Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Can you use two Meta Magic rods Simultaneously?


Rules Questions


I don't see anything in the rules to stop it, but I am not sure it is legitimate. Could a person use two meta magic rods to modify the same spell if there were no somatic gestures required for the spell?


i don't see why not, i made a home made magic item that had 3 sockets were one could put 3 different metamagic rods into it for modifying spells


1 person marked this as a favorite.

no.

" A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder."

Not to mention - if a spont casters attempted what would the casting time be?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
PRD wrote:


METAMAGIC RODS
Metamagic rods hold the essence of a metamagic feat, allowing the user to apply metamagic effects to spells (but not spell-like abilities) as they are cast. This does not change the spell slot of the altered spell. All the rods described here are use-activated (but casting spells in a threatened area still draws an attack of opportunity). A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder. In this case, only the feats possessed by the wielder adjust the spell slot of the spell being cast.

Possession of a metamagic rod does not confer the associated feat on the owner, only the ability to use the given feat a specified number of times per day. A sorcerer still must take a full-round action when using a metamagic rod, just as if using a metamagic feat he possesses (except for quicken metamagic rods, which can be used as a swift action).

Lesser and Greater Metamagic Rods: Normal metamagic rods can be used with spells of 6th level or lower. Lesser rods can be used with spells of 3rd level or lower, while greater rods can be used with spells of 9th level or lower.


welp looks like i need to change a few things about the item


Perfect Tommy wrote:

no.

" A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder."

Not to mention - if a spont casters attempted what would the casting time be?

if they know what they are doing and only using the rods/metamagics on spells they specialize in then a standard action


Duh I am blind I had even looked up metamagic rods and missed it.

Sorry :(


Lady-J wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:

no.

" A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder."

Not to mention - if a spont casters attempted what would the casting time be?

if they know what they are doing and only using the rods/metamagics on spells they specialize in then a standard action

Are you referring to spell specialization or ....

A spont caster uses a full round action to apply 1 meta magic rod to a spell.

applying 2 metamagic rods is undefined...but presumably longer. And even that is completely ignoring the question of somatic gestures.. (what hand) and somatic components..


Perfect Tommy wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:

no.

" A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder."

Not to mention - if a spont casters attempted what would the casting time be?

if they know what they are doing and only using the rods/metamagics on spells they specialize in then a standard action

Are you referring to spell specialization or ....

A spont caster uses a full round action to apply 1 meta magic rod to a spell.

applying 2 metamagic rods is undefined...but presumably longer. And even that is completely ignoring the question of somatic gestures.. (what hand) and somatic components..

spontaneous metafocus(at least i think thats what its called) makes it so no matter how many metamagics you use on your specialized spell the cast time never increases


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Spontaneous Metafocus (Feat, Ultimate Magic)

Prerequisites: Cha 13, one metamagic feat, able to spontaneously cast spells.

Benefit: Pick a single spell that you are able to cast spontaneously. When you apply metamagic feats to that spell, you can cast the spell using the normal casting time instead of at the slower casting time.

Special: You can take this feat multiple times. Each time you select this feat, choose a new spell that you can cast spontaneously; the feat applies to that spell.


yes that one, its pretty much mandatory for a blasting sorc that wants to stack on metamagics on your signature spell


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So, if you had two metamagic rods, spontaneous casting of a spell that is either a swift or an immediate action, not requiring Somantic (either by the spell itself or through metamagic) you could possibly cast two spells in one round and use the two rods, once on each spell.

But Spontaneous Metafocus says "when you apply metamagic feats to that spell" and the Rods says "Possession of a metamagic rod does not confer the associated feat on the owner" - so it could be fair to rule that just using a metamagic rod at all makes the spell affected a full round casting, even if you have Spontaneous Metafocus, because the rod requires it, and the rod is not granting the caster the feat.

I could see it ruled either way.....

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can you use two Meta Magic rods Simultaneously? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.