Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Resolve points and leveling


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Do you get any resolve points when leveling? Or is it only when your key ability score changes?


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Subscriber
Aaron the Paisley wrote:
Do you get any resolve points when leveling? Or is it only when your key ability score changes?

Yes you do.

Starfinder Core Rules wrote:


You have a number of Resolve Points equal to half your character
level (rounded down, but minimum 1) + the modifier of your key
ability score (the ability score that is most important to your
class—see page 58). Even if you have a negative modifier, you
always have at least 1 Resolve Point.


Resolve points are equal to half the character level (min 1) plus the ability bonus of the primary ability score. One Resolve point is gained at level 4 and every two levels thereafter.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks! Not sure how I missed that before


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

So what happens if I'm a 1st-level dwarf solarion with 8 Charisma?

Do I have 1 resolve? Or 0 resolve?


1 resolve.

Even if you have a negative modifier, you always have at least 1 Resolve Point.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Okay. The way Drejk described it, it sounded like the minimum 1 bit came before the ability modifier, not after.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Ravingdork wrote:
So what happens if I'm a 1st-level dwarf solarion with 8 Charisma?

In this case you get fired as a character builder!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Zahir ibn Mahmoud ibn Jothan wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
So what happens if I'm a 1st-level dwarf solarion with 8 Charisma?
In this case you get fired as a character builder!

Never got paid anyways.


The big thing I noticed is that since it's rounded down, you won't get your first resolve point from levels until level 4. yikes!


True, but you also have likely 3-5 resolve at level 1, and you level fairly quickly, from what I can tell from the first AP. Shouldnt be much of an issue.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Starfinder® / Rules Questions / Resolve points and leveling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.