can brew another mutagen after you use one (it takes an hour); so you can sometimes use it more than once per day.


If I was a fighter and took the mutagen warrior archetype, could I dip into another fighter archetype?

And if so, could I carry the mutagen warrior 'mutagen' levels for both fighters or would I only get mutagen for 10 mins/level when leveling with the mutagen warrior archetype.

Liberty's Edge

If you take a level in a class, it always stacks with previous levels in that class, so fighter 2/fighter 4 doesn't work. You would just be a 6th level fighter. You could take a level of mutagenic mauler brawler, however, and combine that with fighter levels.


If fighter 2/fighter 4 doesnt work, does that mean you can't take different archetypes of the same class (fighteR) ? I think thats what you are saying.


you cannot "multi-class" into the same class ever. If you take an archetype that's the only version of that class you get. So you can't be normal fighter 1 and then decide to take a level of mutation warrior fighter 1, all you can do is increase your normal fighter from 1 to 2.


Quote:

A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature. For example, a paladin could not be both a hospitaler and an undead scourge since they both modify the smite evil class feature and both replace the aura of justice class feature. A paladin could, however, be both an undead scourge and a warrior of the holy light, since none of their new class features replace the same core class feature.


Helpful Harry wrote:
Quote:

A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature. For example, a paladin could not be both a hospitaler and an undead scourge since they both modify the smite evil class feature and both replace the aura of justice class feature. A paladin could, however, be both an undead scourge and a warrior of the holy light, since none of their new class features replace the same core class feature.

That's taking them at the same time, not sequentially. Chess Pwn is correct.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Multi class alchemist mutagen All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.